We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water menu”
Review of Il Comandante

Il Comandante
Ranked #123 of 3,196 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Il Comandante is a gourmet restaurant awarded 1 Michelin Star since 2012. Il Comandante was the title given to Achille Lauro. And our restaurant was his palace, the historical site of Lauro's naval fleet. We like to imagine this place as the ship's bridge from where one dominates the bay of Naples, the port, the ships that arrive and depart in a never still landscape, never identical. Our kitchen evokes the charm of a trip: the great muse is the Mediterranean "mare nostrum", a melting pot of people and cultures tastes and traditions, where our Chef Salvatore Bianco elaborates the ingredients with respect and passion. Enjoy the experience.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was the first restaurant where you can have a special water menu! Circa 50 different sorts! In separate menu! The rest goes as it started. Very sophisticated dishes in a very sophisticated scenery. You've been serving by as many waiters as a number of dishes. Unforgettable... No, you can't remember all.

Thank Pavel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Pavel54,
thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are so proud to read your words and we are glad that il Comandante restaurant has fully met your expectations! We look forward to your next dinner then. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is a lovely dining experience. The food is creative and delicious. Beautifully presented and served in a magnificent setting, looking out over the Bay of Naples. A highlight of any trip to Naples. It is head and shoulders over the other Michelin starred restaurants. Perfect for a romantic dinner or to discuss business. We had the testing menu, which was just the right amount of food. The waiter recommended several superb local wines that we drank by the glass. Dining here is another good reason to return to Naples.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3254_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear 3254_13,
thank you for sharing such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are so proud to read your words and we are glad that il Comandante restaurant has fully met your expectations! We look forward to your next dinner then. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The service and decor were exactly what I expected from such a restaurant, however, the food menu seemed to be far more interested in being avant garde than being tasty. My menu options included beef testicles, pigeon and beef tongue. It’s interesting to say I ate pigeon. Whether it wowed the palate seemed like an afterthought. The antipasti consisted of tiny crunchy salty things that looked cute and had interesting ingredients but didn’t bring any true pleasure. For the 300 + euro we spent for dinner for two people, I expected much more. We won’t be back.

Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Elizabeth,
We are displeased that your experience at il Comandante restaurant did not meet your expectations. The Executive Chef Bianco cuisine aims to exalt the taste of each carefully selected ingredient and provides a multi-sensory experience. Probably it is just a matter of taste! However, we shared your review with the F&B Manager. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We had great expectations of this restaurant but were surprised that our meal was mediocre at best... the antipasti and wine were good but the rest of the meal was distinctly uninspiring. Certainly not worth the cost. We won't be going back

2  Thank orielh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear orielh,
we are displeased to read that your experience at Il Comandante restaurant did not meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef greatest strength is his elaborate cuisine which merges ingredients from the land and the sea with cosmopolitan nuances. Probably it is just a matter of taste! We hope you could give us one more chance in order to demonstrate the opposite.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Stunningly cool decor. Insane view. Inventive food. Best Seafood risotto ever. World class squab. Could be two Michelin star quality.

Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Matthew C,
thank you for sharing your review with the online community. We are delight to read that your experience at Il Comandante restaurant was positive and truly memorable. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Comandante also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Comandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing