We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
Booking.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
13
31
19
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
31
19
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Hostal Acanto is a comfortable place to stay with excellent service. The rooms are clean and well kept. The front desk is handled by courteous people. The breakfast is quite good, going beyond the typical Spanish coffee-bread breakfast. Parking on the street in front of the hotel is free and available more often than not. To get to the historical part of the city, one just jumps on the red GAMONAL bus and you are whisked to within a few blocks from the Puerta de Santa Maria and the splendid Gothic Cathedral.

Room tip: I have yet to stay--after several years of staying there--in a room that was not a good room.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hispanophile46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We have stayed at The Acanto a number of times when touring Spain by motorcycle. It offers clean, basic facilities and is ideal for a one night stay. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless and the hotel stayed open for us until after midnight as we were running late from Santander. It is not in the town centre and you should carefully check how to find it. There is secure underground parking, wifi and an adequate buffet breakfast. We will stay there again when in the Burgos area.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Arrived during siesta but there was no problem providing us with a key to our room for check in later so that we could drop our things before going into the city. No English spoken but we managed with our Spanglish. Took the no.1 Gamonal bus from the stop on Calle Vitoria and got off at the last stop right by the statue to El Cid in the centre (€1 each). Had a modern twin en suite room that was spotless with tv and free wifi. Could just do with replacing the towels and sheets that are very worn and thin. Other residents were quiet and vehicle noise was minimal even though we were overlooking a very busy crossroads. The hostal is well set back with a small childrens park outside. Breakfast was simple cornflakes, toast, croissants, orange juice and tea/ coffee - plenty of it but basic and do it yourself. Found a parking spot on the road so didn't use the secure parking. Excellent stay for the price.

Room tip: Had room 203 overlooking the front. Bathroom could be a little tight if you are a larger size otherwise twin room spacious enough for 2.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 482loua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We stayed here as a stopover from Santiago on our way back to Bordeaux by train so proximity to the station was our main criteria. It's a couple of kilometres or a half hour walk for recovering pilgrims.

The hostal is a great motel style accommodation, clean, with very efficient and friendly staff and great value for money. Wish that TripAdviser had half star ratings as this hostal is worth a higher rating. The lady on reception only spoke Spanish but hey, when in Spain, and after 44 days on the Camino, is wasn't a hardship.

Our room was lovely, more than adequate in size with comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom as well. Noise wasn't an issue at all and we were here on a Saturday night.

We were going to eat nearby but the bus is really handy and we ended up in the city centre in the middle of a fiesta. Wonderful stop for our last night in Spain - Thank You!

3.5 stars

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wokabaut_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at The Acanto about five times over the past eight years when touring Northern Spain. It is an extremely clean, efficient and great value hotel. It is an ideal stopover hotel and I will come again. The facilities are good, the wifi works, the secure underground parking is easy and the typical Spanish breakfast is good enough..... don't come to Spain for The Full English Brekky!! This time the Receptionist did not speak any English at all, but that just makes a little challenge and I should learn more Spanish... dos cevesa is not enough!

Room tip: Go into the centre for the evening on the bus marked Gamonal.. about 1 euro and five minutes ride. Great Paseo there in the evenings.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews