We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
27
23
8
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
23
8
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next morning front door tower castle signage codes property schloss accommodations driveway beauty hill stairs
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I was traveling with my two college aged children, and thought that a night in a castle would be a fun experience on our road trip. We didn't have trouble finding the hotel, but when we arrived, about 8pm, and walked in the front door, there was no one there. We walked around for a bit, saw the restaurant, but didn't see any way to check in. Finally, someone from the restaurant came up to the hostess stand area and we asked and they were like, "oh, I can do that for you". So, we are checked in, and they want to walk us to our room first, which seems fine, so off we go up stairs, down halls, up more stairs, down more halls till we arrive at our room. Our room was very large, with a raised, timbered ceiling with a huge chandelier in the middle. Beautiful wood floors, and large windows that open on two walls opposite from each other (which helped with a breeze during the night), and a nice sized bathroom that was a few steps up from the bedroom floor. We were very impressed to say the least. Then we decide to go park our car and bring up the suitcases. Well, to begin with, the car park is well down a hill and quite far from the front door (and the driveway is gravel so rolling wheels don't really help), so absolutely bring up your luggage before you park the car. The car park is sizeable enough that there is no issue with parking, it is just a long walk if you were carrying your bags. So, we drove them back up and dropped them off on the circle before taking the car back down. Now, to get the bags to our room - first, a large flight of steps into the main level of the castle. Then a second large flight of wooden steps, down a hall, a small set of wooden steps, then some stone steps, then two longer, narrow hallways before it opened up to a larger hallway and our door. So, if you have mobility or back issues or problems with carrying things, this may not be the place for you! Once in our rooms we realized that we didn't have the wifi codes, and had to go back down to the restaurant to get them, then back up again. The wifi worked fine for us, so that wasn't an issue.

My daughter chose to take a shower before bed, and when you go in the bathroom the exhaust fan turns on. Not horribly loud, but loud enough that even with the door to the bathroom closed we could hear it going, and going, and going. We even got up a few times to make sure that we didn't do something to leave it on by accident. It finally turned off sometime in the middle of the night, but that was kind of a weird thing.

As I said, the leaded windows in the room open up and we had very scenic views of the property. There are areas on the property between the castle and the car park that have decayed, but made for scenic backdrops for photos. The next morning, we went out and took lots of photos. There was a stone tower with ivy growing up the side, a large "railing" made from cement/stone with big newel posts, even a stone arch with a wrought iron gate which made for great family pictures - so bring a tripod or a friend to snap them for you! We decided we didn't want to spend the money on breakfast there, so we packed up and headed out early to find a local bakery (recommend Kerling's Feinbackerei in Coburg!) All in all, it was a nice stay, and certainly different from a typical hotel. It was a nice little change on our trip.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Ultimately you are coming here to stay in a castle. The accommodations are nice. There is an onsite restaurant (we didn't try as we were looking for something different). Breakfast is available at 12E pp which is normal for the area, but expensive IMO. The atmosphere of the castle is nice especially if you are driving the castle route or romantic road. Wifi worked fine for us, but was a little slow. Outside temps were unseasonably high during our visit. There is no A/C in the hotel so we timed our arrival later after it cooled off and it was a little warm overnight in the room (~76-78F), but tolerable.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dougmatt_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We needed a place to stay near Coburg and arranged for a night at the Schloss. It wasn't the easiest place to find (no signage to point the way) in a January snowfall that night. But when we finally made our way up to the castle, it was brilliant. Lovely room and a wonderful breakfast (not included in the room rate.) It was completely charming. There was no "business center" for some printing I needed done, but the staff helped me to get what I needed using the hotel's printer. We will return.

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank Robin5672017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Stayed here while in the area to experience a "night in a castle" which was the only reason for choosing Hohenstein. It is a cool castle and the rooms are comfortable. Be aware that there is no A/C if staying during a warm season. Outside the grounds are interesting to explore, but it is apparent that the once-manicured gardens and lawn in the front has been left to grow wild and is now overgrown. Wifi codes were provided upon request, but the wifi simply did not work at all, with none of our devices able to connect. There is a lot of character in the building, and the suite we had was modern. However, we did kill a few spiders and other bugs found crawling around the room. And the sitting area had a lot of ants all across the floor. The biggest issue, for which there was no refund or other compensation offered, was the lack of hot water. Both in the evening and the following morning it was cold water only coming from the plumbing system. This makes for a very uncomfortable shower, and at any decent hotel would simply not happen. If it did, there would be a full refund of the costs for the nights affected. There was no refund offered when the problem was mentioned. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was an American-style BBQ, which was tasty. Breakfast was also good, and plentiful.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss_Ahorn, Inhaber at Schloss Hohenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Sir,

thank you for your time, to give us feedback.

We glad that you find our BBQ tasty and you also happy with our breakfast in the morning.
Unfortunately, we do not know why, the WIFI does not work with your devices.

The problem with the hot water, was only for 1 1/2 hour in the morning. And we sorry for that. But you didn´t ask for a discont. Anyway ther will be only a refund about 5 % not for the whole night. When you check out, the hot water was available. And you say to my employs, that every thing was fine and the hot water was not a problem.
We are sorry when that was missunderstud.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful castle in Ahon (Coburg). Was really impressed by the idea, that my husband booked a room in a castle - great idea! The castle is just a few km from Coburg, the landscape is beautiful, peaceful and quiet.
We had baronesee suite (large kingsize bed, bathroom with big bath tub and an extra room like a living room with tv). You can park your car for free in the area near, maybe its better if you leave your laguagge at the front door and the park your car. Staff is friendly, fluent in English. We had breakfast (10€\person) - I guess worth the money.
The room was perfectly warm (its officially spring, but we had bad luck with weather and it was really windy and cold), clean and spacy! Its a good place to rest, for individuals who want to experience something new - I have never slept in a castle before =)
Great atmosphere, great place! Loved the sculpture art.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank tamaratea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss_Ahorn, Inhaber at Schloss Hohenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear tamaratea,

thank you for your rating. The whole team say THANK YOU. We are happy that you love our breakfast and that you enjoy our historical atmosphere.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews