We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,214)
Filter reviews
4,214 results
Traveller rating
1,333
1,560
852
272
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
1,560
852
272
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool kids club family room the lion king half board mamma mia across the road family holiday sea view great family hotel large hotel smaller pool reception staff something for everyone evening entertainment dining room main pool
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 4,214 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isabel B, Guest Experience Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2016

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isabel B, Guest Experience Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We've just come back from a two night stay here. It was a very late spontaneous two night trip to surprise family.

Check in - poor beyond belief. The website states check in 2pm. We had arrived early so waited to check in until this time. There were a lot of people checking in and it took an hour to reach the desk. We were then told we couldn't have our key as the room wasn't ready. This is now at 3pm. We were told to come back in 10 mins.

We were a bit fed up but thought we'd pop for a spot of lunch at the hotel while we waited.

Clearly everyone else who were in the same boat thought the same and the queue was magnificently long. With the queue not moving we gave up and sat in reception.

Finally our 10 mins were up so grabbed the attention of Alvaro to ask if he could find out if our room was ready. He told me to get in the check in desk queue - where we would then queue for half an hour more, with other guests getting fed up and pushing in the queue, as we had all been trying to check in since 2pm!

Simply not acceptable Melia!

Especially when your staff are super rude and tell us that it's check in FROM 2pm. If the hotel cannot manage a 2pm check in then say so and change it to 3pm. Remember under promise, over deliver!

However the rooms are standard and clean - you would hope so after waiting so long to get in to it!

Dinner wasn't such a nightmare as we first thought it would be judging by the lunch time issue. No queue whatsoever, food was good and fresh, with plenty of choice and lovely friendly Waiters.

Both of the pools were nice. Could do with more umbrellas though as most people had already reserved those, although they weren't on them for hours.

I know there is a system to stop this, which is great when it works, but staff have to notice this happening more.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in the end.



Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VikkiVaughanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, Guest Experience Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear VikkiVaughanW,

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback on your stay at Sol Príncipe. Our guests' comments are always welcome, as they help us to improve the level of service offered.

We are glad to read that you found our hotel clean, our room convenient and that you enjoyed a lot with our dinner , our pools and the our friendly staff . We regret to see though that the experience in the check in time was not positive. In our website it is specified check-in after 02.00pm, that it is not the same that check-in at 02:00pm.

Anyway, Please rest assured that we will take your comments on board for future actions of improvement.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We opted for pool side family room. This was brilliant. Kids slept on sofa bed in separate lounge area with their own TV (with USB. That's if you had time). There was a sliding door between them and us, so no issues with getting them to sleep at night. Lovely modern bathroom. Cleaned everyday, clean towels everyday if you wanted. Shampoo/shower gel provided. Hand soap provided. Beach towels provided with 10 euro deposit per towel.
We went half board, you could choose to have breakfast lunch or breakfast dinner each day. There was plenty of choice. Choices for everyone even the kids, pizza burgers hotdogs chips. Restaurant could be a little slow in serving drinks, but it was really busy. They would not ask you if you wanted a drink you would have to flag them down.
Free wifi, but it worked better nearer the main part of the hotel. Not an issue I didn't go on holiday to play on my phone!
Evening entertainment every night, some sort of show by the pool.
2 kids club (dependent on age). Didn't use so can't comment.
Pool was cleaned every evening.
Secure hotel. Locked to the public. Needed room card to get back into hotel from beach.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, Guest Experience Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear mcgowen,

On behalf of all the Sol Príncipe Team we would like to thank you for choosing us on your recent stay in la Costa del Sol and for taking the time to give us such a nice review.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the whole experience at the hotel. We work very hard to provide our guest with the best service and we are extremely grateful that our work has been noticed. Nothing could be as pleasant as reading that you felt truly welcome.

It would be a great pleasure to receive you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Just stayed for a week All Inclusive, great choice of food. For such a large hotel bar/restaurant service was excellent and good entertainment at evenings.

Fantastic pools and a shaded pool for younger children.

Couldn't fault any of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel was impeccable.

All in all a fab holiday helped by fantastic weather.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank JAYCEEE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel B, Guest Experience Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear JAYCEEE65,

Thank you very much for letting us know your Fab thoughts after your stay at the Melia White House. We are glad to know that your stay at the Hotel has been to your liking, since our guests arrive, our goal is to ensure they just think of enjoying this wonderful place.

Certainly, all these details you wrote in your review "make the difference" between others.

Will be a pleasure to host you again at Sol Príncipe!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews