We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Gilda
Nearby Hotels
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Oriana Relais(Sorrento)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$455
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$255
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,520
US$1,211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sorrento Flats(Sorrento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
4
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina grandeamalfi coastterraceshowerlocation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Casa Gilda is an air B and B set in the heart of marina grande in Sorrento. It's a two-story place with two sofa beds on the first floor and a queen bed on the top floor. We were able to cook meals in the kitchen and have breakfast on the balcony patio with an amazing view. My hubby and I were celebrating our 10th year anniversary and my parents were celebrating their 50th. We brought our seven-year-old daughter with us as well. Pro's: owners are super nice, easy to get a hold of, flexible, helpful with local tours, view is phenomenal, great base to stay from when on the Amalfi coast, easy 10 min walk to the shopping area, your neighbor has the local fruit/vegetable market, mini mart nearby, bus shuttle into the city, nearby restaurants, all the locals helpful and sweet. Cons: upstairs room has a low ceiling (mind your head), you need to fidget with the refrigerator door to open and close it, and needs a better drying rack and clothespins to dry your clothes. It's Europe so expect a small shower. But Casa Gilda was very comfy and convenient for us. Bummed I did not take pictures of the inside for you. I enjoyed our nightly sunsets and coffee on the balcony- watching the fisherman in the AM. We even saw fireworks from our balcony the last night there. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank HustleNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a week's holiday in this wonderful little house.
It is quirky and rustic, but pretty and scrupulously clean. With its location right on the quayside of Marina Grande, it would be hard to beat such a great position.
We were privileged to live alongside the locals as we watched them go about their daily life from our private rooftop terrace.
Fishermen bringing in their catch in the early mornings, and mending their nets in the afternoon alongside tourists enjoying a glass of prosecco on the quayside, was a treat to experience.
Having a lesson in Italian was fun, as I ordered some meats and cheeses at the delicatessen for lunch by one of the friendly locals in the nearby grocers shop. Then to saunter down to one of the restaurants below us for dinner and sample the fresh fish and seafood, whilst being seranaded by an accordian- just magical.
We hired a boat to tour the Amalfi coast for the day, and can't recommend it more highly. To view this stunning coastline from the sea was spectacular, and a completely different and relaxing experience to braving the coastal road. We passed incredible scenery, saw shoals of sardines en route, and watched yachts and boats mooring up on private beaches for lunch. We explored Amalfi and ended with a swim off the beach at Positano to round the day off to perfection.
The house is within a 5 minute walk of the many shops and trattoria which serve this quaint and medieval part of Sorrento With several beautiful hotels along the clifftop,we had a cocktail on the roofterrace of the hotel Regina one evening as the sun set over the bay of Naples. Vesuvius in the background; it was an unforgettable experience.
We were chilled from day one, and can't thank Guiseppe and the owners enough for their hospitality.
We hope to visit again very soon.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank melwhicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

An absolute gem. Right on the harbour side with absolutely stunning views over the Marina Grande and the Bay of Naples. Five minutes walk up to Sorrento but fabulous restaurants on the doorstep.
This is a four bedder really. A lovely room upstairs and two double sobers downstairs. Two shower rooms and a perfectly adequate kitchen. The real win is the small roof terrace . This gives views that people will pay hundreds a night for.

We loved our stay here (10 days over Easter). Sure, there are things that could be better (bedding and good drinking glasses spring to mind) but you come here for the location. What a location. Loved it.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank 310,396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location is super just above the harbor where there is always activity to mesmerize you after a long day touring. Private yachts dock just below alongside local fisherman which you can watch unload their sardines all from the window or the terrace. The house itself is small but comfortable and since we are two teenage girls plus parents, the two full bathrooms were much appreciated. The real highlight though is the rooftop terrace. It's small but contains a table for four and chairs. We at all our breakfasts up there and the dinners we stayed in for. Take-out pizza is available 3 minutes walk away for easy dinners on the terrace. All other conveniences like small grocery, fruit and vegetable stand, great local family seafood and pasta restaurant are just all just outside the door. The Sorrento town center is about a 12 minute walk up a minor grade through a pleasant residential area or, depending upon which route you take, past many little shops. Everything in the house functions well and it includes a washer and dryer which is another great bonus so that we could leave with clean clothes for our next phase of the trip. There is also air conditioning which was needed even in late June. Access to the train station and bus station or ferry docks are easy. (20 minute pleasant walk) With luggage or if you are tired, there is a convenient bus every 20 minutes just 100m from the house at the marina which brings you to the town center which is 5 minutes walk to the train/bus. There is also a small local public beach just in front of the house in the marina but the swimming is adjacent the boat dock area. We would swim in the evening just to cool off. Lounge chair rentals are available too either on the sand or out on the wooden docks beyond the boat area. Vittorio and Bruno are ideal hosts- reliable, organized, helpful, friendly, honest. Overall, it was a great find with nice amenities and local charm and convenience. The photos posted by the other guest are good and accurate so I did not bother adding. The house is the salmon pink colored wedge shaped structure perched on the side of the hill. The terrace is on the second floor and accessed through the upstairs bedroom (one big room upstairs + bathroom). Kids slept downstairs on two comfortable pullout couches (each could sleep 2).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank VermontJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We truly loved our stay at Casa Gilda!! We could not have asked for a better location - to see the sun set on the water each night with the beach below us, and the center of town just a short walk away. The location was so perfect that several people stopped by the house to inquire about renting it while we were there! It was very comfortable for all 4 of us, with two full bathrooms and generally plenty of space. Bruno could not have been more helpful. In addition to recommending restaurants and places to go (all of which were wonderful), he also took us on a private boat tour around Capri, explaining what everything was and enabling us to enjoy a perfect day on and around the island. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank ers142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews