We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
27
9
5
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
9
5
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

This place is located in beautiful garden - really takes your breathe away when the entry gate opens. However we recommend it rather for 1-2 nights, rather not for a longer stay. Breakfasts are the same every day and of poor market quality (not a biologically cultivated as it says on a web site). It is good that you feel separated from other guests, actually the houses are almost hidden in the garden but on the other hand thay are visibly 'worn out' inside and the humidity in the rooms is high. Be aware of mosquitos! We struggled for 4 days to have our towels changed - there is no reception point and the staff is hardly available, we were not lucky to meet the owners, only the family that seems to run this property. Finally, it was not confortable to see the barking dogs running aroud the garden or even swim in the pool.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneta653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My 10 day stay at the botanical gardens was nothing short of wonderful. The gardens were magical with hidden gems of artwork and livestock such as copper spheres and peacocks. Our hosts Marina and Salvator welcomed us as if we were part of their family avaiable to answer any questions and offer advice. Also on site was Mode and his family that provided fresh rolls coffed and cake amonst other treats for breakfast. The rooms were kept pristine with daily cleaners and fresh bedlinen. Local ameneties were exactly that, only a short walk to grocery shops restaurants and bars otherwise a 10 minute drive could take you to a number of shopping centres. The beaches ( i visited several during my stay ) were clean and never overcrowded. All provided sun beds and umbrellas,toilets and showers for a fee for the day which was usually 10 euros pp. This can vary as some beaches have many entrances. The views accross the island were spectacular and mystical. Mosquito spray is a must by night and driving is not for the fainthearted. Catania also has a daily market about 10minutes drive from the apartment. Haggling is fun and not frowned apon although everything on offer is resonably cheap.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this B&B for the weekend. On arrival we were pleasantly suprised by the very large and very green grounds, an unexpected oasis in the middle of a very non descript town. We were shown immediately to our studio that was one of the 4 attached to the back of the main building. The groundskeeper, who was very friendly, gave us the key and left us to it.
We booked through a third party website which was a little misleading in terms of what it stated the "holiday house" offered. It was in fact a studio and not a house; online it was stated the "house" we booked would have an oven, barbeque, washing machine, dining area etc but it was more a large room with a small kitchen in the corner (with no actual cooking utensils) and a desk with one chair. Also the room had a communicating door with another studio, which kind of defeated the purpose of us having booked the property specifically because we had been led to expect a self standing house.

The studio itself was very charming though. It had aircon, was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very spartan, the shower was showing its age and lacked toiletries, that for the the price we paid, should really have been provided. Towels had brown stains on them and there was no hair dryer. There were strange noises coming from the pipes all the time which was a bit annoying at first but we got used to it.

The pool was great, a relaxing setting among a fantastic variety of greenery. A limited number of sun loungers however, when we arrived two other people there had to bring chairs from their room.

We also took a long walk around the gardens. True it is a bit unkept, you can see once it used to be an amazing garden, though we liked the fact it was a little wild and we were able to discover many scupltures, ponds, birds and plants that seemed kind of hidden.

Breakfast consisted of warm bread rolls, a freshly made sponge cake, homemade jam, cheese, salami, yogurt, cereal, juice, teas, coffee. Dissapointed that the coffee was American style coffee, though it seems a trend in B&Bs across Sicily. Also being an agroturism place, was a little dissapointed that most items were cheap supermarket branded foods.

All in all it was a pleasant stay in a rustic property. The strong points are the grounds itself which are peaceful and relaxing. The garden and pool make you forget you are in the middle of a town. Though small things could be improved to make just that little bit better. Recommended for a relaxing getaway without too much expectation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We came here early may without a reservation. We came in a bit late and experienced some difficulty to get in but with some patience and ringing all bells you should be just fine. The set up of this place is amazing, this is a huge estate with a lot of separate cabins/houses to stay in. There may be up to 8-10 different rooms. The estate has a long historical background and it's amazing to just wander around. They have a non heated pool, a pond, animals and fruit trees. The 2 rooms were clean, average size, simple but comfortable. Very friendly and helpful people. Special thanks to the padre di familia (91 yrs old!). Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Travella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

We stopped here as part of a small group for a splendid lunch prepared by Marina. Then Salvatore, her husband guided us through a beautiful specimen garden and display. While we did not spend the night, that's what I would suggest. An experience not to be missed in the countryside. And oh yes, you can but their homemade marmalade, olive oil and wine.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank welovetotravel316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews