We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, refined, and romantic ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #74 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I rarely give 5 stars. I would give 6 if I could. Our room was very spacious (king size bed, a desk, an armoire) and had three windows with cute green shutters. Our bathroom was covered in marble. And the service was impeccable: several times, the concierges helped us retrieve lost items in taxis, or to book taxis and tours. Note: taxi is the easiest way to reach city center. The waiter at the bar treated us with a personal touch every evening. Breakfast in the conservatory each morning and drinks in the patio in the evening. Breakfast buffet consisted of bread, pastries, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cuts, fresh fruit, juices etc. And basically the place was very comfortable, quiet, clean and full of Italian refinement. Perfect romantic gateway. We will come back. For sure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FlorenceK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your generous feedback about our Hotel Villa San Pio!!
We are so glad you had a outstanding stay with us and your words fill us with pride and happiness...and encourage us to do always the best for our new and precious guests!!

Hoping to see you very soon in our property for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and we couldn't have been happier. It's nice and quiet here with a really relaxed, home like atmosphere. Our room was small compared to American hotels but it was quite comfortable and had everything that we needed. The staff is friendly and they all speak at least some English. The complimentary breakfast was also quite good and offered much more than you might find at other hotels in Rome. Breakfast offerings include eggs, bacon, cold cuts and assorted pastries which were delicious. Fresh juices and made to order coffees to top it all off.
The hotel is in a good location within easy walking distance of the Circus Maximus, Roman Forum and The Colosseum.
We hope to visit Rome again in the future and we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank BradenHartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for having suggested our Hotel! The Aventino hill is a perfect location for business or a relaxed and sophisticated city break, so close to the major tourist attractions as Colosseo or Roman Forum!!
Hoping to have you again as our Guest in our “House” and we suggest you to check our official website for special offers and promotional rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Really enjoyed my 8 days here! The decor is classic with a cute garden/patio, in a residential neighborhood about a 10 minute walk to the metro, the colosseum, and a few cute restaurants. The staff were nice and efficient, everything was clean, breakfast was simple but refreshing, the shower had great pressure with hot water, and--most importantly for me--the a/c worked. The mattress wasn't the best I've ever slept in, but it was a nice big bed and worked fine. I would be happy to stay here again, but might also prefer something in a trendier neighborhood next time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.
It's a pleasure for us to read you had a nice stay. Aventino Hill is a sofisticated area. Of course location is important because even if we are in the centre, we are, in the same time, out of the hustle and bustle of the eternal city.
Hope to host in the next future in our property on the top of the beautiful and exclusive Aventino hill.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this hotel as it had fantastic reviews and also a great offer. I had never been to Rome, or even Italy, so this was my first taste of this amazing country, I was very excited.
The taxi from the airport dropped us off at the hotel ( Do not pay more then 50 Euros for a taxi, as we were ripped off and paid 90, so beware) and my first impression was great.
A beautiful reception area, and we were greeted with a drink, which impressed me.
The area is very quite and leafy with an authentic Italian feel. Apparently it’s where the Roman emperors used to live, so it’s a classy neighbourhood.
That’s probably why the Circus Maximus and the Colosseum are close by!
We had the most basic room with no balcony, but it was still a stunning, with high ceilings and curtains, a massive bed, and beautiful marble bathroom.
The shower and bath were fantastic, and it was always an experience to be in there.
The hotel has beautiful gardens, and you can sit in or outside for breakfast, and it is a pleasure, with a great choice of food.
The staff are just so amazing and friendly, with a smile and a greeting every time.
Made friends with the guys in the breakfast and bar area as they cannot do enough for you.
It’s a great location, quite, but not far from the hustle and bustle (1-2KM)
I would go back again no doubt, but would ask for a room with a balcony as I felt we missed out big time, so don’t make our mistake.
Give it a go, you won’t be disappointed

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Spitfireboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your visit in our Hotel Villa San Pio and for your fantastic review and thanks to your niece for having recommended our hotel! You made our day!!
So thank you very much, we’ll be waiting for you as a precious guest another time in your roman house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

When we first started going to Rome, over twenty years ago, we stayed in one of the San Anselmo hotels on the Aventino. Our favorite hotel was always the San Pio. Then, as we became more familiar with Rome we started renting apartments. This year, we traveled to Naples at the end of our apartment stay and needed a hotel for our last two nights in Rome, before flying home. I booked us into the San Pio, thinking it would be lovely to stay in a quiet hotel on a quiet hill after several days in the noise and chaos that is Naples. It was the perfect way to conclude our Italian vacation. Everything about the hotel is lovely (and, peaceful). Our room was large with a balcony that looked out onto a tree-lined street We delighted in watching green parrots (several of them) fly from tree to tree and young mothers walking their children home from school.. Our bathroom was big with a strong hot shower. The garden is the perfect place for breakfast or an early evening drink. The staff are friendly, extremely competent and enjoyable to interact with. The hotel is within walking distance, if you like to walk, from great restaurants and many sites - the Forum, Protestant Cemetery, Circus Maximus, etc., but the hotel will arrange for taxis/drivers for those who are venturing farther afield. After this stay, I'm committed to always spending a few nights is such lovely surroundings when we're in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that your stay at our hotel Villa San Pio was good and have enjoyed the roman style, the service and the courtesy of our staff!
We are glad for choosing again us for your roman holidays, we hope to have you back soon for another trip as a welcome guest in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,273 in Rome
2,568 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#100 of 1,273 in Rome
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,273 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#65 of 1,273 in Rome
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: HK$488 - HK$1,858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, WingontravelTA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing