We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
174
53
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
53
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shipping company great location florentine palazzo old world sightseeing spots small suite winter garden pillow menu exquisite hotel received an upgrade marble bath older hotel rooms are a bit small magnificent city upgraded to a suite the hotel's restaurant breakfast buffet was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a five minute cab ride from the train station and in a wonderful part of town. It is also a 10 minute walk from most of the major attractions and museums in Florence... And across the street from some very nice shopping.

We stayed here for only two nights and at first were put into a small inner courtyard room where an alarm sound continually went off (it was a fan that was running). Because of this, the hotel put us in a different room which was much quieter and more spacious. We even had a little sitting area attached to our bedroom which was nice to have some extra space to unpack the bags.

The hotel staff, especially the concierge, was incredibly helpful and kind, answering all of our questions and pointing us in the right direction at the start of our days.

Side note- We asked for an upgrade on arrival (willing to pay the difference), but were told what we were getting was what we paid for. Seemed like there were special rooms for the hotels.com bookings. (However-like I said- they were able to move us to a quieter, more scenic room. We paid $230/night. Based on our rooms, I would probably not pay the standard rate for a room here ($450ish/night).

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rwr0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELVETIABRISTOL, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear rwr0415,

We would like to thank you for your comments shared on Tripadvisor and sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,

Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The staff was very attentive and helpful with our cars, dinner reservations and allowing us to hold onto one of our rooms for a couple of extra hours while we finished a tour. Excellent location and sad our time there was so short.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenNL916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELVETIABRISTOL, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear JenNL916,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We gladly appreciate your taking the time to share your views with us and truly inspiring to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Helvetia & Bristol.
We truly hope to see you again soon at Helvetia & Bristol may be for a long stay this time.
Best regards,

Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We enjoyed a week living round the corner from the Duomo in this grand hotel- a pleasure to come home to! The food at the restaurant was beautiful and the staff, personal, friendly & superbly professional.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELVETIABRISTOL, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear janetwin 1,

We would like to thank you for your patronage, feedback and beautiful review.
We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Sincerely,

Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

If you like a European feel, character and elegance this is the hotel for you!
We spent two nights here recently, at either end of a weeklong trip to Tuscany.
The Helvetia is beautiful, elegant and in the tradition of a grand old European hotel.
The staff is very pleasant, formal and efficient. We loved the decor (antiques and oil paintings), the very elegant lobby and the small, but high-ceilinged and nicely furnished rooms. The bathrooms are definitely old-style: (shower over tub) and could possibly do with an upgrade at some stage. But we really knew we were in Europe at this hotel and not at some nameless, modern chain establishment.
The location is very central - walking distance from all major tourist sights as well as the Santa Maria Novella train station and some fabulous stores.
We ate breakfast and lunch at the nearby Piazza Dei Republica where there are some excellent cafes and terrific people-watching.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPSF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELVETIABRISTOL, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear JPSF49,

Apologizing for the delay, we wish to thank you very much for your detailed review shared on Tripadvisor.
With renewed thanks for your patronage, we send you our best regards.

Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

The hotel is in downtown Florence, just opposite Palazzo Strozzi and few minutes walking from piazza della Repubblica.
It's situated in an ancient building and the style is classical.
Rooms are a bit small but not the bathroom.
Breakfast is excellent and served in a very luxurious room with a memorable glass ceiling.
The staff is excellent.
We will definitely come back.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giod213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HELVETIABRISTOL, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Dear Ian B,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate your comments that will certainly encourage other readers to stay with us! Looking forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,

Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews