We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stern am Rathaus(Cologne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel UHU(Cologne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
367
494
200
63
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
494
200
63
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate museumthe riverart otelxl roomchino latino restaurantroof terracegreat hotelmodern arta river view roomcorner roommodern hotelcoffee machineglass wallold towntea bagsminute walksingle duvets
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Found this hotel to be in a fantastic location and reasonably priced. We found the wifi very good from the hotel room. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was tasty - overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedback related to your recent stay at art'otel cologne.
We are happy to read that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay and that we managed to meet your expectations, thank you for your kind words.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
art'otel cologne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is a great hotel in terms of location, price (Tripadvisor deal) and quality of the rooms. We had a basic package and were surprised by the standard of the room which was very spacious and well appointed. Even though we were facing the road the soundproofing meant that the room was very quiet. Lovely decor and great furnishings including the bed, which was very comfortable. I'm a light sleeper but had 3 deep sleeps during our stay here. The staff were also very helpful.

The only slight downside about the hotel is the loud, flushing of adjoining rooms which appeared deafening in contrast to the silence of the room. I also feel that their parking charges are excessive but fortunately there is very cheap parking outside across the road.

One final point: Because of poor weather we decided to eat in the restaurant on or 1st night. I have to say that this restaurant is very poor and incredibly expensive. The fusion of latino and asian cuisine simply does not work and given the fact that we were the only people in the restaurant that night, we are obviously not the only people who feel this way. In contrast, the breakfast is excellent and good value for money even though it wasn't part of our deal and we paid extra for it - great fuel for our hikes around Cologne and in the Siebengebirge during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droberts418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Guest,

first of all we want to thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your last stay at art'otel cologne. We are glad to see that you were satisfied with the great location, room and interior design of the hotel.

On the more negative note, we are sorry to know that some aspects of your stay left you disappointed. As there is always room for improvement, your constructive feedback will be discussed internally.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
art'otel cologne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Only spent a night here as we explored Cologne for the weekend, but really wish we could have stayed longer. The room, a double with a huge king sized bed was bright, clean and very comfortable. We had a superb night’s sleep, and I would go so far as to say it was the best night’s sleep we have ever had in a hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable, with beautiful crisp linen. The room had no bath but it did have a very good shower. The wash basin was in the main bedroom, and this was neither an issue or a problem for my husband or myself. Our room faced the river.The main foyer and reception area was bright and modern. The hotel has underground parking and is in very easy reach of the old town where there are many beer houses and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel to use as a base whilst exploring Cologne

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank hensathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to write such lovely feedback regarding your last stay at art'otel cologne. We are very happy as a team that your stay was in line with your expectations such as the good location, friendly team members and comfortable room. Such comments make us always very proud.

We would like to use this opportunity to invite you back at our hotel.

Warm regrds
art'otel cologne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We was only here for a night but wish we could stay here longer. The room was spotless, very modern and overlooked the river. The bed was a queen bed and not two singles pushed together, the TV was brilliant giving an excellent range of English channels to choose from. The bathroom was spotless, the shower was the best I’ve ever seen, and the art and glass work was beautiful. We left our iPad by mistake and are now getting it back to us. Room service options were very expensive which put us off however. One of the best rooms we’ve ever stayed in. About a 20 min walk to the station and 10/12 walk to the old town.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ryan W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to write such an amazing feedback. The whole team is thrilled about your comments and we are very happy that you were satisfied with all aspects such as the modern room, the beautiful bathroom, and amazing service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Best regards
art’otel cologne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights in December for the christmas markets, got a good deal with lastminute .com. This hotel is really well located-, there was a market set up literally next door to the hotel,it's right by the Lindtt Museum for a rainy day, a 20 minute walk to the Cathedral with christmas markets dotted all along the way as well as ice skating, we didn't need to get a taxi once we walked literally everywhere! The staff were friendly and they had chocolate waffles every day in reception to grab for breakfast so this saved us a bit of money and they were so yummy! The beds were so comfortable and the stained glass shower wall was a great instagram background :) The onlyyyy fault I can say is the cleaning staff were maybe a bit too persistent and we had a couple of interruptions whilst trying to get ready in the morning by someone doing something with one of our ceiling panels- some kind of works being done but it didn't bother us too much. It would also be cool if the reception staff had leaflets or a guide out or could give some recommendations of things to do and see that are outside of the obvious as we did find our selves bored by our last day! Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Miss Georgia,
Thank you for your online feedback regarding your recent stay at art’otel cologne. As the comments of our guests are very important to us, it makes us very happy to know that you were satisfied with the great location, friendly staff and comfortable beds.
We are very sorry for the interruptions of our cleaning team in morning. Please be sure to put a “Do not disturb” card next time.
Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you very soon back.
Best wishes
art’otel cologne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews