We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,723)
Filter reviews
2,723 results
Traveller rating
1,818
698
152
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,818
698
152
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half price drinks piazza del popolo happy hour in the bar spanish steps free bar snacks flaminio metro deluxe room within walking distance pastries rooms are small turn down service every evening classic room trevi fountain an upgrade hotel bar lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,723 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a previous stay at this lovely Hotel my Husband & myself felt this was the only hotel we wanted to return to on our 2nd visit to Rome .
Reception staff were always so efficient , friendly & welcoming. Always ready to help with any query you had .
Rooms were small but quite sufficient for our needs , kept spotlessly clean & comfortable .
Buffet & happy hour were really good after a tiring day exploring Rome . Breakfast was good quality with a wide variety to suit all tastes .
If we return to Rome again we would be very happy to stay at the River Palace again .

Room Tip: Both stays were on different floors & both were quiet , rooms next to elevator could be rather noisy .
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annabelle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have come for 3 nights stay and my husband asked that on arrival flowers should be here. However that never happened. We asked for an extra pillow three times before one arrived. Also I like to drink tea as I don’t like cold drinks. Because we requested more than two tea bags per day we got a note through our door saying if we want more tea they’re going to charge 5 euros per day! I’ve never heard that from a hotel. We ended up buying our own tea bags in as it was far less expensive. The staff are polite. It’s reasonably clean too. Bath is very small and room is cramped for the price. To get to the ground floor you have to take a lift, take w walk through corridor and get another lift. Which is time consuming. Also our room you can hear all the noise from others going in and out and it’s very loud and distracting. I wouldn’t come here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pauliephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleS4992, Direttore generale at River Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pauliephillips,

thank you for sharing your experience at the River Palace Hotel. I'm very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your review gives me the chance to point out some issues regarding our hotel and its services. Unfortunately our concierge never received any request regarding flowers to be delivered upon arrival. I personally checked via our deputy manager and front office manager the e-mails and no record has been found. Upon arrival, despite a reservation for a classic room, we upgraded to a superior room (603). All our superior rooms, deluxe rooms, junior suite and suites come with a complimentary use of kettle with a complimentary set (2 chamomile bags, 2 tea bags, 2 decaf tea bags, 2 green tea bags, 2 soluble coffee bags, 2 decaf soluble coffee bags, 2 creams, 4 white sugar bags, 4 brown sugar bags, 4 sweetener bags). The complimentary set is refilled every day. Upon arrival (early afternoon) you requested 10 more tea bags, 10 more creams and several sugar bags, that we delivered to your room. After dinner you requested 5 more tea bags and 5 more creams, that we delivered to your room plus half liter of milk (complimentary). The next morning you requested more tea bags and sugar. Due to this uncommon use, our front office manager wrote the information note that you posted on Tripadvisor. We really try to do our best to make any guest's stay a memorable one. I'm sorry that the request of € 5 per day for the extras has influnced your judgment on the hotel.
I hope you'll give us another chance on your next trip to Rome.

Michele Scandellari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great stay at the River Palace, Rome.
Its walking distance to most things, or if you prefer the metro is literally 2 mins walk down the road.
Hotel was nice & quiet, so no problem sleeping. All the staff were very helpful and very efficient.
Breakfast was nice with a good choice of hot or cold options.
Particular thanks to Diana, who gave us a list of good restaurants to visit - all were very nice and reasonably priced.
Thanks

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianNcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here three nights in September and had a good experience. Rooms are not big but good size for two people, nice bathroom and amenities. Only downside is the thickness of the walls in the bathroom areas, we could hear too many noises of water running all the time from other rooms.
Breakfast was nice, good quality and variety.
Location was ok, not very close to main places to visit but within walking distance (10-30 minutes to most areas).
Great air conditioning!
We enjoyed the mobile wifi service they offered us, very useful to use online maps.
Friendly staff!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank maradema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights in early September. Small room and tiny bathroom. Had to go sideways to get between the bidet and the shower. Quite expensive too, but what isn't in Rome? Breakfast was a disappointment, the scrambled eggs were frequently cold, as if they had been sitting there for an age. Now the positives. Couldn't fault the staff, always courteous and attentive, from the front desk to the maid. We especially liked the small chap who operated as bar tender and breakfast attendant, he makes a mean cocktail. The hotel itself is a little north of the centre, but we liked this as it meant the area was less noisy than other parts of Rome. It is also ideally situated for the metro. Just two stops from the Vatican City on the A Line. We used the Metro every day. There is a convenient bus stop just around the corner too. A short walk to the Spanish Steps, or one Metro stop. In short, we liked the hotel and would stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews