We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
275
173
34
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
173
34
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopformer conventprivate courtyardnumber trambreakfast roomcharming hotelrestaurants and barsgreat neighborhoodwithin walking distancemain roadcentral romesmall hoteltriple roomreception areahard boiled eggsperfect locationtaxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for Valentines weekend in 2015 and returned for the same this year - with the added attraction of Italy v England in the 6 Nations rugby.
We had loved the warm, friendly and personal service; we liked that it was very individual and historic; and we loved the location.
This year proved an equally successful decision.
We had stayed in a courtyard room last time and half hoped for the same; instead we were given one of their "new" rooms on the first floor. Accessible only via the worlds slowest and smallest lift - with 3 people it is overcrowded - this is an extension of the hotels accommodation. But you would never guess that it is less than 12 months old. It has been created with empathy and love and maintains the beautiful original features , including a magnificent beamed ceiling. And all of the furniture (except the bed which was very comfortable ) is old/antique to reflect the building. The advantage of this new room was enhanced plumbing with a modern bathroom.
Delightfully, there was a mini Prosecco , snacks and a card welcoming us back. You don't get that in chain hotels!
The other change , I guess resultant from their greater number of guests , is that front desk operates 24 hours. They have added staff to provide this service but have clearly been careful in selection so that all maintain the same high standards of efficiency , helpfulness and warmth.
In every other way the offering was as we remembered Le Clarisse: quirky, historic, personable and relevant - that included the management putting Prosecco and chocolates in bedrooms on Valentine's Day.
And with the multiple choices of bars and restaurants within the immediate vicinity there is no disadvantage that the hotel's only F&B offering is their charming breakfast ( with the same old toasters that are even slower than the lift) and mini-bars.
Thank you to all who made our return so enjoyable. And thanks for still smiling when England won!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DJHMoulsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaLaursenForese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Dear Guest,
having you with us again this year was a great, great pleasure!
We are proud you keep choosing and recommending us and we deeply thank you for this.

Also, we deeply thank you for NOT making fun if us when England won! :-)))

Hoping to see you in Rome next Valentine's, 6 Nations or whatever occasion you may find suitable to come back visit us!

Thank you, once again.

Best wishes from all the staff members.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife in early January 2016.We had a fantastic stay,having read the reviews on tripadvisor we were not disapointed ,Le Clarisse was everything we hoped for,Friendly staff who went out of there way to make sure we were catered for. Our room was spotless clean,breakfast was fresh with a nice variery of choice and a very plesant girl to help if needed.
The hotel is in a great location bars and restaurant's close by and in walking distance to all attractions.Le Clarisse we will be back.

Room Tip: Mention Tripadvisor
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaLaursenForese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Mr "Liam",
thank you so much for your great review!

We are very pleased that you and your wife fully enjoyed your stay at Relais Le Clarisse and especially, we are glad and grateful you noticed and appreciated our efforts in making your stay as memorable as possible: that is the goal we keep in mind every second of every day!

We sincerely hope you really will be back as you promise, because we still have so much to show you!

Arrivederci a Roma!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Shopping, sightseeing, great restaurants and bars all nearby and great night time atmosphere in this area. Friendly, professional staff very accommodating. The rooms have free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, minibars, plus tea and coffeemakers.

Buffet breakfast can be in the private courtyard which is very relaxing or the breakfast room downstairs, (this can be complimentary when booking) the selection is outstanding and so fresh.
The location is so central (in such a picturesque area) to Vatican City (2 klms walking along the Tiber River), Colosseum and central Rome. Good public transport but you need to ensure you research your routes.

Room Tip: Room with a courtyard view + get complimentary breakfast when booking
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaLaursenForese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2016

Dear Ms "Karen W",
looks like you had a great stay at Relais Le Clarisse! Thank you for sharing your happy review with us and other travellers, we are truly delighted you had fun and could relax!

Thank you for choosing us, we hope you will want to repeat the experience next time!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Magnificent hotel in an unbeatable location in Rome.

Chose this hotel as a last minute option and it was fantasic! Our only regret is that we only booked two nights and we couldn't extend our stay because the hotel was at capacity.

Things we loved:

1) The location! Trastevere is an amazing authentic neighborhood with plenty of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed being so close to the action and also on a main road (Viale Trastevere). We easilly arrived from FCO airport and with the #8 tram directly across the street, our travel time to/from the airport as well as the city center was minimal and easy.

2) The staff. Adrianna and Gloria at the front desk were truly wonderful! They treated us like family from the moment we arrived and we felt as if we were staying amongst friends. They were accomodating and knowledgable about local things to do and see and no question was ever too much. We appreciated their insight very well.

3) The rooms were lovely, spacious and the beds were very comfortable (unlike other European hotels where the beds are hard as rocks).

4) Free wi-fi located throughout the entire property and the signal was great.

The only thing we didn't quite fancy were the bathroom amenities. While the hotel does provide adequate amount, the bath soap is very very small and only includes a tube of shampoo, no conditioner. No big deal but it would of saved us a trip to the pharmacy if they were provided.

I would certainly recommend staying at this location while in Rome and would love to be back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pinky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaLaursenForese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2016

Dear Guest,
your review is highly rewarding for us and therefore we deeply thank you for your will of sharing it with us and other travelers. It helps us understand that our sincere and deep commitment to the Hospitality mission is appreciated.

It seems like all aspects of your stay met your expectations and this makes us happy and proud! Also: thank you for your very kind suggestions about the bathroom amenities, I will the bring the issue to the Management's attention in order to improve our service.

Gloria (myself!), Adriana and all the Staff members send their gratitude and greetings and hope to meet you again soon in Rome!

Sincerely


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

We did quite a lot of research and booked two other b&b's, but decided to cancel those after we had read reviews of this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and never regretted our choice.
Nice room, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and the location is just perfect. Easy to get to and the beautiful Trastevere around the corner. Within a few minutes walk you could find innumerable restaurants and bars. The tram stop before the door makes it very easy.

If we have to complain about something, it was the wifi in our room. That was really bad.The staff said it had to do with the weather (???) and that it would be better after a router reset, but the signal never got better. It's obvious the wifi network needs an upgrade.
One complain about the breakfast: you could order a fresh orange juice for 2 euro's. We did that once, but it tasted really bad. Hard to believe this was 100% fresh. Rest of the breakfast, incuding the cappuccino's, was great!!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tidi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaLaursenForese, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this kind review!
Our lucky location, very quiet and still in the middle of everything happening i n the lively neighborhood, is something we pride ourselves of and we are glad you fully enjoyed it together with our Staff kindness and the other services.

We are truly sorry to admit that during your stay, in fact, we did have some issues regarding the wi-fi connection, but I would like to confirm that they have now all been solved. As for the fresh orange juice, thank you for bringing to my attention the inconvenience, I will further investigate into it, but for the moment I would like to grant that fresh fruit is something we literally buy each and every day. I will personally check what happened on that specific day therefore.

Arrivederci a Roma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews