We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Preferred Hotels
Booking.com
Expedia
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
965
382
107
41
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
965
382
107
41
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel mark's square doge's palace few minutes walk san marco vaporetto stop lagoon dock taxis gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021

We stayed two nights here. Very handy for St Marks Square etc and a stones throw from the water taxis, gondolas etc. The room was very comfortable, but we missed out on coffee making equipment. The breakfast was served in the moorish style gardens,quite delightful, but spoilt by bad service at at table. Very odd ordering service, as we were given a print out to fill in with our orders, but what eventually arrived...??

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesbO2077IB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Let me say that I very much liked this property. Great location, great history, wonderful garden for breakfast and cocktails. The service was almost great - but when we checked in they tried to stick us in a room on the first floor. I had requested a high floor several times via email, and they said they'd "do their best", and when we got there the front desk manager said that they had nothing available on a high floor and put us in a room on the first floor. When we got into the room - which was facing the lagoon - people were only a few feet below our room and the noise was demonstrably loud. We rejected the room, and lo and behold, the same room on the 2d floor became available. While only 1 floor higher, the view and noise were noticeably better. Why couldn't they put us in the 2d room the first time? It's like going to a busy restaurant and they try to put you in the worst table to save the better tables for others. This experience left a bad taste in my mouth but otherwise I would recommend the property.

Room tip: No first floor facing the lagoon. 2d floor is ok; better still go higher.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YunzerJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021

A beautiful hotel with it's own water taxi stop in a superior location within walking distance of the Doge's Palace. From the minute you walk in you sense a quiet elegance, a lobby filled with beautiful objects and curiosities. The concierge desk works tirelessly to help weary travelers experience Venice. The garden where breakfast and drinks are served is charming and quiet. While food and drinks are quite pricey, the ambience can't be beat. Service is terrific and staff to be commended. Rooms are lovely. Truly an unforgettable stay . Thank you !

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pwrightnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Great place to stay! Combination of carefully preserved historic charm and a modern comfort with very comfortable beds and very good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Not so many such a classy hotels exist

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LyubovC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Metropole for four days and it was a great experience. The hotel can be reached directly by boat taxi from the airport and is centrally located. The service was outstanding and everyone in the hotel very friendly. We can only recommend the Metropole.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank C8569TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews