We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,550)
Filter reviews
1,550 results
Traveller rating
616
620
222
67
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
620
222
67
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room frankies bar garden view frank sinatra med playa thomson rep gala night dining room junior suites reception staff long trousers show cooking benalmadena marina evening meal sea front tea and coffee making facilities restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,550 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fab holiday at this hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. From the moment we booked in we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Medplaya hotel pez espada. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a lovely view of the beach and also the pool and garden. The buffet breakfast and evening meals were lovely with plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room tip: Any rooms on the sunset side offer good views of beach and gardens.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hpole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestMed, Community Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hpole5

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Pez Espada for your recent holiday in Costa del Sol, and for taking the time to share your impressions of this emblematic hotel. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel, service, standards and room met with your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Pez Espada next time you holiday in Torremolinos

Kind regards

Daniel
Loyalty & Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from staying at the pez espada room very clean and comfortable as we where in a club room good sea views excellent location it just a shame staff seem unhappy never smiling or say hello food was excellent however what let’s it down is that it was never hot always Luke warm our first night we went down to the dining room found a table for five as there was four of us there was nobody there we where then approached by a young surly waiter who told us we could not sit there this is for big families my husband pointed out there was over 70 percent of couples sitting at a table with four places he told us to wait he would locate us a table we stood there like fools with now a very large crowd waiting to go in we waited fir 25 mins my husband went to reception to speak to someone in authority in the meantime they got us a table the other table remained empty I told manager this was not acceptable he apologised said it wouldn’t happen again and offered us a free bottle of wine please note every night at approximately 19.40 this problem arises they need to extend dining facilities we won’t return again

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tykee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestMed, Community Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear tykee8

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. As our Manager did, we apologize again for the issue you experienced that day in our restaurant. We wil do our best in order to ensure this situation don´t happen again.

Thanks for choosing us,

Kind regards

Daniel
Community Manager MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from the pez espada
the rooms were very comfy and always clean what lets this hotel down is the food its always cold and the queues for evening meals are ridicules they cant cope with amount of guests never a smile from waiters they are very surley i wont return

Room tip: room 0126 good pool view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestMed, Community Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shirley H

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us at the popular Hotel Pez Espada. We are very sorry indeed to read that you were disappointed with various aspects of our hotel and service, and that we were unable to resolve this to your satisfaction during your holiday. We sincerely hope that in spite of your disappointment you enjoyed your stay overall in the popular resort of Torremolinos

Kind regards

Daniel
Community Manager MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First, we are in our mid 60’s so our tastes might be different to some..we did appreciate the sea views from our room and sunrises each morning

But we enjoyed our stay at the Pez Espada, reception staff( all male) at the hotel were a bit sullen when we arrived mid morning but the staff who worked in the dining room, bar, entertainment and tidied the room for us almost always smiled and greeted you as you walked past them

Food was fine for us, yes a little repetitive on occasion but nothing we would really complain about

Entertainment each evening was geared to older people, but as we probably fit into that category it was alright for us

It not a party hotel by any means..but it was clean and tidy and well cared for

Location was excellent, direct access to the promenade via the garden, a short walk to Benalmadena marina, rather longer to Torremolinos, but the promenade is nice to have a wander along and the old part of Torremolinos is even closer, and still retains some atmosphere with bars and restaurants

Go out the main entrance and a couple of hundred metres up the slope and there is the main coastal road with regular buses going both ways, left towards Fuengirola and right towards Malaga

Finally the package wasn’t particularly expensive, take out the flight and transfer costs and the hotel was good value for money

Would we go again...definately

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Theatrebuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestMed, Community Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Theatrebuffs

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Pez Espada in Torremolinos. Its great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of this popular hotel, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Daniel
Community Manager MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

New suites excellent like the hot tubs on balcony very clean lovely gardens to sunbathe in, could me more choice of foods in dinning room, staff don't seem very friendly or sociable some seem it's a effort to smile

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank alanbeatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Community Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear alanbeatson

Thanks for staying at MedPlaya Pez Espada. We are delighted to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations.

Kind regards

Daniel
Community Manager MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews