We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Taste of Venice”
Review of Osteria Oliva Nera

Osteria Oliva Nera
Reserve with
Osteria Oliva Nera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 1,617 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$90
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Description: WAVING as we passed oliva neraour neighborhood ristorantedino waved at us passinghe was serving on the patioisabella waved through the windowwith a bottle of her winethey are like magiciansthey wave their handsand food appears on your table Patrick Smith
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We enjoyed a well prepared 4 course dinner with a beautiful Amarone wine. The Maitre 'D provided outstanding service and assisted in designing a perfect dinner. The salad was fresh, the pasta homemade, and fresh fish cooked Venetian style. The atmosphere is intimate and warm. The meal was served at a perfect pace to allow good conversation. We were not rushed even though there were many walk-in customers without reservations. We would recommend this restaurant for the food, service, and ambiance. Reservations are important.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GreggV385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

Friends had recommended this restaurant and we were able to make a reservation online. The weather was great so we ate outside which was lovely. The food was excellent and the owner/waitress/hostess was great at suggesting our dinners.The atmosphere is charming and in a city that can be brusque with tourists this restaurant felt welcoming.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

This was our favorite restaurant in Venice after 5 days. It was in our little neighborhood, recommended by our hotel, Hotel Sant' Antonin. A little pricier than the other near by restaurants but well worth it. Interesting in that all of the staff that we saw were women!

The food was very inventive and wonderful. The zucchini flowers stuffed with cheese (starter) were absolutely delicious you can share for two. Though I could have them all myself with great joy. The desserts are great fun with the waitress drawing you a flower on the place mat with the choices.

As we chatted with the neighboring table (very close as in all Italian restaurants) it came up that they were staying at the Cipriani. I asked how they had discovered our little neighborhood and they said their concierge had sent them- and this was their second time there this visit! we would have returned to but we had saved it for our last night in Venice!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClippedWingsPAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

This restaurant services very traditional Venetian food. Everything we have tried was very well prepared. Really professional service. Great atmosphere.
Really enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bargbin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

food is very good,quite limited selection of menu,owner herself is taking the order and giving recommendation.Value for money ,they charged reasonably,dinner for 4 with wine cost Euro 400.only thing they should improve serving time,a bit too long,where i see,limited waitress and owner herself is helping

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harrispranatajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Oliva Nera also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Oliva Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing