We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Orto De Medici
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Milu(Florence)
US$265
US$252
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spadai(Florence)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiorenza B&B(Florence)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,408)
Filter reviews
2,408 results
Traveller rating
1,533
703
123
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,533
703
123
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationsan marcooverlooking the gardenclassic roombreakfast roomwithin walking distancelovely hotelfirst floorwelcome drinkminute walkpollodeluxe roomquiet streetcroissantsmajor sitescentral market
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,408 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Orto De Medici is a wonderful hotel full of Medici and Michelangelo history. We stayed in a deluxe garden room, overlooking the beautiful garden that links a 13 year old Michelangelo to the powerful Medici family. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom not your typical small size European style. A huge tub/shower and ample counter space. Breakfast was pleasant and the biggest treat for me was a self service coffee machine so I didn't have to bother the friendly staff with requests for more cafe! The hotel's location is perfect! About a block to Piazza San Marco, a major bus/transportation hub, about 1/2 mile to the famous Accademia, and a block and half to a laundromat to keep you fresh and clean in a jiffy. Lots of wonderful dining options close by as well. The staff was extremely caring, helpful, and professional. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dera Michael,
We loved to read your amazing review! Thank you so much! I appreciate especially your gentle mention to the staff.
Grazie!!!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my favorite hotel we stayed at in Italy. We took a taxi from the train station and were dropped off at our hotel a little earlier than our check in time but Judith checked us in and told us we had been upgraded - which is always nice. Our room was off the little garden or "orto." The room was beautiful room, large and most important to my husband, it had a bath tub!

Our stay was fantastic, the staff was friendly and attentive. I watched the staff go above and beyond. Another guest asked for a 3 minute egg, even though only scrambled were served. One of the staff went and made one for him.

It rained most of the time we were in Florence, but the staff had a stack of umbrellas ready for the guests to use. Despite the rain, we were still able to enjoy the grounds which were beautifully well kept. Very florentine feel to it.

We had forgotten to print one of our tickets for one of our tours. No worries, there were two mac computers ready at our disposal. The only annoying part was someone had set the default language to French. Unfortunately, we had very long days and never made it back to the hotel for their happy hour.

The only thing I would change was the hand towels/second towels in the rooms were more like cloth napkins than actual towels. However, the bath products, which I NEVER use at hotels because they dry out my skin were actually really nice and not drying at all. If we go back to Florence, I would stay here again and have recommended this hotel to friends already.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well placed just to the north of the main square (Duomo). 10 minute walk to the centre or to the railway station. Well appointed, friendly and very comfortable. Would recommend highly and return without hesitation for a future trip. 3 excellent restaurants in 5 minutes walk. Accademia in St Marco Piazza looks unpromising from outside but food is delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the courtyard but not on the ground floor
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andrewcrosthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful place to stay in Florence! Great location....very close to all of the big landmarks. It's a quiet and beautiful hotel where you can stop to catch your breath in hectic Florence. All of the staff were very kind and welcoming with a great breakfast each morning. We really enjoyed the evening cocktails on the patio with Jonathan as bartender...he especially stood out. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Firebug1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dera Guest
We all wish to thank you for the great review!! Jonathan is the new bar attendand, and he will really appreciate your mention, now that we have a new bar available every day from 5.30 to 8.30.
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband found this hotel on the Internet and booked on the basis of positive reviews. I’m so glad he did! The rooms are located around a small central garden, with a fountain that makes you forget you are in the heart of Florence. Breakfasts are good- try the fresh squeezed orange juice. Rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are modern. Plus, you get to tell your friends you stayed in the house where Michelangelo once took art lessons! His statue of David is 3 blocks away, but book in advance if you wish to see it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews