We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,555)
Filter reviews
2,555 results
Traveller rating
1,635
739
131
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,635
739
131
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room train station san marco overlooking the garden lovely hotel breakfast room within walking distance first floor welcome drink minute walk pollo yogurt bottle of champagne deluxe room quiet street around the corner central market
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 2,555 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

What a wonderful Historical hotel. Centrally located to everything. We were able to walk everywhere in Florence. The staff is pleasant and helpful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.
Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Diana,
Thanks for highlighting the special spirit of the hotel and its history! We appreciate your nice review.
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Great location, just a short walk to all the city attractions. Service was excellent, good breakfast, good evening bar drinks. English speaking staff.The only minor were the pigeons in the patio, which are aggressive.

Room Tip: quiet rooms
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlope01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Ciao Marlope and thank you for your very nice review!
I would just like to say we are going to cover all our terrace with a beautiful gazebo nex December, so no aggressive pigeons any more. Take care. Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room, with a garden view in August 2018 for four nights. The hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the train station, but in the Florence heat and with suitcases in tow, we decided to take a taxi, 15 euros including a small tip. The hotel has a great historical heritage, Michelangelo was here on the site as a young boy, so the hotel literature tells us, when it was a Medici school of art. The hotel has a grown up, understated, classic feel. Personally we would have liked a bit more character, it felt a little soulless. We found the customer service from the staff mixed, a couple of people on reception were very good, but another person was not so helpful. The breakfast team need to learn how to smile, give some eye contact and engage more. They all seem nice enough people, but they did look a little disenfranchised.

Positives. Location, only 10 mins from the cathedral in straight line with a few very good bars and restaurants on route. But still far enough out to be quiet and not touristy. Our room was huge, lovely bath, shower, bed and very clean with nice towels, air-con very quiet and worked well. The breakfast room is lovely, one of the areas in the hotel where the building’s personality does comes through.

Negatives. The lack of little touches a boutique hotel like this should have. No complimentary water in the room, only mini bar with a price list 2.50 euros for small bottle of water (if you do take on board this feedback guys and add to the rooms, in glass bottles please!) little in the way of fresh flowers dotted around the interior of the hotel (they have a fabulous flower shop/bar 5 mins walk away called Menagerie, we thought it would be great idea if they had a partnership maybe?) Our room itself was great, but we hoped the garden view would be a positive, it’s not. They are all overlooked plus staff/guests walk past and look in, so you have the blind down all the time you are there. Breakfast was average, croissants were horrible, cold and chewy, plus some plastic wrapped packs of long life things that shouldn’t be in a hotel of this calibre. Worth noting you can’t get any meals, so presume they have basic kitchen facilities, which maybe explains the poor breakfast. Our tip, go room only and eat breakfast out. The bar is only open 5.30-8.30pm so forget a night cap. Weirdly you can have a free beer, glass of fizz or a Bloody Mary at breakfast at a serve yourself bar. I would say make this an option at night instead? If you have a bird phobia forget this hotel, they have a problem with pigeons who pester you every time you sit outside. The staff looked so fed up with having to scare them away, they barely try. The first night we had drinks outside I made it my job to scare them off and the only way is with gusto! That way they stay away for long enough to sit in peace for a few mins! Obviously with pigeons comes poo, it was dotted about, which is a health hazard. We didn’t sit out at all again, we opted to spend that time in the bars on the street instead. This is a real shame, enjoying a drink outside is one of the pleasures of a hotel with outside space. After this experience we had breakfast indoors every day, the pigeons do come in too, but not very often luckily. I know music is very subjective but given the classic style of the hotel the music is truly awful and doesn’t sit well, blaring out euro pop really brought the ambiance down.

Although most staff were nice and our room was great (view notwithstanding), we simply can’t forgive the poor breakfast, the pigeons and ambiance they created on the terrace/breakfast room. Unfortunately we will look elsewhere when we stay in Florence again.

Sorry guys, we really wanted to love your hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Mr. Neil,
Thanks for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed many things in our hotel, and I thank you for the precioaus suggestions to fix some issues and improve the overall satisfaction of the guests. Some of the things you list are already in our "to do list", and we have in plan to make some upgrades by the end of the year.
It would be nice to have you back to our hotel to make you have a nicer experience.
With regards
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Spent four days here for my birthday. The hotel is located in a great place close to everything. It is a magnificent building and is spotless. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, myself, my husband and daughter were so well looked after. Would definately recommend this gem of a hotel with its history. Thank you to all at the hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank anthonylW5468TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Anthony,
Thanks for visiting us in such a special occasion as you birthday! I am so glad you fully enjoyed your experience in Florence. Thank for the great review!
francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed three nights excellent hotel great service nice clean rooms highly recommend. Close to main attractions , train station walk can be a challenge with lots of bags. Cab ride is easy 10 euro . Nice breakfast and 5.00 pm bar for a pre drink before a night out .
Thanks Hotel Orto De Medici.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews