We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
12
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
12
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short stay old town great location bastide noise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The location of this accommodation is really good, being in the centre of the key things you will want to visit, and right across the road from the Bastione de Saint Remy. The rooms are very clean and the fittings and bed of an acceptable standard.

However, if you are looking for a room of decent size or with a balcony, beware, the description of the rooms as shown on the hotel booking sites are simply incorrect. Ask about Gluten-free food for breakfast and quite simply you will get a complete lie.

We booked a double room with balcony and which was described as being of a good size. On arrival we were firstly asked to pay and then shown the room, it was very smoothly done. The room did not have a balcony and had a bathroom which was a long corridor with the required fittings in a row next to each other. The room size was very large only if you took in the square footage of the room up to the ceiling which was very high. Effectively, when considering useable space, the would have been considered a box room in most countries. there is no disputing that the room did not have a balcony, although we had been charged for a room with a balcony. The owner stated that he was 'mortified' that we had expected a balcony and that he had no rooms with a balcony, but that you could say anything on a booking site. He continually repeated that he was mortified.

Possibly far worse deception was our request for gluten free items at breakfast, which was included in the price. we requested this at the time of booking and he confirmed in writing, through the booking company, that gluten free breads, cakes and other items were all available at the cafe where breakfast was provided. we asked this again on arrival and again he confirmed the full availability of gluten free food. when going to the cafe for breakfast with the tokens he had given we discovered that not only did they not have any gluten free items, but they never had gluten free items. Had we known in advance, this would not have been a problem as we are used to taking along our own G/F foods, but he had previously confirmed that all would be fine. Simply he lied to us.

This is a beautiful building and the stay could have been a wonderful experience, but the owner clearly thought he could obtain a higher premium by stating the facilities were far in advance of what they truly were. He actually stated to us that with the booking company you can say what you want and claim the price you want, and that they do not care. Well, we'll see as a formal complaint has been made to the booking site. Clearly the owner felt he had been revealed as providing an untrue description as the second day a try of gluten free cakes and a bottle of local myrtle liqueur appeared in our room, but this did not compensate for the blatant untruth of the description.

Interestingly, when we saw the maid on the second morning we asked about balconies and discovered one room does have a balcony, the only room, and it was occupied.

If the owner had not been so sparing with the truth the rating would have been average, but telling such blatant lies and leaving us paying for breakfast in the room rate but enjoying only coffee, it deserves no more than terrible. Hopefully he will learn from a traveller who knows what has been booked and will stand up to him.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My girlfriend and I went for a short stay (2 days) at Al Bastione, in Cagliari. It was a really great and marvellous experience! Both the service and the room were awesome, perfect for a romantic journey. The room was large, modern furnished and cleaned each day, furthermore bottles of water were offered to us at the beginning of our stay. The location is also great, we could not ask for any better place. In the nearby you have any sort of pizzeria, cocktail bar and breakfast hotspots, not to mention there you are in the city centre of Cagliari. If whether we are going to go back to Sardegna, we will definitely stay there again. Great regards to Giorgio that was super helpful with everything.

Room tip: best locations, nice rooms, close hotspots
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matteo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Great place to stay with friendly host, very central with easy access to both city and beaches. Highly recommended! Suggest you ask for a room with a view of the castle. Parking located 200 meters from the hotel, very easy to access only 6 euro per day.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brendenv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Porto D, Proprietario at Al Bastione di Cagliari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear brendenv2017,

Thank you for choosing to stay with B&B Al Bastione during your first visit in Cagliari.

Our priority is to make our guests feel comfortable and special, therefore, we are very glad to learn that you left treated warmly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to "Al Bastione di Cagliari" at your next visit in Milan,

Best regards,
Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place this is. Manuel the host is so chilled and nothing phases him at all. The room is quite large, clean and bright and air conditioned. This place is well located near Al Bastione old piazza and the old town is great to wander through. First class job Manuel

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Porto D, Proprietario at Al Bastione di Cagliari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

ear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to learn that the effort we make in taking care of every detail and in focusing on the wellbeing of our guests contributed to make your stay unforgettable.

I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon at Al Bastione di Cagliari.

Best Regards
Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This little B&B is located in the heart of Cagliari, very close to the castle and in the old town. The rooms are clean and modern furnished. Wifi is working well, TV didn't work but wasn't important for me. Breakfast in a very nice bar around the corner. Manuel was helping me even with the printing of the boarding card, which was very helpful since there are no automatic check in machines at the airport.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Porto D, Proprietario at Al Bastione di Cagliari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Torsten R,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to learn that the effort we make in taking care of every detail and in focusing on the wellbeing of our guests contributed to make your stay unforgettable.

I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon at Al Bastione di Cagliari.
Best Regard.
Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews