We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
28
35
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
35
7
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I booked as a stopover so I needed a parking space and breakfast but I wanted to see something of Bremen and this is about 15 mins walk to the historic centre. It's on an island in the middle of the river and surrounded by the tennis club and allotments. I had difficulty finding it as it's hidden behind a run down pizza place. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. The rooms are old fashioned but comfortable. I had a large room with a separate sitting area but the shower room was tiny - barely room to turn around - but all was clean. The breakfast was good and the private parking very useful. For the money it was good value and suited my needs.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeaBee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We booked this hotel because I wanted a parkingplace and an including breakfast. The hotel is located on an island in the river, surrounded by trees and green and not that far (about 15 minute walk)from the Schnoor location and the old town. Both worth to visit!
Nice and clean hotel, very friendly staff. Rooms were cosy decorated, bathroom a bit outdated but everything worked fine. Minibar (have to pay), no coffee/tea facilities in the room. No climat control, so no airconditioning. Beds are comfortabel. Pillows not, but that's a German thing, big very fluffy pillows, no firm pillows.Rooms are clean. Breakfast was very good, a cold & hot buffet breakfast.
If you don't need to be in in the old town, this is a hotel I can recommand.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

The hotel is located in a green recreative area about 20 minutes walk from the center of bremen. Service was really good. Briliant breakfast and nice service. Rooms are a bit old, but clean and alright condition

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kms_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is value for money. Hidden behind a low class beer and quick food restaurant is this nice small hotel adjacent to a tennis court, of which we did not hear any noise at all. Finding a nice place within Bremen for an affordable price is not easy. If you are planning a holiday it could be a stopover. Dinner in Bremen center plenty available and is great, this location is just across the river. Neighbor beer garden can be noisy at times, we did not hear anything at all, and perhaps we took the ‘right’ side of the building. Perfect private parking is available. The place is not modern, but modestly furnished and run by nice people. Do not expect top luxury but all is more than worth the money. WiFi is available all over the building, although the logo with passwords and max logons stuff is a bit outdated, just allow all guest automatically and make it easy I would say, we’re living in the gigabit society.. Breakfast is again modest but good, take a table on the outside terrace to start the morning nicely. A place to keep in mind!

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel, it will be away form the possible noise from the beer-garten. We did not hear anything but there could be an event.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILikeQualityPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzK, Inhaber at Hotel zum Kuhhirten, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Hallo Pim D.,
wir danken Ihnen für diese sehr gute Bewertung und Ihren Beschreibungen unseres Hotels.
Ihr Lob für unser Personal haben wir schon weitergegeben. Einen W-LAN Zugang bieten wir für unsere Gäste kostenlos an. Unsere Terrasse steht jedem Gast offen, ob zum Frühstück oder am Nachmittag. Vielleicht können wir Sie bald wieder bei uns im Haus begrüßen.
Viele Grüße aus Bremen, Ihr Team vom Hotel zum Kuhhirten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here two nights and it was very pleasant. Rooms were actually two room suites with plenty of room. We asked for dinner recommendations both nights and both were extraordinary...on just up the road (a quick walk) and the other across the River in the Schnoor area. Great Italian food at one and great German food at the other!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana_Keke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzK, Inhaber at Hotel zum Kuhhirten, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Vielen lieben Dank für diese ausnahmslos positive Bewertung. Danke auch für Ihr Feedback zu unseren Zimmern. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben und dass wir Ihnen mit unseren Empfehlungen für Restaurants helfen konnten.
Hoffentlich bis bald, Grüße vom gesamten Team vom Hotel zum Kuhhirten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews