We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Expectations Required”

Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Parma
Ranked #35 of 141 things to do in Parma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Archaeological Museum tells the story of the origins of Parma and reveals artifacts of rare beauty and great historical importance. Founded in 1760 to house the findings from the excavations in the Roman city of Veleia,near Piacenza, it was enriched by the Duchess Maria Luigia (1815 to 1847) with important epigraphic and numismatic collections and Greek, Etruscan, Italic and Egyptians artifacts. Since 1867 the Museum houses one of the first prehistoric exhibitions in Italy. Today the museum consists of two distinct parts: the collections section and the archaeological rooms, containing the findings from the Parma area. In the first section, the Egyptian objects have a special importance, together with the findings from Veleia, including 12 marble statues of the Julio-Claudian family and the Tabula Alimentaria, the largest inscribed bronze tablet of Antiquity. The second section is dedicated to the prehistoric and classical artifacts found during archaeological excavations carried out in the territory of Parma. The Neolithic tombs and the findings from the "terramare", settlements of the second millennium BC, are particularly important. The rooms dedicated to Iron Age, Romans and Langobards are currently under reorganization.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 November 2016

To me, this museum was quite a disappointment. The building outside, Palazzo della Pilotta, is much more impressive than its contents. Nonetheles, even its entrance isn't well signed. It was difficult to find out how to get in. The items on display are mediocre, at best, and most don't have quality information, even in Italian. English information on the exhibits is practically non-existent. The one room with the exhibit of the statues of the Imperial family Giulio-Claudia was the most interesting to me—but still poorly displayed. I expected more.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"small museum"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"pasta"
in 4 reviews
"coins"
in 2 reviews
"roman"
in 4 reviews
"collection"
in 4 reviews
"theatre"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Amazingly poor collection of minor things that people happened to find locally. High point was a heavily restored Roman bust of a woman that looked like one in the Disneyland Haunted Mansio.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Artaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This museum is focused almost entirely on Northern Italy, but, since there have been people in this part of the world for a long, long time, the subject isn't at all limiting. There are some wonderful sculptures and some really interesting exhibits on early man - especially jewelry, pottery, and other household items. It's really worthwhile to visit for anyone interested in this subject. They also make it easy for people with mobility issues to see the sites (there are chair-lifts on the stairs, and there is a handicapped entrance and exit.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Alecia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

What an impressive museum.
If you like a bit of all history, old, old history this is a fantastic collection on show.

Nicely displayed in sections.

Egyptian mummies, unearthed bones and full bodies, tools, jewelry, coins,ceramics,glass and more this is a great place to visit.

Much more than only Italian history in here.
Take your time, no rush which for us was very nice.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I spent a morning at this museum, which contained many interesting exhibits - good displays and lighting, interesting artifacts, etc. However, our enjoyment of our visit was considerably lessened by the most bizarre experience we've ever had in visiting any museum in any of our travels. We noticed, relatively soon after we entered the museum, that that there was a man, dressed in casual clothes, apparently listening to a recording on his cell phone, who seemed to be following us into and out of every room we entered and exited. There were almost no other visitors to the museum, so we felt isolated. At first, I thought he must have been a tourist who had one of those audio recordings that museums frequently provide, but he never seemed to be looking at any of the exhibits, and he was always about 15 feet away from us at all times, staring down at his cell phone. Finally my husband convinced me that he couldn't be a tourist, which left 2 possibilities -- someone who might be stalking us as a potential pickpocket or thief; or a museum guard who was not in uniform. The latter suspicion was confirmed when we ran into my husband's colleague from the conference who had his own "shadow" - a woman, also dressed in casual clothes, also listening to her cell phone, and also not really looking at any exhibits. Some of the rooms were "dead-ends," and I actually felt a little nervous at first, since it wasn't clear exactly what this man was doing. When we left, I confronted the ticket sales staff member and and told her that we had been followed by a man, not dressed in a uniform. She became flustered and said that they didn't have sufficient staff to station a guard in every room. Well, fine - but put him or her in a uniform at least. It was really creepy to be followed by someone who was pretending to be another tourist, but who clearly was not. I understand the importance of protecting valuable museum artifacts, but I don't see any need to make museum visitors nervous by stalking them by a guy pretending to be someone he clearly was not.

Date of experience: March 2014
4  Thank PamDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Parma also viewed

 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Parma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing