We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless lunch in an open, airy, friendly restaurant.”
Review of Restaurante Lienzo

Restaurante Lienzo
Reserve with
Restaurante Lienzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #190 of 4,053 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$105
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Despite only booking a budget holiday to Valencia the wife and I, as big foodies, made sure to research our restaurant options thoroughly before we departed. Check out my other reviews for a bit of context, including Blanqueries, Canalla Bistro, Habitual and Birlibirloque Bar, all of whom offer a set lunch menu (menu del dia).

Lienzo is located on the outskirts of the city centre near the river garden, but equally walkable from the centre. We visited the archaeological site next to the cathedral before heading over for a 2PM lunch, then visited Palau de Cervello afterwards which is also nearby.

We opted for the 'trazor' menu which is the most affordable, but be warned it offers no choices whatsoever, but if you're happy to place yourself in the hands of the chef you do get a fabulous lunch for the money. As is the fashion in Valencia you get three starters, but unlike most of the restaurants they're served individually, ours were a cream of chicken croquette, a cold raw anchovy dish and a mini toasted beef sandwich. All were delicious, the croquette particularly, defying the laws of physics to get that much moisture retained inside the deep fried croquette!

The main course was blonde beef served on the bone with the marrow, alongside some lime infused creamed potato (a local delicacy) and that too was incredible, the lime cutting through the fattier cut of beef beautifully. Bread service and your first drink were also included but truth be told we just ordered a large bottle of mineral water as it was pretty warm out.

Dessert was a sort of deconstructed jaffa cake (I say tongue in cheek), with chocolate sponge, light chocolate mousse and dots of Valencian orange gel that showed immense skill, packed as they were with the flavour of Valencia's famous fruit that grows all around the city and whose scent is never far away.

Staff are attentive without being overly so, they'll top up your water, open doors for you, show you to the toilets rather than direct you, they also take your cutlery away after all three starter courses! The restaurant itself is bright and airy, with huge tables which makes a nice change from some modern restaurants in cities where space is at a premium. It's suitable for kids at lunchtime, definitely a casual family vibe despite the fine dining service.

Our favourite lunch of our trip and with every dish being a hit I'd happily have gone back for a late supper and eaten off the higher end menus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MattyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at Restaurante Lienzo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

DearMattylion thanks for your opinion.
Thank you for evaluating our work and effort.
Lienzo is your home, we are waiting for you.
Kind regards of all the Lienzo team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

On our only night in Valencia we were invited for dinner here by a couple of friends, who spoke a mouthful of Spanish, which made the communication with our waiters somewhat more comfortable.
The four of us chose the Lienzo menu : a discovery tour of six starters, one main dish and two desserts. All of excellent quality and splendid presentation.
A pity though that the "matching wines" option was reserved for the Chef's menu.
Anyway, our hosts selected an excellent wine, which we enjoyed very much.
Unlike in many other restaurants in Spain, the waiters left us enough time to enjoy and digest each course and didn't rush things unnecessarily.
Great company, excellent dinner, friendly and efficient service, relaxed atmosphere : the perfect evening !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at Restaurante Lienzo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Patrick G thank you so much for your opinion.
An honor to know that I lived up to your expectations.
A cordial greeting from the entire team Lienzo Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Don't get it, what some previous reviewers say - "snooty service" - "difficult to find" - nonsense! Not even worth responding to. Both the maitre d and our waitress Barbara were welcoming and smiling and humorous from the very first moment we arrived for lunch - my partner even shook hands with the chef just before we left. What's not to like? Exquisite, creative, delicious food at an incredibly bargain price - €20 for 3 starters, a main and a dessert. The setting is minimal and well-conceived - white walls, sections of exposed brick, splashes of spray-painted/splattered coloured canvases - the theme of painting reflected in the artist's palette plates that greet you on arrival. It was a joy. Next time in Valencia we'll definitely be there for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at Restaurante Lienzo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you so much for your opinion.
We love getting feedback from our best customers.
We wait on Lienzo gastrotapas
A cordial greeting
Mostrar menos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

First things first. This restaurant is a little confusing to find so allow enough time to get there. That said the food was excellent and beautifully presented. However our waitress was extremely snooty and unfriendly to the point of making us very uncomfortable. Hence the 4 not 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B3atrice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at Restaurante Lienzo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Querida Beatriz.
Muchas gracias por su valoración.
Lamentamos el malentendido, nuestra compañera de sala les pide sus más sinceras disculpas. En ningún momento fue su intención. Es una persona muy profesional y cordial.
Esperamos volver a verles, Lienzo es su casa.
Un cordial saludo de todo el equipo de Lienzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had the tasting menu,the waitress spoke perfect english and was able to guide us through the menu and ensured my husband was not served vinegar/pickles (which he loathes ). The starters were amazing especially the cuttle fish presented under a lace of dried squid ink. The main courses were lovely but the desert was a let down. Even the worst of cooks can serve up meringue, cream and red fruits. It was a shame to end on such a low note and hence the 4 and not 5 stars. Price's were good with not the cheapest wine/coffee etc came to €100 for two but we had booked on line and got 20% discount on a saturday night - so a bargain.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erku-newforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at Restaurante Lienzo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Erku.
We were very happy that you enjoyed the experience in Lienzo.
We apologize if for your taste the dessert was not up to par.
Regarding wine they drank "Pinot noir Enrique Mendoza for 23 €" we have costs and we sell the products with the margin corresponding to them.
Regarding the dessert we try to change our dessert every week and sometimes we like to give something classic but performed technically perfectly.
You taste pavlova, there is no mystery but in the kitchen made the best cream possible, accompanied by the best possible meringue, with a homemade red fruit jam and red berries. If it did not seem right, I apologize. If you did not like it, you should simply tell your waiters and change the dessert at that time.
If you return to Valencia we will be happy to welcome you at Lienzo and be able to give you to try other desserts.
Kind regards from the whole team Lienzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Lienzo also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Restaurante Lienzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing