We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
556
379
86
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
379
86
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscapo cacciasea viewnatural parkoctopusminute drivejunior suiteon the rocksswimming poolpaninissun loungerslovely hotelsea waterbreakfast buffet issandy beachesstayed longercar is essentialsuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent the last nights of our 2-week holiday in Sardinia at the El Faro Hotel. A 4-star hotel that used to be a 5-star hotel.
We booked one of the 'cheaper' rooms of 99 euro per night, which is no bad deal regarding it's location and the fact it is including breakfast.
The location of the hotel is brilliant. The more expensive rooms offer a phenomenal view at the sea and some have a veranda / balcony as well.
There is no beach but there is a private bit of rocks at the sea with nice lounge chairs spreaded along the coast line.
The breakfast was not bad, a typical Italian breakfast with no fresh juice and lots of sweet stuff.
The bed was good for an average italian-sized person, however a bit short for the tall west-european men.
They got some really good bikes that you can rent for 20 euro per day (you can't use them for free like some hotels offer), but the quality of the bikes was really good!

Having said all this, we did have some issues with the service and staff which makes me doubt whether we will come back here and whether we will recommend this place to others.
When we first arrived in our room, the toilet flush was not working. They got some one to repair it, which happened pretty quick.
After two more flushes, it was broken again. Again we got someone to fix it, and again after two more flushes it was broken again. It kept on flushing continuously little bits (annoying sound!) but no proper flushes.
In the end we had to note a not-working-flush of the toilet 6 times to the staff!
Finally they decided to get a whole technical team to work on the toilet, and decided not to do so while we were away the whole day, but decided to do this at the end of the day when we had just got back to our room. Wouldn't do that to costumers if I were the hotel owner.
Apart from 1 of the staff members we talked to at night who suggested us so get another room, no one offered another room. The one person who did, told us he couldn't get us a different room because the hotel was supposed to be fully booked. Which I can't believe it was, probably the few cheap rooms were.
So in the end, the toilet has not been working properly during our whole stay, we did not get another room offered, we did not get any compensation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneHuisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The El Faro Hotel is a very well maintained, modern property in a gorgeous location in the North West part of Sardegna. While service is not on a 5 star level, staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms, especially those with larger terraces and seaview, are nice and roomy, sunbeds by the sea under lovely reed sunshades are plentyful and the hotel has its own (adequate rather than brilliant) restaurant. Alghero is the nearest town and easily reached by bus, which stops by the hotel 5 times per day. When dining out a taxi back costs about 30 euros.
We would have rated the El Faro hotel even higher were it not for some issues.
Firstly, we noticed some understaffing problems. There was a conference going on during our stay and the barkeeper, while being nice and helpful, had to cater for the whole conference by himself, which led to unnecessary long waiting times at the bar. Secondly, the terrace by the bar, which provides for lovely views over the bay and has a nice modern sunshade, is strangely clinical and uninviting. Candles on the tables at night would probably help a bit but the ambiance in the bararea is not as open, pleasant and inviting as in the rest of the hotel. Furthermore the styling of the restaurant is strangely different and less designlike than the rest of the hotel: why? And finally: we asked for an upgrade to a different room with a larger terrace and sunbeds, which fell in the same pricecategory as our own room and were offered the upgrade for 4 nights for 260 euros. Per night! Reasoning was that having booked through Expedia we had very low rates and so for a moderate upgrade which cost the hotel absolutely nothing we had to pay this ridiculous amount extra. Of course we rejected but It still left us with a slightly disappointed feeling.
But since our room was adequate and the hotel is basically very nice, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the property for those who enjoy peace and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

One of the most magical places we met on our trip to Sardinia and the icing on the cake of this trip. Amazing place, the hotel is built and superbly designed, spacious rooms, excellent and amazing views to the sea. The terraces around the pool gives a sense of calm and tranquility. Excellent hotel's staff and the rates is very reasonable.
WIFI in the rooms a little weak but I would not ask more than that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Israel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have stayed in that hotel in early october and it was great break from busy period at work. Hotel staff was so kind to give us early check-in and double upgrade! We are grateful for that. Junior suite was exceptional with big terrace and lovely view over the bay! Room itself was good, big and comfy, bathroom also big and spacious. Pool was good, water in the sea clear and warm. Location like others wrote is great only 15 min from airport also from hotel to town is not far approx 30min by bus which unfortunately doesn't run to smoothly. But you can rent car, scooter or bike which is cool. Breakfast is not exceptional..but it's ok. Dinner although was pretty good and tasty! On top of that you have cool bar and GREAT bartender - Stefano! Cool guy, smart, funny and always happy to help. Drinks he served were good! Only one thing which let me down is lack of internet in the rooms! But hey, you not going to Italy to sit with your phone/tablet all day! Although you got internet on the lobby. Overall we were very happy from our stay, thanks to lovely staff! Hopefully see you next time! Ciao

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marcin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is a 15 minutes drive away from Alghero 35 minutes by bus. The bus schedule to the hotel is not the greatest, I believe there are 4 or 5 buses a day to and from the hotel.The hotel is magnificent, big rooms, private terraces with excellent outdoor views, great salt water pool, clear sea. Friendly personal, very polite & helpful. This hotel certainly offers quality and tranquillity and is perfect to spend time away from the noise and the big city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailor173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews