We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time”

Villa Ida Cooking Lessons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking lessons.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We went for our honeymoon, and it was perhaps my favorite thing we did the entire time. The people are great. Worth every penny.

Thank dankjohn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaIdaSorrento, Direttore at Villa Ida Cooking Lessons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

thank you so much for your beautiful words...we wait for you next time
kind regards villa ida family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine cellar"
in 29 reviews
"fried zucchini flowers"
in 10 reviews
"lemon tiramisu"
in 8 reviews
"meatballs"
in 9 reviews
"italian family"
in 9 reviews
"cooking class"
in 28 reviews
"potato salad"
in 9 reviews
"cooking experience"
in 8 reviews
"wonderful family"
in 7 reviews
"wine making"
in 5 reviews
"cookery lesson"
in 4 reviews
"lemon leaves"
in 3 reviews
"citrus trees"
in 2 reviews
"outdoor kitchen"
in 2 reviews
"chef hats"
in 2 reviews
"lovely table"
in 2 reviews
"homemade wine"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Well, I must admit I was at first a bit uncertain about going with my family (2 almost grown children with 1 who really does NOT cook) to make and enjoy foods that I normally am not crazy about at what seemed like a lot of money....boy, was I worrying for nothing!! Just had an amazing evening and meal at Villa ida! About 4:30 my family was met at the pool where we enjoyed delectable lemon cake & fresh juice by huge flower blossoms and under lemon trees until all 14 guests arrived. We then as a group adorned our chef hats & Villa Ida aprons (free welcoming gifts) to learn about & prepare ourselves squash blossoms (which we were a bit afraid of & very happily ordered everywhere we could for the remainder of our trip), veal meatballs encasing a bit of mozzarella, cut and slice peppers, & lemon tiramisu. We then broke into 2 groups (alternate half way through so you learn it all--you have to make a lot for 14 people) to first make gnocchi from scratch with their homemade tomato sauce & then, to fry squash blossoms and prepare tomato and cucumber salads.(Happily, they did all the frying & actual cooking while we watched and listened to their helpful cooking tips) While it all cooked, we visited with "larger than life" Grandpa Charlie to learn the family history of the villa and see his wine cellar to understand his wine-making methods (low alcohol to ensure a good time with no headaches later) and sample his wines with bits of salami. Then, fine dining al fresco until late in the evening (after 9) of all our creations surrounded by abundant flowers and citrus trees: first course of squash blossoms, homemade olives, tomato & cucumber salads & a chunk of a large wreath of mozzarella (more than I have ever seen!), second course of tender gnocchi with tomato sauce, third course of meatballs with a fried pepper medley, and finally, a final course of light lemon tiramisu. Food & wine in more than ample supply served by our friendly family member chef-tutors Marida, Roberta, and Grandpa Charlie left all feeling very pleasantly happy and full!! Afterwards, if you so choose, you could buy a gift or two from the wonderful handmade ceramics bearing the family name sold by Grandpa Charlie's local store. We all came home happily with Villa Ida pitchers and life-lasting family memories. Those pitchers will forever remind us of our amazing night with new friends! ...and as a bonus, since we bought some other treasures from Grandpa Charlie's local ceramic and inlaid wood store (& other artisanal items), they shipped our pitchers home at no additional cost from his store! I really really want to go back now and do it all again.....Simply the best, authentic, real Italian fine food and well worth the cost for all the fine food. time spent and fun!

Thank FamilyFunTimes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaIdaSorrento, Direttore at Villa Ida Cooking Lessons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

thank you so much for your beautiful words.

we try to let you feel at home enjoying cooking...

to the next time
regards villa ida family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We visited Villa Ida last week for an afternoon cookery lesson. Both Marida and Roberta were exemplary hosts along with Charlie the home made wine expert.
The course was excellent being shown how to prepare and assemble various typical Italian dishes, however apart from one person cooking the chicken escalopes there was no cooking involved even the potatoes had been pre-prepared before we started. However the result was a fantastic meal with interesting company
The mid way break for the wine and cheese tasting with Charlie was a lively experience and he was so enthusiastic about his wine and his family
Great value for money

1  Thank 131Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinha, Direttore at Villa Ida Cooking Lessons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hello,

I am happy that you enjoyed your time at Villa Ida family ! we always prepare a meal where all people can cook ...just curious , which potatoes were pre- prepared , the one for gnocchi?? they have just pre boiled then clients make dough...or potatoes side dish instead that we make with clients...picking fresh herbs from our garden.
but I am glad that you have been satisfied of the meal that all of you have made...
best regards
roberta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This was one of the best things that we did in Sorrento, and we did a lot a great things. The grounds were absolutely beautiful! It was like entering the Garden of Eden! We had snacks, coffee, and juice, and then we cooked. Everyone helped and everything was delicious! While the food cooked, we went to Carlo's wine "cave" and tried his homemade wines. We were then served the food we prepared, in the beautiful garden. After dinner, we sat by the pool, enjoying more wine. We didn't want to leave! They couldn't have been nicer and I will definitely go back. The price was very fair, considering we had a ton of food, and pretty much unlimited wine. It is a family run business and they made us feel like we were part of the family.

1  Thank DonnaNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinha, Manager at Villa Ida Cooking Lessons, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Donna,

thank you for your beautiful words...

we are so happy that you enjoyed time with our family

thank you
best regards
roberta and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The best home cooking you will have, in fact the best eating you will do including all the Michelin star restraurants. This is the type of food you come to Italy for and dream of eating; pizza like you have never eaten, zucchini flower fritters that you will love even if you don't like fried food because they are so light and flavorful. Plus ravoli that might have been the highlight of our trip. Will definitively becoming back to Italy to eat here again. Thank you Carlo, Federico and Roberta

Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinha, Manager at Villa Ida Cooking Lessons, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you very much for your beautiful words! It has been a very pleasure to host you and Mark at our house. Feel to have friends and family in Sorrento. It will be a great pleasure to have you her! Kind regards! Roberta, Federico and Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Ida Cooking Lessons also viewed

 

Been to Villa Ida Cooking Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing