We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of La Recreation

La Recreation
Reserve with
La Recreation is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 2,574 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Description: Spanish restaurant with a french Toque, in the historic heart of Malaga
Restaurant details
Description: Spanish restaurant with a french Toque, in the historic heart of Malaga
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Our group of 4 followed TripAdvisor’s reviews & were so glad we did! The food was wonderful & tasty - not you typical Tapas. Fresh ingredients made with lots of care. We ate family-style so everyone could try everything. The honeyed Camembert was warm & delicious, the salad with berries in it (I forget the name) was beyond yummy, followed by marinated tiger prawns with grilled veggies. The owner was nice to talk with & made wonderful suggestions. Ambience was casual comfortable with awesome music. We all enjoyed ourselves & would definitely come back again!

Thank kkdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour ce commentaire fort élogieux, nous avons été heureux de votre visite dans notre restaurant.
Nous espérons vous revoir très vite.
Toute l'équipe de la Récréation vous souhaite un bon séjour.
A bientôt.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We were lured in by the stylish decor and interesting menu. The staff were welcoming and the host was very attentive. We ate the trio of beef burgers - they came with unexpected pommes frites - baked potatoes with cream and a brilliant goat cheese salad. We followed this up with creme brûlée. To drink, a very nice bottle of white Verdejo. Highly recommended and we’re planning to go back.

1  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018
Google Translation

Toute l'équipe de la Récréation vous remercie pour votre commentaire fort élogieux.
Nous serons heureux de vous revoir et pouvoir de nouveau vous faire découvrir la gastronomie française.
A bientôt.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We have had a perfect dinner in two. We have eaten goat cheese croquettes (absolutely delicious!), grilled vegetables tart, grilled squid and fantastic dessert (the apple crumble is a total gem). The restaurant has a lovely cosy atmosphere and the staff is lovely!
We totally recommend!

Thank Ligia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire fort élogieux.
Nous espérons vous revoir très vite à La Récréation.
A bientôt.

Maria et Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Went here with my mum for dinner after a long day of sightseeing and sunning ourselves. We stumbled upon the place walking from the Roman Theatre. It caught our eye because of the sweet decor and lights outside. The food was exquisite - beautifully cooked French food served as tasting plates in a tapas style, washed down with a bottle of Bordeaux. The owners, a couple from Bordeaux, were so friendly and truly passionate about their food. Would highly recommend!

Thank sarahpetch112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire fort élogieux, nous espérons vous revoir très vite dans notre restaurant.

A bientôt à La Récréation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Yep! I am French (nobody is perfect) but it entitled me to give a bit of an opinion on this place. I live in Málaga and have for while now. This is the only place that truly gives you an authentic taste of France at a reasonable price.
Safe bet. Go for it !

Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaureMarie301220015, Propriétaire at La Recreation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Merci pour vos compliments !!! Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable moment avec nous.

Au plaisir de vous revoir bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Recreation also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Recreation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing