We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta”

Bottega Portici - Indipendenza
Ranked #209 of 2,074 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: US$8 - US$9
Description: Bottega Portici is the new, revolutionary and gastronomic project, born in the heart of Bologna and it goes beyond. It representes the meeting of tradition and innovation, a perfect combination of sight, smell and taste. The art of craftsmanship that is exhibited and available to everyone. A real window on history and food culture of Bologna. In Bottega you can eat when you want, from morning till evening, in place or by walking around the streets. A modern street food, 100% Made in Italy, which will change your way of seeing fresh pasta and takeaway, without renouncing the excellence of products and at the high quality of raw materials.
Restaurant details
Description: Bottega Portici is the new, revolutionary and gastronomic project, born in the heart of Bologna and it goes beyond. It representes the meeting of tradition and innovation, a perfect combination of sight, smell and taste. The art of craftsmanship that is exhibited and available to everyone. A real window on history and food culture of Bologna. In Bottega you can eat when you want, from morning till evening, in place or by walking around the streets. A modern street food, 100% Made in Italy, which will change your way of seeing fresh pasta and takeaway, without renouncing the excellence of products and at the high quality of raw materials.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Fresh pasta made then and there. Lot of eating space and lovely views from top floor...good service...

Thank Vasula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottega P, Responsabile Caffetteria at Bottega Portici - Indipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

we are very proud of our "sfogline" which make fresh pasta all the day for our guest. Tortellini are our best, but try also our tortelloni stuffed with a wonderful ricotta and our tagliatelle, they are perfect for a very nice lunch. See you soon. Elisabeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

I did not like this place. I tried several fresh pasta shops in Bologna and this by far was the worst and most unwelcoming of them all. It started with a downright hateful woman who "greeted" us as we walked in and went downhill from there. It was as if she was angry she had customers!

After struggling to place our order with miss fussypants (although the menu is also in English), we paid and waited for our tortellini to be cooked. Fresh pasta is one of my favorite things in the world but this was a disappointment. The pasta was super undercooked. I understand al dente and I know Americans overcook our pasta, but this was still crunchy. None of the cheesy goodness inside had melted either, and the beef inside was cold. The sauce wasn't much better, a super thin and paltry amount of cream sauce.

When we went to sit down in the adjacent dining area, she scolded us and scoffed. I'm not sure where we were supposed to eat our pasta. Maybe she just totally hated tourists, but she was one of the most unfriendly people I think I have ever met.

Plus, it was expensive, €8.50 for a small cup of pasta. Skip this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moviegal226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottega P, Food & Beverage Manager at Bottega Portici - Indipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear guest, even if pasta also one of our favourite plate, we are very sorry that your lunch was unhappy. We share your experience to all our staff and although you wrote hard words, we are sure that we can do better and we want to improve for our guest. Bologna is a nice city, with a long culinary tradition and we are happy to have many visitors, which can discover and then recount their vacation. If you will be another time in bologna, we hope to have another possibility, to let you feel our hospitality and one of the best plate of “Italian Cuisine”. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stopped there for a quick breakfast while waiting for our train. Very nice waitress , clean and nice place and best cappuccino ever! Absolutely recommend

Thank Sara0391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottega P, Responsabile Caffetteria at Bottega Portici - Indipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Sara, I love make cappuccino and I has been a pleasure try to make a perfect one for you :). I hope that you'll came back soon in Bologna to visit again our city and to try our homemade pasta, such us tradition suggest! Best Redards
Elisabeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This was good tasty food but can only give 3 star as I feel better is available for a similar price elsewhere.

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottega P, F&B Manager at Bottega Portici - Indipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Chris, we are so happy that you enjoyed our food. It's true that in Bologna there are many options to eat fresh pasta, what makes us different is that we proudly make our pasta in front our guests each day, offering the opportunity to watch fresh eggs and flour magically turn into your lunch! As an added bonus, at Bottega Portici there is no cover charge.
We hope to see you again soon.Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We had just arrived in Bologna so wanted to get a quick lunch and although the pasta came quickly is was badly cooked which was surprising given the standard we had received elsewhere in Italy. The tortellini was raw in parts and the ravioli was too disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenS345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bottega Portici - Indipendenza also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Bottega Portici - Indipendenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing