We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,214)
Filter reviews
4,214 results
Traveller rating
1,333
1,560
852
272
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
1,560
852
272
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool kids club family room the lion king half board mamma mia across the road family holiday great family hotel sea view large hotel smaller pool reception staff something for everyone evening entertainment dining room main pool
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 4,214 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We went end of April and weather was hitting 22 at most but was lovely pool was very cold but looked amazing and a different time would have been great ,we were bb breakfast was great almost to much choose I eat something different every day ,we made sandwiches up at breakfast and took with us for lunch ,we ate out every nite not a lot going on outside by hotel but some lovy bars we went a walk into town and it was fab bars shops the lot just wear comfy shoes there ate apt of up hill beach was great and lovely to chill on most bars are on sea front so it's nice to have a drink while looking out to the sea ,we would definitely go back but maybe all inclusive and a bit later in year.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank 333333jl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, GEX at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share with us your experience at Sol Príncipe.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our service lived up all your expectations, and you could enjoy of our great locations and plenty varied breakfast buffet.

All the staff of Sol Principe is awaiting to give you the warmest welcome to our Hotel again.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a business/pleasure trip. Overall the accommodations and food were fine.
However, we arrived very early in the morning and had to wait quite a few hours (exhausted from the trip from US) to check in. The lobby was very comfy though, so we rested easy there.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, GEX at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Christy,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to let us know about your experience at Sol Príncipe. We are delighted to read that our great location and restaurant service met all your expectations.

We are also pleased to know that you could enjoy a well deserved rest in our room and lobby.

We really appreciate your nice comment and hope to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 20 years ago and it has changed quite a bit since then. A welcome change is the large freeform pool at the back of the hotel. We stayed for 1 week and had a good relaxing stay. The food is average but I have to say that I didn't eat the same meal twice at evening time and found the staff courteous enough but you'll always find 1 or 2 that buck the trend.

You can't beat the location in my mind though,through the front gate,cross the road and you have a beautiful stretch of beach which my wife and I walked every day after lunch and had a few dips in the ocean along the way. Plenty of shops,bars and restaurants are dotted along the main street which leads to the main centre. All in all a great holiday was had and we would definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alanfleming01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, GEX at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear alanfleming01,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Sol Príncipe and had a good relaxing stay again!

The opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor is one of the most powerful tool to know ho your experience was.

Regarding your comments, accept our sincere apologies if something in our service did not meet your expectations, this kind of suggestions help us to keep improving every day.

Looking forward to have you with us soon! :)

Kindest regards,
Isabel Burgos - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

First of all this hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport and sits in the quieter part of Torremolinos, with the town centre a 20 to 30 minute walk away.

There are plenty of bars, shops and restaurants immediately out of the back gate, onto the sea front. So location is good if you want to be near the action but not in it.

The hotel and the surrounding area is very clean. Everyone is polite and friendly and we were not hassled by local restaurateurs.

The main down side was reception. It is always busy. There is never enough staff and they are not delivering good customer service.

The hotel knew the arrival time of our group and rooms were not ready either upon arrival or at usual check in time. Many in our group were constantly told to come back later, despite having already been told that their rooms were nearly ready. Some people didn't get the room they had paid for and had to queue back up to resolve the issue. Others had a mishap with their allocated room already being occupied by another person.

I can only assume that reception is overwhelmed. It isn't, however, down to a one off. Reception is always like this. Even if there isn't a queue, service is slow but not overly informative. The staff are perfectly pleasant but are clearly over stretched.

Elsewhere, the staff are super friendly and really willing to help. The barman near the main restaurant is a particularly happy guy, as are a number of the waiters.

The hotel, even in a low season, is busy, so be prepared for the usual towels on sunbeds malarkey. There is no policy about reserving beds and no informal enforcement.

The food is good at breakfast and average at dinner. We're not particularly fussy but the food is nothing to get excited about. The selection of cheese is probably a highlight.

This is probably not a great place to be a vegetarian, it's buffet style. There's no separate veggie bit and I saw a lot of cross contamination of the veggie friendly foods, of which there are not many.

Don't get me wrong, we ate well most nights. The food is the correct temperature and we enjoyed what we had. It just wasn't that exciting and some nights I was disappointed to find myself resorting to pizza and chips.

All in all, I would go back for a little break, as it's a short flight and a short transfer. I'd just need to take my patience with me for reception and perhaps pick a night or two to go out to local restaurants for dinner.

I didn't see or hear anything to complain about other than reception. It's a lovely clean place with cracking views of sunset/sunrise.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank PraiseOrGrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, GEX at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear PraiseOrGrumble,

We would like to begin by thanking you for the time you have taken to share your experience with us, as well as for your preference in selecting Sol Príncipe for your holiday.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, since we strive day by day to keep improving and to provide our guests with unique and memorable experiences.

However, we regret if some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations and you may rest assured that we will take into consideration your feedback in order to improve in our proposal to the continuous amelioration of our services.

The entire team is looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you at Sol Príncipe.

Best regards,
Isabel Burgos - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This Hotel on right on the beach front. Staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms good with soap dispenser at sink and bath. Hair dryer. Sun Lotion, no shampoo/conditioner. Very clean. Pools and sunbeds plentiful. Life Guard. Food very nice varied and great choices. Entertainment varied and enjoyable. In all a great hotel and convenient to beach and about l mile to the shops along the lovely promenade.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank H8650XLliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, GEX at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear H8650XLliz,

Let us express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comment. Thank you so much for taking your time to share your opinion with us and with the Tripadvisor users.

We feel very satisfied to know that you have received an excellent customer service by our staff. We are also delighted to read that our amenities, facilities, services and great location let you enjoy a wonderful holidays with us.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Department.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews