We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
95
183
179
84
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
183
179
84
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station manzoni terrace bar nice hotel minute walk shower gel road noise breakfast was included ham short stay location is ideal hotel is located roof garden light sleeper tea and coffee mini fridge fresh fruit loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Large hotel, only few elevators. Corridors are quite labyrinthical. The room was big enough, but it was a four person room, I was the one and only there.
Water pressure was pretty low, so showering took a long time.
Breakfast was very good, and , what is important, there was also bacon!
Location is good, easy to go to the town because the tram stop was just outside the main door. Remember to buy the tram tickets before traveling. Just left from the main door is a small shop, there y can buy tickets.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We were able to keep our luggage behind the desk because we arrived 4 hours too early. They were upfront about the tourist tax. There were maps with the metro at the front desk. It was a 10 minute walk to the subway. The air conditioning and television didn't work and they were unable to fix it, so we were thankful that it wasn't as hot as it usually is in Rome in the summer. We had 3 single cots in our room. The bathroom was clean and large and the shower was a good size. The breakfast was included and had a variety of pastries, breads, meat, cheeses and fruit. The staff was accommodating and arranged a limo to take us to the airport at a price better than an Uber and only 2 euros more than a taxi.

Room Tip: Check the A/C before checking in
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

The location of this hotel is good and very close to the tram that takes you directly to the Colloseum and to the metro at central and Manzoni. Manzoni is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We did not enjoy the room located in the first floor. Our window was level with the roof of the rest of the building and was overlooking dirty roof top mess. I would STRONGLY suggest people confirm that you are not allocated a first floor room. The furniture etc is oldish and not modern as shown in some photos. I think room 115 also has mould on some parts of the wall. On the first day I did ask reception whether I could have another room but was denied as they were full. Expedia was still selling rooms at the time.

The breakfast was good and service at breakfast and reception was also good.

The best thing at the hotel was breakfast and the room had alot to be desired.

Room Tip: Dont take first floor rooms
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank gjoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms and the cleaning is good, it’s a good place to sleep in Rome. The breakfast is alright and had something for everyone, but don’t go in expect anything amazing.

Most of the staff is very hard to communicate with and generally seemed uninterested in helping with even the smallest requests, the general level of service was very poor throughout the entire stay.

The terrace was without warning closed for half the duration of our stay, so we could not access the facilities we had otherwise paid for. The restaurant is also very very mediocre and the wait time between ordering and getting any food was also extremely long, just skip the restaurant and explore the restaurants in the local area instead.

It’s a good place to stay if you can overlook the extremely poor service, but there are probably better options in Rome in the same price class.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rasmus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHGportamaggiore, Direttore at SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Rasmus,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on SHG Portamaggiore, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations.
We have taken note of your opinion, sorry the the terrace, we had an unexpected problem and we had to intervene with an unscheduled extraordinary maintenance activity. All of our staff is trained to establish a friendly relationship with the Guests and to follow the “SHG Hotels services guide” personalized to please every Guest, who confirm everyday to the Management this attitude; we are sorry thart you did not detect this propensity during you stay.
Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed here recently on a visit to Rome. This is around 15 minutes walk from Manzoni Linea A metro or 10 minutes by tram from Roma Termini where you can arrive by the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino airport.

The location itself is great near the Piazza de Porta Maggiore. The staff are helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the WIFI is good.

The breakfast is awesome. Muesli, bread, cakes, fruits, juice, coffee. There is ample space , including the terrace.
The hotel looks elegant with a yellow facade and french style windows, but then Rome itself is beautiful with history at every meter.
The hotel is walkable from Colosseum and even Vatican City, a 30 minute walk. Not to speak of sights such as Santa Maria Maggiore church,Spanish steps, etc.

A great place in a great location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank SriniRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHGportamaggiore, Direttore at SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Guest, thanks for you review, we are waiting for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews