We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Milu(Florence)
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Spadai(Florence)
US$196
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$447
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$497
US$389
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$311
US$232
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
US$164
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiorenza B&B(Florence)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$735
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
612
293
104
52
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
293
104
52
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barboutique hotelfuoco mattoroof gardentrain stationcentral marketwithin walking distancelovely hotelroom numbermain attractionsbreakfast roomwater pressurea lovely staythe ground floorcommon areasthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

friendly reception. cozy place. Good location, with good public transport, yet not too noisy. Pretty easy walk from the railway station. LOVED the roof terrace with a view of the duomo, and the free bike rental service. The breakfast is quite nice, and I adored the place settings around the various areas with easy chairs. Maybe the management can see to it that some juice, water, and milk dispensers give a better flow, not just a trickle.
Afternoon tea was also a nice touch. 5-6 pm, just tea and a few croissant bites, all free. The "honesty bar" is a bit on the expensive side, but you are not obliged to drink there- just sit with a book from the shelves and listen to Jazz music, and chat with other guests if you like. Beds were a little on the soft side, but we slept well in them. It's great that there is a kettle in the room, with complimentary tea and I think some instant coffee. You just have to look around for a plug. Wifi was free and worked fine. There are also international newspapers in the lobby for all guests to read- NYT, French, Italian, Spanish.

That said, a few complaints in the "terrible" section are not wholly unjustified. In our bathroom, the actual toilet was squeezed into a corner to leave room for the bidet. A person of average length and width can still use it, but if you are very tall, or not so limber, or seriously overweight, this might be a bit uncomfortable. My advice to the management would be to get rid of the bidet whenever you do your next renovation. Who really needs it when there is a shower? Also, some people mentioned a funny smell. If you have a very sensitive nose like me you might catch a whiff of that on the ground floor, a few steps away from reception: drains. Which smell strongly in certain places all around the old town. Since this is an old house, it is probably very difficult to control, especially in spring and summer. But again, only a very sensitive nose will even notice it. Caveat for those who have small children: the spaces between the stairway banisters are quite wide enough for a child to fall through. Not good for toddlers. Any other age group will be fine, though.
On the whole, we were very comfortable here and would certainly recommend it, and certainly come again. Thank you and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azalee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, General Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Good morning,
Thank you for having stayed withg us and thank you also for having shareed your experience;
We love our guest and we wish to give them a lovely and homey holiday in Florence :)
We are glad that you had enjoyed oyour stay with us; regarding the smell we have contacted the city council about it because it has nothing to deal with us but it's related with the many works they are doiing in the city in the area;
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again soon in your Florentine Home!!
The whole staff and I send you

Best Reagrds
Maria Cristina Bianchi
General Manager
Cellai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Boutique hotel founded in 1881. Beautiful decor. The rooms are classic style. Very good location in Florence, walking distance from most sight seeing.
Don't expect nice bathroom, because they are kept classical. Didn't really like the breakfast considering it's a boutique hotel. Few variety and small portions.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Yuji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for apreciating and sharing your impression about the 'beautiful decor' and the location of our House.

About breakfast guests can serve themselves as much as they like from the buffet. No limits :).
We love when our guests taste all local specialities we daily display.
Guests like our homemade cakes, pancakes, veggies, secret recipies plates and the many italian tasty food we propose every day.
All guests can serve themselves as much they like.

We all look forward seeing you soon again in your Home-away-from Home in Florence.

Best regards

Maria Cristina Bianchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This hotel is a fabulous place to stay when visiting the beautiful city of Florence. The hotel is such a breath of fresh air in contrast with so many other sterile hotels. Every corner of the hotel is filled with interesting and tasteful objects from books, to antique artefacts and paintings which are curated in an exceptional way. The staff are charming and friendly. The rooms are small but extremely comfortable. We loved the fact that complimentary tea and cake was served in the afternoon and exquisitely presented. The roof garden affords spectacular views over the city and is a great place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The proximity to all the cities amenities is also a bonus and it is easy to walk to the many restaurants and trattorias in the evening. We absolutely loved this hotel. Staying at this hotel was perfect for our short break and if I returned to Florence I would not consider staying anywhere else

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank tcurtisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you from the entire Staff !
We love our Guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a quaint, but well appointed hotel. We where upgraded to a suite that was well appointed with authentic roof beams. The air conditioning worked well in early September 2017. The breakfasts where well done and well attended. The staff was friendly and well spoken. The Cellai is located just blocks away from the historical center and the market.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank gromici1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Direttore generale at Hotel Cellai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for having chosen Cellai Boutique Hotel during your stay in Florence;

Thank you also for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor;

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again at Cellai Boutique Hotel; in your home in Florence; :)))

Best Regards

Maria Cristina Bianchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Hotel Cellai Florence

The building is older, with many quirks and lots of charm. Internet is OK but often slow for bigger jobs. Staff OK, but not all of them speak English.

Pros: Location superb, near city center.

Cons: the bathroom in room 205 has a step up which is dangerous. No parking, of course. Some find it charming, others find it primitive. Hot water took a while to come up. Bathroom had an odor that took a day to get rid of.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexwolf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Direttore generale at Hotel Cellai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Good morning

Thank you for having chosen us during your stay in Florence;

I apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay; regarding parking it's really difficult to find a hotel with a garage and in Florence car is not needed; regarding wifi internet we have just changed the "fibre" to make it faster;

Thank you

Best Regards

Maria Cristina Bianchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews