We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
617
587
160
67
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
587
160
67
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pedestrian street first floor small door pastries charming hotel royal palace inner courtyard taxi stand hotel occupies teatro san carlo old building each evening excellent location via toledo rooms are comfortable small hotel spanish quarter
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is an affordable option in the heart of the tourist area of Naples, two minutes walk to Piazza Plebiscito and a few minutes to Castel Nuovo.

We were there over the weekend and the area was very viby, to the point where you could hardly walk down the street in the evenings. It is a good shopping district with plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Having said that, the hotel is situated in one of the busiest of these streets and there is a LOT of street noise. My recommendation is to request a room away from the street unless that kind of thing doesn't bother you.

The hotel is accessed through a small courtyard that is a bit dingy and objectionable, but once in the hotel the ambience is quite pleasant and we were very warmly greeted. The staff were very helpful throughout and speak good English.

Our room was acceptable and functional but nothing fancy in terms of appointments and the finishings are a little dated.

The room gets quite cold and on leaving the room the airconditioner switches off automatically when removing the key card, so on return in the evenings the room was cold and only really warmed up after an hour or so.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection and quality. The wi-fi worked well.

I would choose this hotel again for value for money, location and service, should I ever feel the need to return to Naples.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jannie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This hotel occupies the first floor of an old building above the pedestrianised Via Chaia, one of Naples' most vibrant shopping streets, a stone's throw from the Teatro San Carlos, Castel Novo etc. But entering is via a steep, double-height staircase; the building's lift appears to have been out of operation for some time, so don't go if you cannot carry your bags up two flights of stairs. Our room was comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking Via Chaia. This means there is plenty of noise, including garbage collection and street cleaning in the early hours, though it did not bother us. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful, booking restaurants and taxis. We recommend this hotel for its very central location and its character, giving us an immediate feel for life in the heart of Naples. If you prefer modern buildings, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UKfoodietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my son. It was great!! The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the breakfast was good. They had meat and cheese, important to me a diabetic who needs to eat protein with every meal. They had a bathtub, which was a great extra. The parking was offsite, but any parking is unusual in Naples. It was terrific and made me think of a Napoles of an earlier time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mumsyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We were recommended this hotel by friends and given clear instructions on how to find it. It is on the first floor of an old building and is approached through a coutyard which has shops in it. When the shops are closed one has to ring on the bell which is clearly marked. There is a lift which is concealed so look for it! The hotel itself is very smart and comfortable . Our bed was large and comfortable. There is a safe, mini fridge, toiletries and a hairdrier. Breakfast is adequate. It is very quiet and the location at the end of Via Toledo close to the famous Gambrinus café and the Opera house is ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is not a modern hotel. If that's what you're looking for then don't come here. This is an old fashioned hotel - old carpets, wallpaper, beds. But I liked it. First of all the personnel is very very nice and was really helpful in organising transportation from the aiport and around town (the cable car to Vomero is in repair for at least a year) and secondly because the location is great. It's in the old city a few minutes walk away from the royal palace, galleria umberto, san carlo theatre and Via Toledo (shopping!). Via Chiaia - where the hotel is located - is a small winding street with lots of shops and a few bars, restaurants and gelaterias. If you go up the road you'll eventually get to the sea. The price is more than reasonable - and although it's a simple hotel, I highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: ask for a room showing the inside courtroom.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AdriAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews