We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Teranga Worldwide Pub - CLOSED

Teranga Worldwide Pub
Cuisines: African
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Normally I don't write reviews on websites like these, but what a great place! When we entered the place we where doubting if we should stay. It was empty and it has not really the standard restaurant cosiness, but it has a bit of a home friendliness to it.
It's not a place for exquisitely refined dishes, but if you like simple and properly delicious food, give them a visit. The service was good.
There should be much more places like these.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Robinho1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2015

I came from Berlin and my friend took me to this beautiful place . African food at its best and after 23,00 the place turned into a dancefloor that reminded me of the clubs in Jamaica and Brixton . The deejays played a lot of Dancehall and mixed it with African music . unforgettable experience.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A friend invited me to a birthday party and so I discovered Teranga, an African word meaning "welcoming" in Senegal dialect: to be precise it translates the act of asking to a guest arriving at home "how much you will stay" instead of "when you will leave" (the Western typical way to ask the same information).

Beside "hospitality", Teranga is a worldwide pub, is the first cafè literaire africain in Naples (and one of the very few in Europe, if others exist!) but is, in around 130 squared meters, first of all a winning business and integration model, an artists' promotion stage and a jazz&world music club. It is also hosting readings and is above all a very tasty and cheap ethnic bistrot, an eclectically furnished exhibition area divided in rooms named after the continents (Asia, Africa, America, Europe and Oceania) hosting almost always contemporary photography.

Teranga is the brainchild of a very ironic and deep guy, 38 years old from Burkina Faso, former basket player and with thousands of lives behind (building industry worker, waiter, plumber), who came in Italy (always in Naples) around 15 years ago. Now he is a manager and a writer (managing a non profit foundation that is also a publishing house, Macchia di Colore, with which he already printed several books including his own). He is Judicael and his name is to be pronounced as it is read in Italian, without any French accent.

"Only by fully understanding how much we value, we can improve. And Teranga is a kind of family, where lots of famous friends come to visit us or to give lectures and presentations. Also Erri de Luca and other writers have been here."

It is easy to meet Judicael spinning music from his laptop after midnight in a portion of shadow behind the bar counter of his brainchild Teranga.

The worldwide pub and café literaire africain is open six days a week (except Mondays) and is located in a narrow alley (Vico Costantinopoli) just in front of one of the squares erected to main symbol of Naples Renaissance in the Nineties (now all this is just a sad souvenir): Piazza Bellini, close to two other monumental squares of old city, Piazza del Gesù and Piazza Dante.
African, creole, Australian and Sri-Lanka recipes are alternating in the menu: a single offer costs from five to eight euros and all the Sundays dedicated to families (they will start very soon) any children (of every nationality) will eat for free.

It is possible to eat until midnight and after the dances are open... until you have the energy. Teranga hosts new jazz sonorities every Friday and world music on Saturday (from 10.30 to midnight): it is the best spot to meet those musicians could be the "must" of tomorrow, not only foreigners and not only Italian.

Teranga's bar menu is including all the traditional cocktails (at a very convenient price) plus a wide selection of wines, from the good reds to the more expensive champagne.

"We have a motto here: if you love somebody, invite him/her chez Teranga. We were not placing adv campaigns because we prefer only word of mouth. And so we welcome everybody even if, for a natural selection, here only the mankind that is not very different from us arrives."

What I'd loved are the African not alcoholic drinks and their tea. I had a marvellous hibiscus petals juice, the sweet and refreshing Bissap; I tasted a very light and fantastic juice taken from pressed ginger roots then I had Mafè rice (boiled rice with a dress of peanuts sauce) coming from Western Africa. A friend of mine had perfumed red rice (boiled rice dressed with a red sauce of aubergine and peppers to be spiced apart).

They also serve everyday the Thieboudiene (Senegal), the Fufu (Ghana), the Attieke (Cote D'Ivoire), some meals with meat and fish and some contamination with Caribbean must-have (as fried plantain and sweet potatoes). On the week end they are able to accommodate for dinners from 50 to 70 people: beside Bissap the clients ask also ask the Ferrari Brut. That's why it is a worldwide pub in the words of the stateless writer Judicael (the waiters serving me did a mistake in the already very cheap bill that from 26 euro became 17: I really hope this is not happening quite soon because prices are already so low!).

Even a sans papier or a very large family can be feeling a roi at Teranga thanks to the low entrance subscription for the concerts (2.50 euro) and only five euros to eat a good and nurturing meal (as rice and sauce).The pub also open with the same philosophy also at lunch breaks. They have these pricing policies because first of all they want to keep the door open to migrants and to students and to allow them to have a good meal and to listen to good music."

It is possible to see the preparation of the African tea and for sure to taste it. I saw Judicael preparing it: abundant doses of Chinese green tea leaves are countlessly alternating in boiling/pouring to another empty carafe until the tea master thinks to have obtained the right stage of a very dark and dense liquid (that has not to burn and not to become too dark: it is an old art to know when to stop the alternation). After the alternation, he enters another stage: by sweetening a lot the liquid and taking out the leaves, he continues to pour it from a carafe to another until rich foam is obtained. This will constitute a hat to each small glass in which finally the tea is served. Then Judicael serves it clockwise and by counting all the presents in the pub, not only who is around the tea table.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

simply the best one. the place is the best one you ahve ever had and when you go there you don't feel the time go by anymore. You feel like in a different dimension

The food is very good, in particular I would suggest the cous cous

Try it, and you will come back here very soon :-)

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackrose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teranga Worldwide Pub also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing