We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,841)
Filter reviews
1,841 results
Traveller rating
947
513
212
103
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
513
212
103
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service overlooking the marina free shuttle pool restaurant main building terrace bar art nouveau an oasis minute drive town centre old world classic hotel breakfast buffet large terrace wonderful hotel old style loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,841 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

At first our room was terrible, as many had said already, old, smelly and dirty (as the pictures below). After many complains they had upgraded our stay to a much better room, and then we felt like we were getting the service for what we were paying.
Nice staff, they gave a discount for the first night but not enough.
Although they tried to make up to us, there was this thing that bothered me the most and that’s why I’m here to complain:
They had discarded all the soaps and shower amenities I had got from the hotel, that was not even half used, and replaced for a new one.
From what I know, since I’m paying for this and I open it to use, its mine. And I don’t agree with people throwing away something that belongs to me.
I felt really bad for this situation where they generate a huge amount of trash for nothing and I have been collaborating to it. Specially in this case, an island that is totally unconscious for its own trash, you go out of the hotel and you see garbage everywhere. It’s a shame, and really sad!
Please respect the environment!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Adriana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You very much for taking the time to send Your review. We truly apologize for the inconvenience with the first room we assigned upon arrival. The whole staff is always at our Guest's disposal to satisfy their needs and make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Please accept our sincere apologize if the cleaning ladies did not return you the amenities you used in the first room. They just tried to follow our standard rules when a guest get a new room and we are sorry if you did complaint about this lack of attention.
We really appreciate your environmental awareness that we totally share.

Hoping to welcome back in the near future, please accept my best regards.

V. Giglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Like it old style or run away. The charm of the (very)old Italian hostellerie decadent grandeur. Carpet is worn to the thread -everywhere: in the lobby or in the rooms-
Bathrooms only have (plastic) baths.
Window frames barely closing. All this for a superior window at €400 w/o balcony!
Staff is kind but rapidly and the pool overlooking the sea is very cool, but the current state of the hotel premises command a very in-depth renovation.
Stay one night at most

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Salomon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel for a week in July. The hotel itself is a grande and beautiful old building with a good location, around 15 minutes from Palermo city centre. We came in really late at our arrival date because of cancelled flights and a long journey, and according to the hotel websites the check in was closed, but we still got to check in and got help to get our bags to the room and the staff was so kind. The room was below ground and a okay size. The bed had wheels with no breaks, so it was terrible to sit on because it just rolled around. The shower in the bathroom was kind of dirty, both on the shower head and the floor. The aircondition did not work properly, so it was always really hot in the room, and the first two days there was extremely many ants all over the floor and in the bed so we got a lot of bites. We alerted the staff about it and they sprayed the room with some anti-ant spray that smelled bad. Other than that the cleaners stopped by two times a day to see if everything was ok and that we had fresh towels etc, which was great they were super sweet.
The breakfast at the hotel was kind of boring, it was the same every day and some days the waiters were not paying any attention to us so getting a table and ordering was not easy. Some of the staff here was super nice and polite, especially a woman who was in charge of the breakfast some days was super-sweet and service minded, always eager to help, while some of the others looked weird at us. This was a feeling we had a lot of the days we were there, that it was like the staff didn't like us or that they could not understand how we could afford to be at such a hotel, sometimes they even were a bit rude.
We were at the pool many days which was amazing, with nice sunbeds and the pool staff were helpful and polite. The view by the pool is breathtaking with the old ruins and the sea behind. One day we wanted to have an ice cream and a drink in the pool bar, but when we came up to order the chief of the pool bar told us that they were closing the bar in 40 minutes, so it would be best if we waited and went over to the other bar that opened then. When we told him that we only wanted a quick drink and a ice cream and said we would be done long before they closed, he got a little angry but let us sit down but was obviously not happy with us.
In the last day we had a dinner at the hotel restaurant, and the food was heaven. We had some amazing octopus in a kind of cheese fondue for starters, and some ravioli for main course and it was such an amazing and tasty meal, would really recommend everyone to try the hotel restaurant. When we got the bill for the meal the hotel had charged us 30 euros wrong for a bottle of wine, which was kind of embarrassing for us to tell them that they had done a mistake, and at first they didn't believe us which made the situation so much worse than it needed. Again this with the staff that made us feel like we didn't belong.
The staff in the reception was often very nice and helpful, with ordering taxis and helped us with our different questions.
One day we wanted to go to a beach so we asked in the reception for a place to go, and they recommended a beach called Mondello and helped us get a cap out there. The beach was crowded and terrible, it was way to many people and was like the ultimate "tourist trap" so that was a bummer.

Other than all of this we had a ok stay, and the hotel had the most amazing garden, the pool was great and the hotel building itself is breathtakingly beautiful but it has a lot to work on with the attitude of the staff and the rooms could probably need a update.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view, maybe it's better than the one at ground level.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for devoting part of your valuable time to share your recent experience with us.
Your opinion is our continuous reference to improve, for this reason we appreciate that you have helped us to identify the areas of opportunities.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the drawbacks that could have affected your stay since it was not our intention that these actions happened and of course they are contrary to our standards. The whole staff strives day by day to ensure guests' satisfaction especially when some issues occur during their stay.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Mondello. It is the nearest beach with blue and clean water we suggest but in very high season it can be very crowded precisely beacuse is is well known for its beauty.

It’s our hope to count on your pleasant presence on your next holiday to Villa Igiea in order to show you we are able to offer you a real luxury experience worthy of your person and up to your expectations.

Best regards,

V. Giglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We just spent 4 days at this lovely hotel with our two kids (7,9). We really enjoyed it. The suite with adjoining double provided great space for the four of us. The pool was fab -
Even though not huge, the kids had a lovely time in it and didn’t want to get out most days. There was excellent poolside attention for towels beds drinks etc. We happily dined in the poolside bar every day. The other bar provided casual dining in the evening to suit our needs. The shuttle bus to Palermo was a plus. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was excellent - the kids were particularly delighted with the cakes and sweet treats available. The healthy juice menu is a nice addition. The gardens were lovely and the kids loved looking out on the super yachts etc at the nearby port. It was also a nice touch to get a goodbye gift from the manager. All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank cor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea MGallery by Sofitel.
I very much appreciate that you highlighted every single aspect of hotel services and facilities.

Thank you once again for being our Guest and your recommendation. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We wanted to stay in a luxury resort as our last Italian stop after travelling cheaply through Italy. The Villa Igiea is definitely gorgeous, with a luxe vibe to it, although I agree with some other reviewers that the age is visible in places with fittings and little details being a little worn.

On the down side: We had a 2 night booking in the King Standard room in the Annex as it was more affordable for us. The room we had was very nice however you could see that some fittings had seen better days, for example the floor in the shower was marble, but was stained from use. Also, I was surprised to see that the windows faced onto a back driveway and there was a loud sound of air con motors which stopped us from even attempting to open the windows. I expected that there would not be much of a view but did not expect that. Then finally the air con for the whole Annex was broken down and I had the worst night sleep ever.

Also, although the pool area was lovely, be aware that it is smaller than it looks in the pictures.

On the positive side: The staff are awesome. Anything we needed from dealing with our request to review the air con, to hailing a cab, to recommendations for activities in Palermo etc etc etc was dealt with gracefully, and in a timely way.

I especially want to call out Carmen, who took the time to chat with us and made us feel safe, welcomed and special. Thank you so much - you are an amazing a special lady.

I also want to call out Management, who upgraded us to an amazing room after the air con issue.

We wanted a fine dining experience and had dinner at the Donna Flores Fiorio restaurant. It was absolutely amazing. We were recommended an amazing wine and every bite was memorable.

The views were also stunning.

We would definitely recommend the Villa Igiea to anyone who wants a luxury experience but please please don't scrimp, and book a room in the main hotel, not the Annex.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room in the Annex building and you will get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therese_phu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You very much for taking the time to send Your review. We truly apologize for the inconvenience happened during your first night. The comments of our guests are always very important to us because through these we understand even more where to intervene for improve the quality of our services.
Thank you for your words of appreciation I will surely pass to the staff. The satisfaction of our Clients is our first priority and we take care of guest's needs to make their experience with us as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in our hotel.

Best regards,

V. Giglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews