We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveller rating
337
602
351
94
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
602
351
94
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station hard boiled eggs two single beds main station visit pompeii napoli centrale the hotel is clean reception staff hotel restaurant italian hotels air con minute walk pastries ham late at night buffet breakfast amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Visited Napoli with my wife and 2 kids (8y and 6y) this month and stayed in this hotel for 2weeks. Hotel itself is good, decor quite outdated but very clean. Staff all very nice and helpful. Family room was very spacious, A/C in good working condition with quiet option at night, room always very well cleaned, small balcony onto road, no noises heard even when roads were busy. We had dinner in the restaurant twice - good value for money, food was nice at a very reasonable price, staff very helpful and nice, gluten free options available. Location is wonderful as it is a 5min walk from Garibaldi Train Station which gives access to Metro Lines 1 and 2, Circumvesuviana and other trains. A 20min walk from the city center or 1 or 2 stops by Metro Line 1. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Plenty or markets around the area and shops to suit all needs, including take-away, caffe, supermarkets, etc. Price for stay was extremely reasonable considering the location.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrimic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are really glad to read that your stay was so pleasant and most of all we thank you so much indeed as you underlined in a few words the fundamental features of our hospitality:
staff always friendly and careful to all needs of our customers, rooms spacious comfortable and well cleaned and GOOD FOOD in a nice place such as our restaurant...

Please do not forget that each time you would like to come back and visit our wonderful city we will be here looking forward to welcoming you :-)

Warmest regards from the whole staff of Grand Hotel Europa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Clean hotel, very friendly staff. Has a lovely restaurant down stairs with good quality food. Very handy for train station and metro line and the circumvesuiviana trains thart go to Pompeii and down to the amalfi coast which are great for days out without the tour costs

Room tip: If staying any more than a few days try and get room not overlooking enclosed carpark
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Alistair,

first of all thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you appreciated our staff and our restaurant as we pay lot of attention to food offered.

With reference to our location,as you wrote, it is very convenient to visit Naples easily even in a few days.

The area is in fact serviced by a great underground line that with only a few stops will take you to the centre of the city and it is also full of shops where you can buy everything you need at very reasonable prices.

We are awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa and meanwhile we remain with warmest regards from the wonderful Naples :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel in the middle of Naples . Very close to the train station which is very handy.
The hotel key was massive and very difficult to take with you for the day.
The breakfast had a good choice all cold buffet food unless you wanted to pay extra.
The only downside unfortunately was that as we left we were informed of the city tax we had to pay which was €5 a night totalling vat €35. Which would have been fine if we had been told at the start of our holiday as we could have put it aside. Thankfully we had just enough left to pay it but it wasn't the best way to end a great holiday. Naples was great and well worth a visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank holsmay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

we thank you warmly for your very nice review on our hotel and your nice words on your stay in Naples!

Only one thing which is necessary to clarify is your note about city tax: we actually write everywhere (online, on our website and during correspondances and phone calls with our guests) that city tax -equal to € 2,50 p.p. per day is not included in room price and it has to be paid cash in the hotel upon check out.

Therefore we are deeply sorry that you didn't know it and you found it as an inconvenience caused during your stay.

Last but not least, with reference to hotel key, they are still the ancient ones : the hotel is in ancient style and therefore we didn't want to change the keys as they are perfect to re-evocate an antique atmosphere...but no problem: you can leave it at the reception desk each time you go out :-)!

However, we are looking forward to your next visit to our wonderful city and most of all to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel twice recently about seven days apart due to our arriving and departing flights. Both rooms we had we clean and comfortable, however tea/coffee making facilities were not available and given we arrived at midnight on our first stay and had to leave at 2.30am on the second, being able to make a cup of tea would have been nice - this was really the only negative. The restaurant provided good breakfast and evening meal and the staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel is not in the greatest part of Naples but we were aware of this and booked it solely for the convenience of getting to and from the airport and being able to walk across the road to the train station.

Room tip: Some rooms have beds on mezzanine floors so check prior to booking.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suewF2447PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Sue,

first of all thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you appreciated our staff and meals provided in our restaurant as we pay lot of attention to both of them breakfast and dinner offering everyday fresh items and various products to make the stay of our beloved guests a special experience!

With reference to our location instead we know that it is a very caothic place as for all big cities: every area nearby to the central station appears disorderly but it is also very convenient to visit Naples easily even in a few days.

The area is in fact serviced by a great underground line that with only a few stops will take you to the centre of the city and it is also full of shops where you can buy everything you need at very reasonable prices.

We are also happy to read that you liked your rooms but we just would like to point one thing out: in Italy no three star hotel provides guests with tea/coffee making facilities. This service is available only in four and five stars hotels.

However it is always possible ask for a coffe or a tea: our room service will assisit you with this matter!

We are awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa and meanwhile we remain with our best personal regards from the wonderful Naples :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Diabolical hotel experience, as a frequent and keen traveller I can honestly say this has been the most tragic experience. The hotel staff extremely rude on arrival, did not inform us there was a restaurant, temperamental lift and uncomfy beds. Dilapidated bathroom and awful view of graffiti and homeless people from the so called ‘balcony’.

We went to the restaurant when we found it and they charged us for starters we didn’t have and illegally charged us for tap water, of which the waiter admitted it was illegal but this hotel does it anyway. Please be warned this is an awful hotel in an awful location, Naples is an awful place with nothing to do and nothing to see except graffiti and rubbish bags. All in all worst experience ever and caused us to check out after 1 night of our 3 night stay, we booked a flight back to UK within 3 hours of being there, disgusting!!!

Staff rude, hotel disgusting , area is a disgrace.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Hannah,

we are really surprised reading your review.

You never claimed nothing during your stay and even when we asked why you were leaving earlier than expected check out time you said it wasn't absolutely due to the hotel...therefore we cannot consider your opinion as true one: if only one of the things listed was true you certainly would have informed us promptly.

Last but not least: NAPLES IS A WONDERFUL CITY FULL OF FAMOUS MONUMENTS AND MUSEUMS, you may not like it but no REAL frequent and keen traveller can say that it is "an awful place with nothing to do and nothing to see except graffiti and rubbish bags".



Best regards from Grand Hotel Europa and from wonderful Naples!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews