We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great swevice”

Restaurante Botania
Ranked #3,352 of 12,982 Restaurants in Madrid
Neighbourhood: Centro
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Centro
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Our meal was really good. The service was great, our kids were misbehaving and the staff were really patient as well as empathetic.
We had mushroom & truffle risotto, grilled vegetables with romanesco sauce and chicken Milanese all of it was soooo good. Kids enjoyed it too. Definitely enough for the 4 of us to share.
Lovely ambiance and reasonably priced. We would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nicethings_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

As all the restaurants of the group, the restaurant is very nice, and the location is perfect if you’re in the city centre.
The menu has enough options and the portions are big (I had 2 starters and it was perfect for my lunch).
3 starters (croquetas surtidas, alcachofas and tartar de salmón), a main course (milanesa de pollo, enormous but not very good), dessert (tarta de queso, spectacular), 2 glasses of Ribera (red wine).... 70€
As I said, a bit overpriced, but.... service, location and decoration are perfect for lunch if you’re in the surroundings of Plaza España.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lou770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is at the entrance to the VP Plaza España Design hotel, the decoration is well done, a greenery and wood combination, and the food was good. This restaurant is part of the Pedro Larrumbe group.

We shared ham croquettes and russian salad as a first course and ordered fillet steak, risotto, steak tartar and artichoke dishes as seconds, everthing was very tasty.

What we did think was expensive was the wine, we chose what was probably the cheapest at €20/bottle for Luis Cañas, well known in Spain and good but other wines were a lot more expensive, so although the food has a good price/quality ratio, drinks could mean a quite expensive meal if you are not careful.

We enjoyed the experience and the waiting staff were efficient and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank patriciaprimavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

On the plus side, the decor is impressive, consisting (as the name implies) of lots of greenery on the ceiling, attractive tables and comfortable seating... Service is pleasant and unobtrusive, and a jug of water is provided without asking- a nice touch. The desserts were good. Some good quality bread was provided, unasked, but- here come the negatives- we were charged €2.50 a head- an annoying trick of restaurants to bump up the price... €10 for a few pieces of bread is silly and unnecessary. The beef fillet was good (if by no means cheap) and the croquettes were fine, but both the ensaladilla rusa and the chaufa de pollo were exceptionally salty (I know that chaufa is made with soy sauce, but even then...) , and my wife's opinion of the chicken tagine was the same as other people's here- dry and tasteless and nothing like a Maghrebi tagine. There are hundreds of restaurants in Madrid which are not so pretty, but have better food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JIROGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Went with my parents. The decoration is the highlight! The space is comfortable, bright and the atmosphere is nice.
Only downside would be, they don’t provide a tablecloth (not even a paper) - which makes it quite uncomfortable as plates dance on the table.

Service was very good! Nice and very efficient.

Food was ok.

We tried the aubergines in tempura - quite tasty however the tempura a bit too thick.
Ensaladilla was ok.

I had the risotto, it was quite delicious and tasty. Interestingly, it had a poached egg - which made it quite creamy.

However, my mum got the chicken tajine and it was quite a disaster, very very dry not quite what you expect from a tajine! Tajines are usually full of flavour and with quite a bit of sauce! That was very disappointing.

We had the bday cake to share- quite expensive for what it is and, in addition, wayyy too rich..

Bread charge is quite expensive for the amount and quality.

In addition, they do not show the cost of soft drinks or the options! They just have a wine menu.

To sum up, a modern restaurant that needs to improve the food a bit

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bulimba_od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Botania also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Botania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing