We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great guide!

I booked a Path of the Gods hike online with Fulvio. At first it might have been a group hike, but... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
allswell711
,
NYC
via mobile
Great walk!

We did the Path of the Gods walk with Nino Aversa as our guide, thoroughly enjoyed it! He is a... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2018
PJ777
,
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Read all 148 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sorrento
from US$114.00
More Info
from US$91.00
More Info
from US$41.50
More Info
from US$77.20
More Info
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
143
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews path of the gods bruschetta guided hike great hike hour hike proper walking shoes wild herbs plant life flora and fauna fantastic guide sturdy shoes local geography fresh goat cheese trail head punta campanella fear of heights amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We did the Path of the Gods walk with Nino Aversa as our guide, thoroughly enjoyed it! He is a great guide & gave us constant information on the flora & fauna & the local history, happy to recommend him. The walking is not that difficult as long as you are fairly fit & don't mind a few drops off the path, the amazing views make the effort worth it, we had thought of doing it on our won but would have missed out on his great knowledge! His No. is 3341161642. Make sure you wear sensible shoes, flip flops are not OK, we saw some people in them though!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We are just finishing up a 2 1/2 week stay in Sant’Agata in the Sorrento area. One of the absolute highlights was the jaw dropping beauty of the Path of the Gods. Nino Aversa was our guide. He was extremely knowledgeable and clearly loved this area. His enthusiasm was infectious and he kept our group pumped and raring to keep going. The stories about the trail history and the humorous anecdotes were fantastic. Half way through, we stopped for a “snack”, which turned out to be a mouthwatering collection of local breads, cheeses, olives, chestnuts and grapes. If you are considering doing the Path of the Gods, you MUST ensure you get Nino as your guide!!

Rob and Maureen King
British Columbia, Canada

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank revdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We are still in awe of our time we spent with Fulvio. We did the Path of the Gods and felt as if we were the Gods. Where to start?? Part of me wants to shout out to all about how amazing this hike and guide are, and part of me wishes to keep it our own little secret, because it is such a genuine experience. Fulvio (and we must assume his partners) are not mere hiking guides, they are stewards, naturalists, botanists, geologists, historians, and most of all, friends. It is apparent Fulvio does this for the love of the land. My wife and I were the only people on our day and all I can say is if you do not use Sorrento Hiking you are getting a lesser experience. Just the drive up to the trail head was informative and enjoyable, and there are no words for the beauty of the trail itself. You leave early so see the path in peace, without hundreds of other hikers jamming up the pristine vistas. We learned about the native plant life, wildlife, and the region's history. We were fortunate enough to visit the farmhouse when Antonio was there with his donkey, Limona. He is basically the last shepherd on the coastal hills, preserving hundreds and hundreds of years of tradition. At the farmhouse we were treated to Bruschetta and fresh goat cheese with red pear marmalade. As we basked in the morning sun with the most beautiful view, we knew it doesn't get any better and we savored every moment. This particular walk isn't one way. It loops back at Colle Serra and you head back on the high trail (believe me, the low trail is still high). Even though you head back away from the main views it is still stunning and you will note all the hikers just headed out on the path you've just seen for in private. As Fulvio said "Now we say Buongiorno every 5 seconds". We actually felt bad for many of the hikers, knowing they will miss so much by not having such an informed and passionate guide. Note, that the trail is not for people who have issues with vertical climbing or with stamina. It can get pretty strenuous. I see others have noted that all the guides are most patient with those with less of a fitness level, so don't let what I wrote stop you, just be aware it is not a stroll. When we completed the hike Fulvio let us rest with more Bruschetta and lemon granita (and for me a beer) at his friend's bar. On our drive back we knew we had experienced something truly special. It turned the Sorrentine peninsula from a over crowded tourist hub into the true land of magic that it is. You can spend 3-4 times more for a similar guided hike and not have half the experience. Part of me just wanted to hand over my wallet and just tell them to keep it. The experience is that worthy. If you are in Sorrento and want to see the Path of the Gods and see the true Amalfi Coast you cannot find a better experience or value than Sorrento Hiking. 11 of 10. Do not miss! Grazia, Fulvio and Sorrento Hiking.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank ShawnEOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulvio E, Proprietario at Sorrento Hiking, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Ciao Shawn :)

was too much a pleasure walk with you!! Hope walk togheter soon! :)

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Our little group of 2 couples decided we’d like to hike the path of the gods while visiting Sorrento. After looking at bus options we decided just to book a tour for the ease of transport, thinking we would ditch the guide and hike at our own pace. We quickly abandoned that plan as Nino was such an amazing guide! We all got so much more out of the hike with him than we would have on our own. He was very informative, fun, and easy going. He answered all of our questions and seems to truly love what he does. He knew all the best spots to stop and even had a little snack break at the lovely Antonio’s. Our transportation was safe and prompt too. We all argeed that we were very lucky to have ended up booking with Nino!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Stephanie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We were in Italy for 10 days, and this was absolutely one of the highlights of our trip. At 50 Euros, it's a total bargain, too, as you are taken to a place that's hard to reach, given food and drink, and guided on a leisurely walk along stunning scenery. I can't emphasize enough how great this was.

Fulvio was our guide, and he said he's one of the two founders of the company. They have about 4-5 guides during the high season, as they don't do the mass hikes with dozens of people. Our tour had only 3 people, and the company had other tours that day of 7 and 4 people each. This is the ideal way to do the hike, rather than in a giant group, of which we saw several on the path.

Fulvio was extremely nice and full of information about the towns we passed through on the one-hour drive to the start of the hike. He was extremely patience as we stopped dozens of times to take pictures, and he made sure that we got photos at the most scenic locations. Also, he took us on a looped trip for part of the hike, which got us off the busiest part of the path that most individual tourists and all larger groups do. Total roundtrip for us was 3-1/2 hours, but I bet some groups do it in 3 hours if they don't take as many pictures. But as I said, Fulvio was not making us hurry along. In fact, he stopped several times to pick herbs and let us smell them.

The hike itself is amazing. It's moderately strenuous, with a lot of ups and downs, some of which require the use of stairs. We went on a day when the temperature was probably in the 70s Farenheit, so it was comfortable even in the sun and cooling when we hit a shady spot. The hike would be harder during the height of the summer, but one good thing about this group is that they insist on starting early before it's too hot and too crowded on the trail. We are in our mid-50s and exercise regularly, and we had no problem with it.

Topping it off, Fulvio has introduced a cheese, jam and bread stop at an abandoned farmhouse about 1/3 of the way through the hike. Delicious food, stunning view. You feel like an emperor.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank allen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulvio E, Proprietario at Sorrento Hiking, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Was really a pleasure walking with you!! :) hope to walk with you again soon!!

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews