We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of La Recreation

La Recreation
Reserve with
La Recreation is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 2,410 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Description: Spanish restaurant with a french Toque, in the historic heart of Malaga
Restaurant details
Description: Spanish restaurant with a french Toque, in the historic heart of Malaga
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We booked a table day before, but the restaurant was empty just after opening (saturday). We had a wonderful three course dinner with good wines and excellent service. The French owner is great!

Thank Jaakko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire, nous espérons vous revoir très vite pour vous faire de nouveau découvrir la cuisine française.
A très bientôt.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018

A wonderful little french restaurant located on a quiet street near the Cathedral. Welcomed by the owner as we walked in and seated immediately, we had made reservations through Trip Advisor/The Fork. Located on a small quiet street near the Cathedral. Given a complimentary hummus and crakers along with our drinks. Good selections of wines. Dinner comprised of their special chicken dish for myself and my husband opted for the duck. We indulged ourselves and had desert, creme brulee and the chocolat fondant. From start to finish a delcicious meal. Service provided by the owner was attentive, but not rushed. Quality of food excellent. The chef, owners spouse, came out to greet us, a lovely touch. A quiet get away in a hectic city. Would highly recommend this restaurant, a break from tapas. Excellent service and food.

Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire fort élogieux, nous espérons vous revoir très vite pour vous faire de nouveau goûter à la gastronomie française.
A bientôt de vous revoir.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Great little find in a side street nearby the port. The French owners, Laurent and his wife, will welcome you in this cozy restaurant and make you feel at home.

Had the beed tartar and couldnt have been happier with the quality.

Definitely recommended for a nice lunch or dinner!

Thank Borreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre sympathique commentaire, nous sommes toujours heureux de vous faire découvrir notre cuisine française.
A bientôt de vous revoir.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. Great food and a wonderful proprietor. Well worth the stop. Or two. I think I will hit it for dinner before I leave. Take the recommendations from the owner - he won't steer you wrong.

Thank marymary0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire fort sympathique.
Nous espérons vous revoir très vite.
Bon séjour.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Our group of 4 followed TripAdvisor’s reviews & were so glad we did! The food was wonderful & tasty - not you typical Tapas. Fresh ingredients made with lots of care. We ate family-style so everyone could try everything. The honeyed Camembert was warm & delicious, the salad with berries in it (I forget the name) was beyond yummy, followed by marinated tiger prawns with grilled veggies. The owner was nice to talk with & made wonderful suggestions. Ambience was casual comfortable with awesome music. We all enjoyed ourselves & would definitely come back again!

Thank kkdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour ce commentaire fort élogieux, nous avons été heureux de votre visite dans notre restaurant.
Nous espérons vous revoir très vite.
Toute l'équipe de la Récréation vous souhaite un bon séjour.
A bientôt.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Recreation also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Recreation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing