We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
1,389
179
37
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,389
179
37
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street small hotel elegant hotel within walking distance rooms are large a wonderful stay side street visiting madrid spain concierge salamanca linens metro calle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2020

We stayed at the Orfila back in March, a few days before the COVID19 outbreak. We booked what was supposed to be a "superior" room, but honestly this accommodation did not meet our expectations whatsoever: you can get much nicer rooms for a lower price in the surrounding hotels (we visited a few after our first night cause it was our intention to move to another hotel, but ending up staying at the Orfila as we only stayed 3 nights)
Although the size of the room is ok for european standards, it was lacking in personality. Further to this, the matress seemed old and it was quite uncomfortable (it did a number on my wife's body...)
Breakfast was overpriced, offering an average quality, too simple for a 5* property.
Staff was nice (people are nice all over Spain, no need to stay in a 300€/night hotel!)
If you appreciate your money, look up for a different property to stay in.

Room tip: Superior rooms are NOT superior (at least not for american travellers' standards)
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020

Perfect quiet location. Very clean. Professional staff but yet very personable and warm. As someone else said it, “An Island of Serenity and Civility”. Everything was within walking distance for us although some places, such as royal palace, are bit away. Consult hotel’s website for detailed distance. We are looking forward to visit again.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTMSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2020

Top hotel in a perfect location!!
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are also great, and the staff is very professional. I recommend the breakfast which is very high quality product served in the exquisite restaurant. Do not doubt to stay here!!

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank SaraTyson49200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verónica García, Dueño at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Dear Sara,

Thank you for your such a positive comment about your recent stay at Relais & Chateaux Orfila Hotel!

We're so glad that we managed to meet your expectations in so many levels, also it's great to read about our breakfast.

We do really appreciate your positive observation about our professional staff, customer care is very important to us and we're glad to know that we did our best to make you feel like at home.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Verónica García.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Our Superior Double room was the smallest Orfila offered but it was one of the largest we have had in Europe. Plenty of room for our infant crib and (too much) luggage. Well-decorated (traditional style), very clean and comfortable furnishings. The most impressive part was the service (Christopher in particular). Orfila set up a fantastic babysitter for us each night and assisted with reservations. Orfila is a great location as it is between the tourist areas (~20 minute walk or an easy Metro ride) and Salamanca (~5 minutes, where the best shopping/restaurants are).

Room tip: Superior Double was one of the largest we have had outside of the United States. Plenty of room for our infant crib.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verónica García, Dueño at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear Luke,

Thank you indeed for relaying your most positive feedback of your recent stay at Realais & Châteaux Orfila Hotel. It was likewise a pleasure for us to have ensured for your best care and attention throughout your stay with us.

We are very happy to receive your positive comments, customer care is among our highest priorities and your feedback is immensely valued, it allows us to constantly monitor and measure the level of service and standards at the hotel. As you stated, our team does make a personal difference by consistently providing genuine care and exceptional service in order to ensure every guest a memorable stay and experience.

From all of us at the Orfila Hotel, we thank you for your wonderful review and hope to host you again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Hotel Orfila is a former mansion in a residential section of Madrid, close to transportation and attractions. The rooms are exceptional, the staff is friendly, helpful and professional and the facilities perfect. Truly, a highlight of our trip!

Room tip: Our room came with a complimentary bottle of sherry and glasses - a nice touch!
Date of stay: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mobile32955178082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verónica García, Dueño at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to share your great feedback. It´s very nice to read about our location and facilities.

Knowing that our guests enjoy their stays is most rewarding and it is always a great source of motivation for us to keep doing our best and constantly make further improvement.

We all hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us soon.

Kind Regards,
Verónica García.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews