We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
28
86
77
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
86
77
31
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Very noisy/ We were a family of 13 people when bread was finished during the breakfast they didn't bring more or after we left. they made us feel really bad with their looks because as we were 13 people they thought they 6 bread rolls would be enough towels were not always available.
Surely we wont go there again !!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank martie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights and it was bad both nights. We heard everything the next door and upstairs occupants were saying and doing and it was LOUD, as though in the same room as us! Dogs barked next door late at night also!
We had specifically asked for a quiet room... what a joke.
The road was also audible despite the claims that the rooms are soundproofed..
The noisiest hotel room I've ever had the displeasure of staying in.
Beds were not hugely comfortable.. very hard mattresses.
We put a "do not disturb" sign on the door but that didn't stop the maids coming in anyway to do the room up ..
Breakfast was ok, I would say very average, not much choice for a 3 star hotel.
All round, noisy hotel I will never stay in again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I only stayed in the city for one night as I was travelling from Valencia airport the next day. The hotel was about 30 mins walk from the main train station and relatively easy to find although the entrance was being renovated when I arrived so you had to enter through the pizza shop next door. Staff didn't speak any English so communication was difficult if you didn't speak Italian but you could get by with hand gestures! the room was clean and nice but nothing special. To sum up my stay here my favourite part was ordering a kebab from a Turkish shop down the road...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Great value for the money we have paid! Breakfast was included, however coffee and tea was paid separately after the check out (didn't mentioned when we checked in). Close to the University area and Simply supermarket, relatively close to the old town (35 minutes walking).

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We stayed 5 nights (April 8-13). The hotel is on a busy city street however, public transportation was right out the front door...which worked perfect for us since we didn't rent a car. The rooms were small, and could probably used some new paint. We were out an about everyday so the room size was not a factor. Bathrooms were just ok. Originally, we were given a room that had a shower located in the corner of the bathroom...so small there was absolutely no way to keep the rest of the bathroom dry. The showerhead mount on the wall was broken and didn't hold the showerhead. We were given a new room. The sleeping area contained a king bed and a set of bunk beds. The bathroom was far better...a showerstall with a curtain thought it took some manipulation to get the curtain in a position that the water didn't run out onto the floor. There are no hairdryers...I came prepared with one so it wasn't an issue.
The hotel has fee wifi however it was very unreliable no matter where we were in the building.
Breakfast was the usual Italian fair...breads, cereal (you had to ask for milk, aka latte), some days there were cheese and cold cuts. The coffee (Americano) was made to order...and it was delicious and the hotel staff recognized that their version of Americano coffee was still quite strong so always included a small teapot with hot water.
The family that owns/runs the hotel were very accommodating. Language was a barrier with all but one of the sons who had spent some time in the USA. He spoke very good english. His mom & dad were there at various times each day we were there. Mom spoke almost not English and dad maybe even less than that. But for us, it added to the adventure of traveling in Italy.
The hotel has a restaurant open for dinner however we did not take advantage of giving it a try. The menu looked yummy though.
As anyone traveling in Europe knows...they smoke...for us it was at times difficult since we don't smoke. Again, part of traveling in Europe...and it didn't take away from our experience while we stayed there.
The train station (Porta Nuova) is about a 10 minute bus ride from the hotel and if you're feeling energetic about 45 minute walk.
There are plenty of restaurants (including other ethnic types) on a little street behind the hotel...as well as gelato! You won't be disappointed.
All told, if you're considering Hotel Universo for a place to sleep...it's all you'll likely need. If you plan to stay in your room during the day to work or relax, this isn't likely the place for you as the rooms are too small, and the lobby areas not the most inviting given the cigarette smokers the space is shared with. Additionally, there is no place to sit outside. The weather was beautiful while we stayed there so it would've been nice to have a place to go out and take it in.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayrShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews