We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused service as solo”
Review of Osteria La Giara

Osteria La Giara
Ranked #12 of 386 Restaurants in Foggia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Only one table being used and she told me they were full, hopefully they will serve you, and hopefully it will be good. Rude and short, enjoy

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ThrillNapoliUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsteriaLaGiaraO, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I,m sorry to hear that, but the restaurant was actually all already booked. Just becouse you saw that the restaurant was empty , in about 15-20 minutes all the reservations would have already arrived and you wouldn't have had enough time to eat. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I went there for my first Italian meal this year and it was everything I hoped for. Some exciting new local flavours, and the familiar taste of Italy that I already love as well.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 424jarlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osteria La Giar... O, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

thank you very much mister jarl!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed in Foggia at the end of a trip around Pulia, and before taking the train to Milan in the morning. It isn't a tourist town and there were only three English reviews of Osteria La Giara where we went for our evening meal on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews.
We had stayed in Lecce and Trani and ate in expensive seafood restaurants for seven nights. La Giara was a wonderful reminder of how it is possible to eat very well in inexpensive family neighbourhood restaurants for a fraction of the cost.
It was like being a member of a large Italian family and friends group, and sharing the pleasure of the 9 month old Matteo who was passed around for most of the evening. The TV was on in the corner and it felt very relaxed after the more expensive restaurants. That isn't to say the food wasn't very good. My main of rare beef with rocket, Parmesan shavings, and balsamic dressing would have been a highlight in any of the places we ate in.
We had two starters, two mains, two desserts, a litre of house wine because it was a long relaxed evening, and a glass of grappa. That came to 58€ which was very good value for excellent regional cuisine.
The thing that made the evening truly memorable was the warmth of the service and the interaction despite the lack of language on both sides, but mainly ours. We came away feeling better about the world which is a real tribute in particular to the woman of the house, and 9 month old Matteo. Don't be put off by the lack of English reviews and menu, the service is so friendly you will get the meal you want and it will be good cuisine with local ingredients. You will also feel you have seen Italian life.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Very nice small restaurant with domestic cosiness, divine Italian cuisine, dreamt service. Clean and closed to the centre.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Magi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Right in the Foggia city center. Fantastic pasta, fantastic service, fantastic staff!
this is a definitely a highly recommendable restaurant , you will not regret!

100%

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank w0lfsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsteriaLaGiara, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014
Google Translation

GRAZIE per averci recensito su trip, a presto Tiziana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Giara also viewed

Foggia, Province of Foggia
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 
Foggia, Province of Foggia
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Osteria La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing