We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
980
603
134
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
603
134
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station side street rooftop bar piazza maggiore the main shopping street excellent location recommend this hotel central location breakfast room modern hotel junior suite great shower centre of bologna breakfast staff stayed here for two nights pastries long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a week at this hotel last week while in Bologna.
They were very helpful even before my arrival.
My flight plans changed and they were able to add an extra day to my reservation at an upgraded room without charging me more than my pre arranged room.
Our luggage was lost at the airport and they helped with phone calls to get it sent to the hotel.
The location was perfect.
Near the Piazza Maggiore, a short walk to the Central Train Station, near dozens of great restaurants...
The breakfast was OK.....cappuccino, various breads, juices, hard boiled eggs, chesses & meats.
We added a day at the end and spent that night in their apartments which were very close by. The apartment was great......nice building, kitchen, living room, bedroom. It was less than the hotel room but didn't include breakfast.
The front desk staff were very helpful throughout and the rooms were very nice. We had a small terrace in the room we spent most of the week in. Room 404. Very quiet.
The terrace on the 5th floor is really nice for an evening drink although they are a bit pricey compared to local cafes.(10 euro for a glass of wine, 15 E for a cocktail) .
Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 404 had a nice private terrace and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John B, thank you for telling your stay experience at our hotel and also at our residence. Your testimony will be very useful to other travelers, also because you could try both our accommodation possibilities. We are very happy that you were fine and that you enjoyed the services offered by our staff and we hope to see you soon in Bologna again. A cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very welcoming and located right in the city centre, this hotel is a little gem. Very modern in style, it is in a quiet side street just off one of the main shopping streets leading up to the Piazza Maggiore. Good (healthy) breakfast. Reasonable sized room with outside terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J4KSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear J4KSS, thank you for sharing your experience of staying at our hotel with other travelers. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the services offered by our staff and also our breakfast service. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna. A cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night and overall is was pretty good. The hotel had sort of an upscale hostel, trendy modern glam feel to it. The shower looked over and into the bedroom and there were lots of colorful lights, which was interesting.

Pros:
- Friendly and helpful front desk staff
- They contract with a nearby parking garage
- Large and clean room
- Nice shower with tons of water pressure
- Pretty courtyard area
- Cool rooftop terrace

Cons:
- difficult to drive to - located in an alley that is not passable by car
- Not a ton of natural light or enough lighting in the room*
- Paper thin walls - could hear neighbor’s conversations and rustling plastic bags, etc.*
- We had to squeeze up a step and past the sink to get into the bathroom, which was a little annoying*

*Our room was sort of separate from the main building, so these issues may be unique to those rooms

It’s a funky place with character in a pretty good location. A good place to spend a night for a quick stop in Bologna.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank WillTravel4Points
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear WillTravel4Points, Thanks for telling your stay experience to other travelers. We are pleased that you have been fine with us and we will definitely consider your advice to try to improve. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna. A cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We stayed in the Metropolitan Apartments which were located several blocks from the Metropolitan Hotel. The alley that they are located on isn't very nice. Once inside the apartment, it was lovely and relatively new and well appointed. However, there had been a leak from one of the air conditioning units and mold seem to be growing underneath the air conditioner. There wasn't any maid service and you only got one bath towel each. The nights were chilly in Bologna and the apartment was on the chilly side. As a result our towels didn't dry for the next morning's shower. The maid who was cleaning the lobby told us that the heat and heated towel bar is only turned on when the weather is cold. At least the Hotel should give people an appropriate amount of towels for their stay. There isn't any direct communication between the Hotel and the Apartments. If you want to talk to them you have to go over to the Hotel or use your cell phone (which was an added expense for the phone call as we were out of the US). The garage that the Metropolitan recommended was very convenient to our apartment. I wouldn't recommend staying at the apartments because you're removed from the hotel and didn't like the location.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odyssey809582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Odyssey, although your review has already been read in another very popular booking website, I can not resist to reply here also on Tripadvisor. First of all, I regret that you did not feel good inside our residence, but that's exactly what you had booked. Our residence is 100 meters from the hotel and guests are all accompanied to their apartment after checking in at the hotel, everything is clearly written, even within the famous booking site that you used. The alley where the residence Met's Apartment is located, which you say is not beautiful is a side street of the main street of the historic center of Bologna (Via Indipendenza) and although not large has the advantage of being very safe as shared with the local station of Carabinieri. As for the temperature, I'm sorry you were in Bologna the first days of October in a period when there was a large temperature range, during the day the temperature was about 25 degrees and the night fell to 10 degrees. the municipality of Bologna has imposed to prevent pollution and global warming to turn on the heating not before October 15th, unless special events, so it was not possible by law to turn on the heating, although to tell the truth not it was necessary. Inside the apartments there is not a direct telephone line for obvious reasons due to the tourist use of the apartments, but the fast internet connection is provided. If you had need of more towels, it would have been enough to send an email to the hotel reception or simply walk for 100 meters and ask at the reception desk, which is open 24h. I hope I have clarified who will read your review that we want to offer 100% of services and that 100% of our efforts are dedicated to the success of our guests' stay, sometimes there are misunderstandings but we live by hospitality and we are always available in every second, just ask. Hoping to see you again in Bologna, I send you the most cordial greetings from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

The hotel is situated very close to the old part of the city and a very easy walk to the sites and many of the trattoria and shops around the area. Although taxis can't get to the front door, they get close and the trip to and from the airport was quick and very easy.

The reception staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful throughout the stay.
Rooms were reasonably sized, had good aircon, a great shower but were a bit dark - a combination of the wooden shutters outside the window and the décor. They also smelled of old smoke but not unbearably. Lastly beware - I wasn't ready for the Type L (3 round pins in a row) electric socket but thankfully there was an adaptor in each room to covert from the more typical Type F (2 round pin).

I didn't have the chance to try the breakfast or rooftop bar this time sadly.

I booked in advance and deliberately selected a hotel which offered convenience and reasonable value for money. I wasn't disappointed. For a city break, I'd recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonburridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear SimonBurridge, Thank you for taking the time to tell your stay experience to other tripadvisor users and thank you for recommending us to them. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our stay and we hope to see you again in the future, so you can try our roof garden and our breakfast room. Greetings from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews