We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
Booking.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
13
31
19
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
31
19
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We stayed here as a stopover from Santiago on our way back to Bordeaux by train so proximity to the station was our main criteria. It's a couple of kilometres or a half hour walk for recovering pilgrims.

The hostal is a great motel style accommodation, clean, with very efficient and friendly staff and great value for money. Wish that TripAdviser had half star ratings as this hostal is worth a higher rating. The lady on reception only spoke Spanish but hey, when in Spain, and after 44 days on the Camino, is wasn't a hardship.

Our room was lovely, more than adequate in size with comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom as well. Noise wasn't an issue at all and we were here on a Saturday night.

We were going to eat nearby but the bus is really handy and we ended up in the city centre in the middle of a fiesta. Wonderful stop for our last night in Spain - Thank You!

3.5 stars

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wokabaut_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at The Acanto about five times over the past eight years when touring Northern Spain. It is an extremely clean, efficient and great value hotel. It is an ideal stopover hotel and I will come again. The facilities are good, the wifi works, the secure underground parking is easy and the typical Spanish breakfast is good enough..... don't come to Spain for The Full English Brekky!! This time the Receptionist did not speak any English at all, but that just makes a little challenge and I should learn more Spanish... dos cevesa is not enough!

Room tip: Go into the centre for the evening on the bus marked Gamonal.. about 1 euro and five minutes ride. Great Paseo there in the evenings.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This Hostal was situated in a busy part of Burgos. We were stopping one night whilst driving back to the UK. The girl on reception was very helpful and we were pleased with our choice. Room fine. Cost Euro60.00 including secure parking and breakfast. At 1.30am lots of noise, doors banging, laughter and chattering. This went on for 3 hours until we finally got to sleep again at 4.30am. Totally ruined our stay. It turned out to be a group of about 10 young Spanish who had been out for the night. Treated it like a student residence rather than hotel. Totally inconsiderate. Some other Spanish were complaining to the member of staff and we agreed with them. Would have said more but our spanish isn't good enough to complain properly!! Perhaps we were unlucky as it was a Saturday. Will stick to rural B&B's in future!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandstoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed here for one night during our tour of spain and this was without doubt the best value hotel we stayed in.

It is not your historic atmospheric hotel - but is is also not the price of your historic parador, what this hotel is, is very good, very clean very spacious modern accomodation, in a good location - the bus is very close, very cheap and very regular . You get on and get off when it get s to end of line and ther is El CID.

The secure parking is a real bonus.

I will be staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Debs4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2006

The title of my review is a bit tongue in cheek as it took us over an hour to find the Hostal Acanto. The irony was that, although we had sat nav in our car, I didn't make a note of the number of the hotel in Calle Victoria, which turned out to be the main street running through Burgos, and at least a couple of miles long. We first turned right into it, in the town centre, then realised our mistake, turned left and drove right past the hotel, which is quite difficult to spot, but after we ended up in open country we realised our mistake!

Anyway, when we eventually found it, and parked in the underground garage which is around the back, we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. In my opinion, the decor was 4 to 5 star, though it didn't have the little extras, toiletries etc you normally associate with this standard. Also, I was under the impression there was air conditioning, though we couldn't find any controls and it was a little on the warm side. If you are intending to stay in the summer, I would certainly check this out. Also, let them know in advance if you require parking as the hotel has limited spaces.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast perfectly adequate. I would certainly recommend it for an overnight stay - we were travelling from Santander to Malaga.

The hotel is some way from the centre, but as others have mentioned, there is a regular bus service. We felt like stretching our legs as it was a fine evening, and it took us 35 minutes to walk to the Plaza Mayor. The centre of Burgos is enchanting - I loved the avenue of pollarded trees. Don't miss the statue of El Cid and the beautiful cathredral. There were loads of restaurants to choose from, many of them offering regional dishes.

Date of stay: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbarella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews