We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Hotels.com
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
FindHotel
US$118
US$76
View deal
SAVE US$42
ExpediaUS$80
Trip.comUS$118
Agoda.comUS$81
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
763
147
42
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
763
147
42
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gay hotel rooftop pool straight couples friendly hotel amazing room fantastic stay walking distance cool hotel amazing hotel an upgrade premium room the location is perfect visiting madrid plaza mayor metro station puerta del sol gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2021

We had a great stay at Axel Hotel Madrid.

First of all, the location of the perfect. The hotel is located in the center of Madrid in a very cozy street with a lot of nice bars, restaurants and shops. The building is very beautiful and the interior is looking very trendy but authentic at the same time. The staff is amazing and especially Ruben was helping us great. Nothing is too much for him and he gave us great recommendations for any nice restaurants to have dinner and things we can do in Madrid. Whenever we needed something they were there to help us.

Besides that, the price quality of the hotel is very good. The rooftop is very beautiful with a very nice view over city. We had a great stay and we will definitely come back in the summer.

Thank you very much again Ruben and the other great staff members.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to couples, friends, business people and even families.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 979reneea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saúl Canal García, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Dear 979reneea,

First of all, let me than you for having chosen our property for your stay in Madrid.

It is always a pleasure, the more taking in account the circumstances, to read reviews like yours that gives us the strength to work even harder.

I am so glad to read you have had a great stay and that our staff, specially Rubén, took great care of you.

I am so looking forward to welcome you back again this summer,

Thanks a million,

Kind Regards,

Saul Canal
General Manager
AXEL HOTEL MADRID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

The hotel design is special, the rooms modern design with neon lights and big showers. All clean and perfect.

The service was very friendly and very attentive. Due to Covid the breakfast is served in the room upon prior order in the night before.

Hotel is quite centrally located at walking distance from Atocha train station and Puerta del Square

The roof top pool was heated but it was a rainy day. The gym is small but nice.

Very nice and friendly hotel unfortunately due to Covid the bar and restaurant were closed. Next time!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank el_toro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saúl Canal García, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear el_toro2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a good review and for having chosen Axel Hotel Madrid for your stay in Madrid.

I am so glad to read the service met your expectations and that you did enjoyed our location.

Due to the Covid our breakfast is now a la carte, and is being served in the room for security reasons.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Saul Canal
General Manager
AXEL HOTEL MADRID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We have really enjoyed our stay at this very nice hotel. The level of professionalism and standard is much better than most hotels we’ve stayed in Spain. The staff are polite, facilities are top-notch.

Cleanliness is also very good - making you feel safe and secure in times that are trying.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 830sverrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saúl Canal García, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Dear 830sverrem,

Thank you very much for your kind and great feedback.

We are delighted to read that the service was Top Notch and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Axel hotels is now more secured than ever to re assure the well being of our guests and staff.

We cannot wait for you to come back and visit us again very soon,

Warmest Regards,

Saul Canal
General Manager
AXEL HOTEL MADRID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

What a great place to stay ! Staff was amazing and made us feel so welcome! They even upgraded us to a better room, thank you very much ! The room was great, everything new and very cool decorated. Location is superb you have everything on your doorstep, restaurants, bars, shops and sights, no taxi or metro needed when staying her. The roof top pool is fabulous, great place to soak up the sun on hot Madrid days ! Spectacular view also ! I would definitively stay again when back in Madrid! Thank you for a great stay !

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susannekatrineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saúl Canal García, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Dear susannekatrineb,,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities and that everything has lived up to expectations.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Best regards,

Saul Canal
General Manager
AXEL HOTEL MADRID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel, because it was a great value and location. I can imagine, the rooms are not everyone's taste, but the rooms are clean and spacious. Well maintained. Beds although had their best time.
The pool itself is tiny and the rooftop rather busy.
Although this is a gay hotel, lot of straight couples around, so everyone is welcome!
We spend like 60€ a night so it was a no brainer.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mirooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saúl Canal García, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Dear Mirooke,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We are pleased you have had a great stay, and that our staff took excellent care of you.

Indeed, we are a space of diversity where everybody is welcome ,

Thank you very much

Kind Regards

Saul Canal
General Manager
AXEL HOTEL MADRID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews