We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
269
398
115
43
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
398
115
43
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location pasta train station nice hotel an easy walk main attractions rooms are spacious good size free wifi central location tea and coffee one night stay per day reception staff historic center piazza garibaldi breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This is s nice hotel in a perfect position. We have stayed there more than once and loved it. This trip though the balding man with glasses behind the front desk nearly spoiled it.
The two women were great, friendly and helpful but the guy was arrogant, dismissive and insulting.

Long story short, I ran into a supply problem renting a car and asked for help or suggestion. He basically was not interested in helping and after some time of my 'politely' asking for his help with a solution his response was , "get a taxi". Get a taxi for a 4 hour drive tour?

Seriously, could he have been any more of a jerk or any more insulting.
I wanted to rip into him but my wife talked me out of it. Not worth it but here is a message to Mercure Parma;
You have a rude obnoxious jerk working your point of contact snd that is not healthy for repeat business!!

Btw... I went upstairs and solved the problem myself when he said there was no solution.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DrLongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Vey nice hotel with superb location right in the old center of very pleasant city of Parma.
Rooms rather small however have everything including Wi Fi ,spacious common areas . Not sure about breakfast -we prefer eating outside.
Parking is next to hotel but no discount for hotels guests and should be less than 15 euro/day.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yefmazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Our two nights in Parma were spent at this hotel and we would stay again. The price was reasonable, it was walking distance to everything including the train station and tons of shopping and restaurants. The staff was helpful and professional. The breakfast which could be included in booking was ample and tasty.

For the price of our room I was surprised at how large the space was. It was a typical European bed (a bit hard for the American taste usually).

We did order room service our first night because we were exhausted from missed trains and all-day travel. The menu states that some items are frozen/reheated and that's what it was, but it was not expensive and when exhausted and starving, anything works. The fruit was fresh, the prosciutto was fresh, the wine was nice. What more did we need?

We would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cktraveloptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Good location. Room is typically small, but clean. Problem was t he air conditioning. Room consistently almost 80 degrees! We complained, and the clerk at the front desk went onto the computer to adjust the thermostat. No help. Then our room was changed. (We had to move ourselves.). No better. We know there was air conditioning because the lobby was comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veff1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renato B, Direttore at Mercure Parma Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear VEFF1995,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights in a large room on the 5th floor. Had some difficulties finding the hotel using our GPS as it kept trying to take us down via Giambattista Bodoni from the road that runs along parallel to the river. Unfortunately this entrance to via Bodoni has been blocked for what appears to be decades and accordingly the best way to arrive at the hotel is to drive down via Guiseppe Verdi (one way street) entering it off viale Vittorio Bottego. The hotel is on the corner of via Bodoni and via Verdi. There was a large short term parking area outside where you could unload the bags. The hotel uses a relatively small parking garage about 50 metres down the road where you leave your keys with the attendant and which costs Euro14 per night (needed to book).

Hotel's foyer and reception area is very impressive, somewhat classic old world with marble floors, chandeliers and plush lounges. There were two lifts.

Likewise our room was classically furnished with two beautifully upholstered chairs with arms, a dressing table with mirror and another chair, a large wardrobe with a safe and a bar fridge with the TV on top of it. The queen sized bed was very comfortable and there were two small tables on either side of the bed as well as lighting on both sides.

The bathroom was on the small side but more than adequate with good lighting in the mirror and a walk-in shower (good pressure). Both the room and bathroom were very clean.

Air-conditioning worked well as did the wifi. View from the room was over the church next door.

Breakfast was comprised of a large hot and cold buffet, with cereals, bread, pastries, fruit juice, eggs, bacon, cold meats (parma proscuitto) and cheeses, tea and coffee etc.

We found the staff at check-in and check-out to be very pleasant and efficient. Likewise the man who was attending to the breakfast area.

Hotel is on the edge of the main historical part of the city but within 300/400 metres walk of most of the main attractions and many cafes, restaurants and bars.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews