We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
1,503
87
20
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,503
87
20
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rialto bridge grand canal water taxi terrace overlooking junior suite the entire staff every morning stay in venice special hotel hotel experience small hotel watching the boats the location is perfect high ceilings fantastic hotel canal view oliver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2021

I stayed at Matteo’s Locanda Orseola in 2008 (since closed), and when I saw he was operating this property scrambled to get into it. The location is superb, just steps from the Rialto Bridge. The views from the breakfast balcony are stunning. Matteo and his wife are wonderful hosts, and the breakfast is varied and delicious. But the service is the best part of the experience. Example: we needed covid tests to fly home. Turned out it was the weekend everyone was trying to get tested because of new regulations for employees. No appointments available, but Matteo made a call, got us documentation without an appointment, and we were able to walk in and get tested. Disaster averted. You won’t find a better host anywhere.

Room tip: If possible, get a room facing on the Grand Canal. Worth the extra money.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2021

WOW! What a pleasure it was to stay at such a lovely hotel. I have been to Italy several times and this was by far my favorite stay. We initially booked this hotel for the amazing balcony view...but we were pleasantly surprised by SO much more. The service was superb & really made the entire trip for us. The entire staff treated us like family and they were there for our every need. This truly made the stay for us. The breakfast was excellent. We were in Italy for 2 weeks and it was by far the best. The hotel is also so characteristic of Venice and so much of it was kept the way it's been for 100's of years. It is like a beautiful palace. You will truly love every moment of your stay at this lovely boutique hotel. So don't look anymore this is most definitely the hotel for you. You will not be disappointed!!!!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TristinHibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2021

Arriving in Venice can be an anxious experience. The crowds, the expense, the transit; it can all be overwhelming. But arriving at Al Ponte Antico, my wife and I could not have been put more at ease. Matteo and Barbara own and operate what is genuinely my favorite hotel experience of all time. 

The hotel exists at the end of a secret little alleyway off of one of the busier thoroughfares near the Rialto Bridge. Upon entering, Matteo greeted us by name and with genuine warmth and enthusiasm, as if he had been looking forward to our arrival all day. He then gave us a lovely tour of the hotel, pointing out various details of the building's restorations that he has meticulously maintained for well over a decade. He then took us to our room, the junior suite with a window that opens onto the Grand Canal, and we were simply smitten, ready to spend hours watching the pace of the city swim by our new home.

The hotel feels like your own personal palace. Matteo, Barbara, Oliver, Alex, and everyone else who works here goes out of their way to make you family. They can assist you with literally any need you may have, and they do so with genuine enthusiasm and thoroughness. The outdoor terrace is open 24 hours, and there is always someone there to fix you a Negroni or a spritz. An amazing breakfast is made every morning by Barbara and Matteo, who are there to greet you and assist you with plans for your day. The rooms are beautifully ornate, exceedingly comfortable, and each entirely unique.

The hotel is the perfect blend of homey and palatial. Equal parts cozy and grand. You feel like a true Venetian. There is simply no question that this is where you should stay while in Venice.

After three amazing nights, my wife and I could not have been more sad to leave. It felt like we were leaving our family. But the good thing about family is that you always know you will be back to see them again. And we know that we will back at Al Ponte Antico for years to come.

Room tip: The Junior Suite with Canal view window is incredible.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rossvedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

The beauty and location of this lovely hotel is surpassed only by the warm welcome and genuine hospitality of the owners and staff. After a day of sightseeing, it was a true pleasure to come "home" to this lovely hotel and to ne treated as truly valued guests. The breakfasts, homemade by Matteo and Barbara, were a wonderful way to start the day, and encouraged long, lingering breakfasts on the gorgeous patio. Would definitely return here!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolynh685
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

With a prime location on the Grand canal and an amazing view of the Rialto bridge, the hotel cannot be improved upon. Well, that is unless you add the personal service from Matteo, the owner and Barbara, his wife, who makes all the morning pastries. Of course, also add Alex, Oliver, and Bruno, and you have the winning team. We have stayed in many hotels around the world, and with only nine rooms, have never felt such individual attention more than this one. If the junior suite with patio on the Grand canal is available, don't miss out on it.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dkbustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews