We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable food market!”
Review of Mercato Centrale

Mercato Centrale
Ranked #7 of 609 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open-air market that has a cast-iron structure dating back to 1874, which offers a variety of food shops catering to local residents and restaurants.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Wide variety of food and wine on offer, good meat, seafood, pizza and gelato. Excellent wine selection, exiting buzz around the place and although busy, easy to get served, a must see!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank hiltonv521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"first floor"
in 414 reviews
"pizza"
in 574 reviews
"food stalls"
in 139 reviews
"great market"
in 93 reviews
"cannoli"
in 56 reviews
"open until midnight"
in 42 reviews
"stalls selling"
in 86 reviews
"italian food"
in 126 reviews
"tripe"
in 62 reviews
"central market"
in 145 reviews
"lampredotto"
in 52 reviews
"upper floor"
in 79 reviews
"leather goods"
in 156 reviews
"cooking school"
in 96 reviews
"fresh pasta"
in 96 reviews
"truffle"
in 189 reviews
"salami"
in 79 reviews
Filter

735 - 739 of 12,493 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Went to this place which was vibrant and had just about all various products you could imagine. The meat, fish, green grocery, was prolific, and in abundance. Surrounding the market are many various stalls, mainly leather goods, which is a speciality off the region. Brilliant place.!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Lawrie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We went here 2 different times during our stay in Florence. The first time we went to the first floor produce market. We got some local cheese and fruit. Everything was beautifully displayed and the vendors were friendly and helpful. Some things are clearly touristy, and the meat and cheese is certainly expensive, but generally everything was of extremely high quality and we enjoyed our visit immensely. We later returned for dinner on the second floor, which we were previously unaware of. There are approximately 20 different restaurants serving everything from pizza to pasta to dumplings. You can order and eat anywhere at communal tables, or take away. We got gnocchi filled with n'duja and cheese, and 1/4 of a roasted chicken with potatoes and salad. It was delicious and reasonably priced at 10 euro for each dish.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

So much food, you get all totally confused. Every stand is unique and each one with such mouthwatering foods that a foodie like me goes mad! This is a must visit place if you like food. We only had a night in Florence but if we had more time I would have probably spent a whole day on the 1st and 2nd floors.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kenyantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Do not go here on a full stomach as you will be disappointed you did. A vast array of produce is on offer. If you are self catering in Florence this is the PLACE to go. Enjoy.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BIG N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercato Centrale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mercato Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing