We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Cologne Central Station
from US$6.02
More Info
from US$30.07
More Info
Reviews (2,627)
Filter reviews
2,627 results
Traveller rating
926
1,116
471
74
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
926
1,116
471
74
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews your luggage ticket office platform navigate db germany dom signage cathedral information english hbf lockers euro rhine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,627 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Location of this main station is good was from here, it is easy to walk to the old town and also very close to the key landmarks such as the Cologne Cathedral and the bridge. There are also cafes, bakeries, supermarket, etc in the station for those who wished to have a bite before taking train. Ibis hotel is also located within the train station, right by the exit.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank WeakKneeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Easy to get round, centrally located, even for a non-German person it is easy to understand, buy a ticket and get on a train. The station is quite clean too. Plenty of shops there to grab a snack before the ride. One of the better train stations I've seen.

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank ianwebb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

Just like any other Central Stations in the big cities in Germany. It has street foods for quick bites and kiosk and supermarket.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Royax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2020

The main station of Cologne with everything clearly signposted.

In every German station you can find two timetables of arrivals & departures in chronological order all around the station, with platforms indicated, meaning finding your train is easy.

Ironically I wasn't there to catch a train, but to get some food! German train stations double as shopping centres, and eateries abound.

The main entrance is modern, but a lot of the architecture would be called "Victorian" in Britain, attractive if like me you like that sort of thing.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank FTMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2020

Located next to Cologne’s landmark Cologne Cathedral (Kolner Dom), Cologne Central Station (Koln Hauptbahnhof), was a vibrant and visitor friendly train station. The station had excellent facilities and clear directional signs, making it easy for visitors to find their ways around. Just outside the station was Cologne’s landmark cathedral and city’s other attractions. When we arrived at Cologne by Viking River Cruise ship during Viking “Rhine Getaway” cruise, we decided to take our own train trip to Dusseldorf in the morning, and then visit Cologne Cathedral on our own in the late afternoon. So, we went inside the central train station, and easily found the train ticket office (DB Risezentrum), where we bought round-trip tickets to Dusseldorf. The ticket agent was courteous and efficient. The station was bustling with travelers, and there were many restaurants, fast food places, and shops everywhere. All the signs, including those for WCs, were well marked, and ATMs as well as lockers and WIFI (free for the first 30 minutes) were readily available. Access to platforms was easy with clearly marked signs. Upon returning from Dusseldorf via Dusseldorf Central Station (Dusseldorf Haupbahnhof), we found Cologne Central Station much more visitor friendly than the Dusseldorf counterpart. The Cologne Central Station’s main entrance/exit leading to the station plaza had a fantastic glass wall & doors with see-through view of Cologne Cathedral. It was a pleasant train station to use.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews