We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
757
139
31
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
139
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill beautiful hotel minute drive sitting room a lovely stay hotel restaurant beautiful room old town breakfast buffet visit santiago stayed nights camino walk taxi galicia jets regis cafe
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel used to be a paper mill and is surrounded by beautiful river. There are parts of the river flowing through the hotel which gives the hotel a different perspective. The bar is excellent with good choice of wines and gins.
The spa service in the hotel helps you relax after a long day and has a good hydro pool.

The decor of the hotel really blends with the old building until you look at the ceiling.
Overall a good relaxing stay. Just to mention, it is not very close to cathedral.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank ROAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLorenzoGarcia, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear ROAIL,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Santiago de Compostela.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed very much your experience at our hotel, however, as our main goal is the full satisfaction of all our guests, we take note of all the mentioned aspects to keep working daily on them.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The building is adorable with lovely lounge areas and patios. There is also a beautiful garden with a small stream.
The room is very pretty and clean.
The restaurant is very good served and the food is delicious
The problem is that they don't respect the details they would have to do if they want to be a premium hotel:
They have not "turn-down service"
The towels are old and worn out
The candles and lanterns in the patios, which would have given a nice atmosphere, were a maintained turn off all nights
Some places have artificial grass
They don't add any kind of little detail to make the difference
It is a pity because for just a small effort the hotel could be fantastic

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank umpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLorenzoGarcia, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear umpo,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Santiago de Compostela.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed very much your experience at our hotel, however, as our main goal is the full satisfaction of all our guests, we take note of all the mentioned aspects to keep working daily on them.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This is a fantastic hotel outside the hustle and bustle of the touristy Santiago city centre. Nevertheless, it is technically possible to walk there (although it is an uphill struggle, literally, and not very pleasant) and only a 5 minute drive away. The ambience is one of a traditional country hotel and this helps make the stay very nice. The Spa area is very nice, and certainly worth a try if one is staying there. The pool is adequate for laps, and there are also several water massage contraptions (for lack of a better label) in the pool. The Sauna is nice and so is the Turkish bath, although the latter could be hotter. The rooms are nice, and although not particularly spacious, they are definitely adequate. The decor is also nice. The breakfast is also very good, although the selection is not very broad. However, the level of the food is very high. The gardens around the hotel are also very beautiful, and worth a visit in themselves. The major problem is the WiFi, which is very weak, and in fact almost nonexistent! If this was fixed, this would be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, as it became a severe hindrance during my stay. Nevertheless, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is quite brilliant!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Camillo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLorenzoGarcia, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Camillo P,

First of all, we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at

the Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux a Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This hotel is just wonderful. Very charming, cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Beautiful bar - both indoors and outdoors. Breakfast was delicious. Service is very good. If you arrive by car - the hotel has parking in a nice garage. Hotel is located perhaps 5-10 minutes from the cathedral and city centre.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dagfinn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLorenzoGarcia, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Dagfinn B,

First of all, we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at

the Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux a Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We stayed as a family with a small child in this lovely hotel for a long weekend.
I cannot praise it enough. The rooms were pristine, very quiet and charming, with very good equipment and superbly comfortable beds. The decor was utterly luxurious and extremely welcoming. The restaurant is just to die for. The spa is spacious and extremely professionally run.
But what makes this place special and what makes it stand out is the quality of the people. From the reception staff to the last waiter, you will not find more charming or helpful people in the world. Having traveled all over the world, I can appreciate when I find true 5-star service, and this hotel really comes on top without a doubt. The team at Quinta da Auga will make you feel like part of the family. They treated our child not as a nuisance but as their own child, and they made us feel so utterly welcome we almost felt like staying for longer.
It is a bit outside town, but a 5 minute taxi drive away. And Santiago can be rather busy with the pilgrim/tourist traffic in the summer, so being a bit apart is a big plus.
Do come and stay here. You will not regret it. A small bit of paradise awaits you.

Room tip: During weekends there can be weddings at the hotel. Best to enquire for a room oriented towards the river for complete quietness.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLorenzoGarcia, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Spanishwanderer,

First of all, we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at

the Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux a Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews