We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food!”
Review of Osteria La Giara

Osteria La Giara
Ranked #12 of 386 Restaurants in Foggia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I went there for my first Italian meal this year and it was everything I hoped for. Some exciting new local flavours, and the familiar taste of Italy that I already love as well.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 424jarlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osteria La Giar... O, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

thank you very much mister jarl!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed in Foggia at the end of a trip around Pulia, and before taking the train to Milan in the morning. It isn't a tourist town and there were only three English reviews of Osteria La Giara where we went for our evening meal on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews.
We had stayed in Lecce and Trani and ate in expensive seafood restaurants for seven nights. La Giara was a wonderful reminder of how it is possible to eat very well in inexpensive family neighbourhood restaurants for a fraction of the cost.
It was like being a member of a large Italian family and friends group, and sharing the pleasure of the 9 month old Matteo who was passed around for most of the evening. The TV was on in the corner and it felt very relaxed after the more expensive restaurants. That isn't to say the food wasn't very good. My main of rare beef with rocket, Parmesan shavings, and balsamic dressing would have been a highlight in any of the places we ate in.
We had two starters, two mains, two desserts, a litre of house wine because it was a long relaxed evening, and a glass of grappa. That came to 58€ which was very good value for excellent regional cuisine.
The thing that made the evening truly memorable was the warmth of the service and the interaction despite the lack of language on both sides, but mainly ours. We came away feeling better about the world which is a real tribute in particular to the woman of the house, and 9 month old Matteo. Don't be put off by the lack of English reviews and menu, the service is so friendly you will get the meal you want and it will be good cuisine with local ingredients. You will also feel you have seen Italian life.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Very nice small restaurant with domestic cosiness, divine Italian cuisine, dreamt service. Clean and closed to the centre.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Magi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Right in the Foggia city center. Fantastic pasta, fantastic service, fantastic staff!
this is a definitely a highly recommendable restaurant , you will not regret!

100%

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank w0lfsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsteriaLaGiara, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014
Google Translation

GRAZIE per averci recensito su trip, a presto Tiziana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I was pretty excited about eating out for the first time in Foggia. While service was good, the food was rather ordinary. Maybe my expectations were too high ... based on the tripadvisor.com ranking. The price is reasonable and the only thing that I really loved was the dessert (torta calda al cioccolato).

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsteriaLaGiara, Proprietario at Osteria La Giara, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013
Google Translation

Buona sera sig. Alessandra...in merito alla sua recensione non riesco a credere che lei abbia trovato la nostra OSTERIA priva di prodotti di qualita' poiche' sono esposti ovunque in sala ed usati...credo che e' l'unica persona che ha messo in dubbio la qualita' dei nostri prodotti su 96 recensioni...e mi spiace proprio il fatto che non parla di gusto o cucina non gradita ma esclusivamente di qualita'...e questo mi lascia molto perplessa nel credere che la sua non sia una recensione di parte...o semplicemente non ha mai mangiato prodotti di qualita' e quindi non riesce a riconoscerli...e li giudica anche in maniera negativa proprio per questo...l'unica cosa che dice di aver apprezzato e' un dolce della bindi surgelato che non ha niente di negativo ma che e' molto diverso da cio' che prepariamo noi con prodotti di alta qualita' e freschi...forse il suo palato e' piu' portato per tali prodotti preconfezionati o surgelati. La saluto cordialmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Giara also viewed

Foggia, Province of Foggia
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 
Foggia, Province of Foggia
Foggia, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Osteria La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing