We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Taranto)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Histo'(Taranto)
US$289
US$281
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Saline(Taranto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isola Blu(Taranto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B I Citri(Taranto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
154
92
31
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
92
31
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdegree viewnarrow streetsone nightold townacropolisalleyseasterracestonemuseum
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Akropolis during a recent visit to Taranto while tracing our family lineage to their ancestral cities in Italy. We arrived late (11PM) and the hotel still went out of their way to let us know where we could still get some food. If you've never been to Taranto, it is an ancient city from something like 900 BC when it was founded by the Spartan Greeks. Akropolis is in "Old" Taranto and you will never find it if you don't know where to look so use a taxi. :) The alleys and streets around the hotel are like being back in time walking along and seeing buildings that have not changed in probably centuries. It is a short walk to restaurants, historical sites, and not far from "New" Taranto with museums and more food/shops. You absolutely must go into Cathedral of St. Cataldo, especially the all-stone chapel in the very back-right of the cathedral. The craftsmanship inside the cathedral will blow your mind compared to the ancient look of the streets around it. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly, spoke English well, and always had recommendations or tips. You must go up to their terrace, even open at night, and take in the 360 degree view of Taranto near the Cathedral of St. Cataldo where you have an unimpeded view of the neighborhood as well as both the Large and Small Seas (Mare Grande, Mare Piccolo). Once you get off the elevator go around to behind where the bar is and there is another set of stairs to bring you to the very tip top of the terrace. The room itself was clean and well maintained, decent Wi-Fi, and charming with old woodwork and decorations. Breakfast was good, but a little limited on selection compared to some other hotels in Italy in the same price range. Regardless, it was appreciated and fueled us up for a day of walking. If we ever come back to Taranto we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akropolis L, Direttore at Hotel Akropolis - Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you very much for your words. We hope to host you very soon

Best Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The Akropolis is an old-fashioned kind of hotel. Except for the flat-screen TV and WiFi access, being there is a step back in time: Everything about the place is gracious, from the polite, accommodating staff to the foyer decor. Our room was comfortable and very clean, and the complimentary breakfast included a range of choices. On a cautionary note, driving to the hotel is a challenge. Our driver wasn't familiar with Taranto and simply couldn't find it. In the end, we parked a distance away and carried our bags up a significant flight of steps to the immediate area, but still fumbled down one alley after another before we finally chanced upon it.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, and with the balcony doors open, the it could be pretty noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel itself is great. Charming in the old European way. Rooms are simple but adequate, some of the items are old but the staff is very helpful. The internet has been good and reliable. Breakfast is Continental, in the traditional way. Nothing hot - cheese, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, cereals, juices, crackers, pastries. Nothing fancy.

The area is very old city - narrow winding roads that sometimes end. Lots of churches and old government buildings. It would be charming if half of them weren't empty and broken down. Which gets me to the parking....

There is free parking listed. The parking is indeed free. There is a small indoor garage with a very limited number of spots. And you would need to know your car very well to get in and out by yourself. Street parking is "available". This means anywhere you can find a nook or cranny or spot to put a car is open for you to try to park in. There don't seem to be any rules other than "don't block a door or gate".

Room Tip: Street noise can be a thing, going higher may be quieter but the commute is longer.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

This is a very well priced hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk lad was an absolute pleasure, more than helpful. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on a Monday night. The staff were rightly proud of where they work.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank IrishJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I stayed here with Patrick George and The UPMASS singers whilst on a Gospel tour of Italy.
We were greeted by the lovely Stefano - who assisted us to settle in our bedrooms swiftly and made us all feel welcome.
The hotel is situated down cobbled roads, reflecting the history of the area - which leads to the beautiful sea coast with many traditional fish Restaurants.

The bedrooms were spacious with their own individual characters.
Everybody MUST go to the Wine basement and also the terrace - where the views are breath taking.

Stefano and the Receptionist on our departure (sorry I have forgotten your name) were very accommodating. Even the night staff who tried their very best to improve the temperature of 1 cold room were also very attentive,

Hope to see you all again and THANK YOU

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EOCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews