We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,933)
Filter reviews
1,933 results
Traveller rating
1,032
678
157
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
678
157
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvia flaviaroof gardenlovely hotelrecommend this hotelwithin walking distancemain attractionsquiet streetspanish stepspastriestrevi fountainshort breakcity breakst petersreception staffaround the cornerbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,933 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I stayed here with my daughter on a 3 night break via a Jet2 city break. The check in staff were lovely giving us a brief history of the hotel and local information. Our room wasn't ready so we went to the roof top and had a delicious pizza and a cocktail. We arrived at our room to find our cases were there. The room was lovely and we had a lovely juilet balcony and modern bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean. We had pre-booked a trip to the Vatican and the staff ordered us a taxi which came within 5 minutes. The barman Salvatore made the best cocktails I have ever tasted. He was so friendly to all the guests and nothing was too much trouble. He recommended a restaurant in the same street La Pentoraccia. The food and atmosphere was excellent. Breakfast was self service and very relaxed. Plenty of food to choose from. The view from the roof terrace is exceptional. The street the hotel is in is quiet and is about 15 to 20 minute walk to the old part of town. Rome is a very walkabout city so make sure you wear comfortable shoes.

Room Tip: Room 118 is a lovely room.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear PR,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are glad that you fully enjoyed our hotel, especially the room and the Rooftop Terrace.
Reviews like this are the best gratification for us!

A special thanks from Salvatore!

We are certainly looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Just back from our 4 night stay in Rome. We had an amazing time. The hotel was ideally placed - just outside main tourist area but everywhere is walkable - in comfy shoes! Hotel staff are really friendly and helpful and will book all trips for you. Good breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely go back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Anne,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are delighted that how much you fully enjoyed our services. It's a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice time with us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!



Best regards,

Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Marcella Royal and were more than impressed with every aspect from comfort and cleanliness, to location and facilities and found all the staff most obliging, friendly and helpful with every request.
One feature we particularly enjoyed was the rooftop garden for breakfast with beautiful views over the city rooftops.
We whole heartedly recommend this boutique style hotel to any traveller looking for an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Smilealways8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Smilealways8,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are glad that you fully enjoyed our hotel and especially the panoramic Roof Garden!

Seeing our guests happy is the best result that the we might desire!

All staff thank you so much!

We are certainly looking forward to welcome you back in your "Roman House"!


Kind regards,

Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Marcella on a 3 night break via a Jet2 package. While we were there the Hotel booked a skip the line tour of the Vatican and it was worth doing. There were no queues at all as we had a quite early start. They also gave us very good advice on other places to visit. Getting back to the hotel, the room was very nice and clean and overlooked the front of the hotel. The safe is free and the fridge stocked with drinks which you pay for if used. We stayed bed and breakfast, and the food was very fresh and the drinks hot, with a view from the roof top restaurant that was epic. The main reason this hotel is successful is the location and the staff, both of these are fantastic. All the attractions are walk-able, except maybe the Vatican, although we did walk back from there. Just one tip, we go to Spain quite a lot but the electrical sockets are different in Rome, the 3 pin plugs need another adapter, one more thing, change your money before you come to Rome the exchange rate is diabolical, enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the street are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Benidorm88,

First, I would like to thank you for lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, reviews like this are the best gratification for us!

Also, we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the relaxing atmosphere of the Roof Garden.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!


Kind regards,

Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed at the Marcella Royal the last weekend in April. From the minute we arrived the service was excellent. Mario checked us in and gave us a great guide to the city. We wanted to go to the Vatican early Saturday morning and he sorted out a tour picking us up from the hotel which was really good value.He then suggested a full list of places to see for Saturday afternoon. Sunday morning he gave us a great itinerary to fit in with what we had planned for that day.
The room was very clean and everything we needed.
The breakfast buffet was much better than I was expecting. Tea and coffee were perfect. there was the usual continental breads, meats and cheese, pastries and toast but also eggs and bacon so plenty to set us up for the day with the added bonus of the restaurant roof top location with views across the city.
I would definitely return to this hotel the next time we visit Rome .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillian_David_6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella R, Direttore at Marcella Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Gillian David,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience at Marcella Royal Hotel.

We are delighted that how much you fully enjoyed our services. It's a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice time with us!

A special thanks from Mario!


We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!


Kind regards,

Alessandro D'Ilario
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews