We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Official Site
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
306
498
177
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
498
177
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small garden ground floor lovely hotel expensive parking town centre rooms are large coffee machine per day stayed one night nice bathroom gym jesus car city spain cathedral tennis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay here. It was a mixed experience not quite what we would expect for a 4 star hotel in some areas. The room was a good size to accommodate a child’s bed, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was OK but the shower lacked thermostatic controls, running hot and cold depending on time of day (and # of guests). Breakfast was a big disappointment partly because of government hygiene controls (everything wrapped in plastic) and less fresh food and drink. Croissants were soggy and there was no fresh juices, only bottles of preservatives. Lack of buffet meant the staff were busy refilling plastic wrapped plates, clearing and cleaning tables as well as guiding diners and refilling machines…just too much for only 2 staff, though they continued cheerfully. We used the pool one evening. While the water was a little cloudy it was clean unlike some previous reviews. Laundry service was five star, same day return though a little pricey. Outside parking for 10€ a day was a bit on the high side. The room was very good value at 100€ but breakfast did not match the 42€ for the three of us for each day. The combination was average. All said and done, we’d stay again but think a bit about the extras.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stevejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Dear Steve,
Thank you for the detailed review of your stay.

We are pleased that you appreciated your spacious room and that overall you had an enjoyable visit. We do however regret that breakfast was not entirely to your liking; please rest assured that your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve the variety of our breakfast offer. We are sorry that you did not let us know while you were with us about the issue with your shower as we would have found a solution for this. We always appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain and where necessary, improve our guests' experience.

We would love to have you return in the future.
Best regards,

Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021

We stayed here on 2 occasions when we traveled from Santander to Malaga and for the return trip. We booked a room with a garden which is perfect for our dog, it was private and peaceful. The hotel is only a short walk to the cathedral and the square which has plenty of bars and restaurants all of which are dog friendly.
We also had our PCR test done in Burgos , there is only one place that does not need an appointment, so my advice is pre book.

Room tip: Book a garden room if you are travelling with a dog.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Neil,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at our hotel.

Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible; your positive review inspires us to continue with our efforts. As you mention we are happy to also welcome the four-legged members of your family.

We hope that you will stay with us again many more times in the future.
Best wishes,

Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Pool, spa, bar and restaurant closed due to COVID. Breakfast was available. However... the town centre is only 3 minutes walk away where you can find everything you need. Burgos centre is great to explore and there are plenty of really good tapas bars and restaurants. The staff at the hotel are so welcoming and friendly and the rooms are large and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel even without its facilities being open. The staff are fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank foodie705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that our hotel met your expectations and that you were pleased with our central location. Your compliment to our team who strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves and endeavour to give all our guests a memorable experience is greatly appreciated.

We hope that you will return on another occasion.
Best regards,

Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

This was a lovely hotel which we booked as a treat whilst walking the Camino de Santiago. We were just dissappointed the facilities such as the pool were closed due to Covid, also there were not hot breakfasts due to Covid.

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank cocoloco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your experience with us.

We understand your disappointment and can assure you that as soon as we rea permitted we will be reopening all areas of our hotel and returning to our previous breakfast offer. We hope you will return to make use of these facilities in the future.

Best regards,

Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night on our trip back to Sweden from Nerja, Spain. This was in corona-times so the restaurant was closed but they offered free coffe/tea and water. Unfortunatly everything else at the hotel was closed, too, because of that corona-virus and demands from the government in Spain. But the hotelroom was perfect! A big room on the groundfloor with own access to a small garden. The staff were also very kind and helpful. Perfect areas outside the hotel for the dogs, even though we just could take a short stroll due to regulations in this pandemi.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 545tintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is rewarding to know that you were so pleased with your quality room and our team's service. These are challenging times for us all, and we regret that the closure of certain spaces in our hotel was mandatory. However, the health and safety of our guests remains our main priority and we appreciate your understanding.

We hope to welcome you back for the full Abba Burgos experience in the future!
Best wishes,

Alvaro Gredilla, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews