We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,656)
Filter reviews
4,656 results
Traveller rating
1,775
1,736
761
233
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,775
1,736
761
233
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self service soft drinks plenty of choice bar staff main restaurant pool bar plenty of sunbeds train station on tap costa del sol evening meal lovely hotel entertainment room great holiday all inclusive hotel across the road dining room
Filter
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 4,656 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Congratulations and thank you to the management and staff for making our holiday so enjoyable. Staff very smart, polite, efficient and helpful. Very clean hotel in a good location on the promenade. You can walk for miles on the flat prom. Good access to all areas for disabled people. Choice of food excellent especially the sea food. Music in the pool bar very quiet, perfect.

Room Tip: Good access to all areas
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Stayed here last week and overall had a nice time. Staff were great and very helpful, food was fantastic in a lovely dining room. We had a room which faced the sea which was great but, as others have said, the bedrooms are ready for refurbishing. However, they were kept very nice and clean. The walls were a bit thin though.

The only criticism was that when we went on a trip to Seville, we were given a packed lunch of 3 pieces of fruit and a bottle of water and told we could take some bread if we wanted, which one me, for an all inclusive, wasn't really adequate.

Never the less, I enjoyed my stay on the whole.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here fr 18-25 Oct'16. After reading reviews i was expecting a run down look of hotel, we were v pleasantly surprised as we thought the hotel was lovely. Our room was v clean, and on arrival we were given a room without a pool view, i had requested a pool view, the receptionist was v accommodating and gave us another room. The food was really good, not the hotel's fault if u go away hungry. Anyone complaining ab this hotel is just very hard to please. I would recommend staying here to anyone

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

First things first, the positives. Check in great, 2 hours early but our room was ready. Glass of bubbly on arrival from very cheerful and professional reception staff. Choice and quality of food very good, restaurant manager and staff very, very professional and friendly. Bar staff the same, fast service as well. Riu's reputation for customer service shines through here, and the staff are a credit to the hotel. Has as been stated in other reviews, the hotel is closing for six months for a refurb, and the room are tired, the hotel and ground are fine. I think its unforgivable in this day and age, that you have to pay for wifi, and that it is only available in reception area. Will definitely revisit once hotel reopens and would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We came off the spirit of Iberia we had a 7 day cruise that was magic i cant praise it enough ,But the hotel stay was such a disappointment for a start we waited 3 hours for our room not a great start we only there for a 4 night stay!!! The room was comfortable yet again no kettle in the room and i couldn't hire 1 either it did have a small fridge that didn't keep drinks cold but not warm either ,Its the only hotel that i have stayed in on holiday that everything closed by 12.30pm everything off bar closed lights out bed time !!!! The food was ok nothing to write home about it was more catered for the German and French guests everything oily but it was ok salad was good lol The beach was lovely 3 euros for a sunbed the thing is the pound is rubbish against the euro not the spanish fault the prices havent changed just the strength of the euro 1 euro = 1 uk pound a few pence extra not much tho example is mouth wash from pound land or pound shop in uk is a pound we all know that the same mouthwash in spain is 9.50 for the daft ones 9 pound 50 pence uk sterling normal can of coke uk between 50p and a pound [ my pound sign buggered ] 3 euros in spain 3 times the amount so just be aware back to the hotel it wasnt all bad it was my birthday while there and they gave me a bottle of champagne the good stuff , The major thing for me i came off a cruise where the staff couldn't do enough for you and smiled all day to a hotel where the staff turned the other way and scowled at you a smile costs nothing and go,s a long way

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet by 12.30 pm
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been appropriately fulfilled at some point.

We do hope you will understand that it is difficult for us to comment on individual tastes or opinions, when the majority of customers do appear to be satisfied with the overall quality of the food offered.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best we remain,
Riu Costa Lago
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews